We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brandnew and outraging”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #42 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Grünwald
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Brandnew and outraging”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hotel Café Royal is a brandnew luxury Hotel at Regent St close to Picadilly. It's actually one of the best Hotels in London: very cool, trendy and on highest level. Top service and wonderful, perfectly equiped rooms with marble bathroom and Bang Olufsen TV. The guest are mainly elderly
people which can afford the roomrates but during the time we visited the hotel also some guys of Black Eyed Peas were in the hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hupingzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for sharing such positive feedback and taking the time to pen your review. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and our spacious accommodation.

Our team thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Yours sincerely

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    164
    53
    23
    9
See reviews for
272
458
55
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My 12 year old daughter and I just spent 5 wonderful nights at the Cafe Royal and will absolutely stay here again! We were given both an early check in and a late check out, and we were also offered a complimentary upgrade from a Mansard Deluxe room to a Junior Suite. The rooms are absolutely beautiful - spacious and every amenity you could possibly ask for. Bathrooms are incredible, beds are quite comfortable, great storage space, zero street noise, free wifi throughout the hotel, hi tech, and especially enjoyed the Nespresso coffee/tea service and daily fresh fruit/water at turndown. Extremely friendly, professional, and helpful front desk, concierge, and front door staff! Can't say enough about this lovely new hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review of Café Royal hotel. I was delighted to learn you and your daughter enjoyed your 5 night stay so much. I was also pleased to read all the little touches we provide were a success and that the service you received from my team was so well received.

My sincere thanks for taking the time to write this review; please do come and stay with us again in the near future when our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre with 18m lap pool are complete.

With kindest regards
Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Asharon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just returend from a wonderful vacation with my wife and 3 childrens at the ages of 17 16 and 12 in this amazing hotel so perfectly located near the trendy Soho and Covent garden.We stayed in two connecting deluxe portland rooms ,elegantly decorated and very spacious .I would like to give my appreciation to the owner for his vision,to the architect for so successfully combining old and new and to the attentive staff,especially Edward Young,Jean Da Silva ,Karim and also the staff at the ten room for making our mornings even better.Also worth mentioning are the amazing flower arrangements and the delicious patisseies.don't hesitate,run

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baruch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for sharing such positive feedback after your families’ recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I am delighted to read your appreciation of the carefully restored historic areas, but also the design details that makes Café Royal hotel a contemporary and luxurious hotel for 21st Century travellers.

I am also pleased to read you enjoyed our perfect central London location. I have shared your very kind comments regarding my team and those you highlighted in particular and we all thank you for your patronage. We’d be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidden Hills, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I spent a week in London at the Cafe Royal hotel with our two children (8 and 10), and we had an excellent experience there. From the moment we walked in -- where our boys were presented with their very own custom robes and slippers -- to the incredibly attentive butler service (they even purchased an HDMI cable for us to use), we never felt wanting. The hotel did just re-open, and the gym was not yet open (though we were able to use the gym at the nearby Meridient hotel), but the quality of the rooms (the marble is beautiful) and the service levels were exceptional. Thank you to the team there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I was delighted that you and your family found the guestroom and its amenities to your liking and that our dedicated butler team lived up to our service promise. As we are putting the final touches on our brand new Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre & Gym we are very sorry that the facilities were not available during your visit. Yet we hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience our 1,200sqm Spa & Gym, with our 59ft/18m lap pool, Watsu pool, Hamman and many more fantastic features.

Kind regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Recently enjoyed afternoon tea here with 3 friends. It was an excellent experience. The champagne was perfectly chilled and the quality of the food and tea matched this, as did the beautiful surroundings. The leisurely atmosphere meant we were able to enjoy ourselves to the full. Staff provided excellent service, and were also very approachable, entertaining, eager to provide information and share their beautiful hotel and its rich history. Particular credit to Steve, our 'host', who treated us to a viewing of the stunning grill room and shared its history with us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Many thanks for writing your kind words following your recent Champagne afternoon tea at the Ten Room, Café Royal hotel. I was delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your time with us and that Steve, was able to show off the highly restored and famous Grill Room to you. Please do come back and visit us again and we will be happy to show you the many more historic and new spaces in Café Royal hotel.

Kind regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We recently stayed in a Portland Room at the Cafe Royal for 7 nights for our honeymoon. It was absolutely perfect - from the location, size and layout of the room, food, the staff and their attention to detail. They gave us a champagne to celebrate the start of our honeymoon and throughout the whole week were very helpful in directing us and helping us plan our stay in London.

We would definitely stay here if we visit London again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your honeymoon stay at Café Royal hotel. I was delighted that you chose us for this very special occasion and to read of your satisfaction about our facilities and services from the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to Café Royal hotel on many more occasions.

With warmest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My sister treated me to a night here before the Chelsea Flower Show and we both loved every minute. Our room was quiet, comfortable and extremely well thought out. The pool was not open but we were offered an alternative at a nearby hotel. All the staff (without exception) went out of their way to look after us and within our sanctuary it was hard to believe Regent Street was outside the lobby. Don't miss the opportunity to have a drink in the refurbished grill room...it has to be seen to be believed.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sfd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Café Royal hotel with us. I am heartened by your kind comments regarding the service you received and am delighted you enjoyed the serene quietness of our guestrooms and our exceptionally central London location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future, when the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is open and extend our heartfelt thanks to your sister for choosing Café Royal hotel.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#38 of 1,068 in London
872 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,068 in London
854 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,964 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,068 in London
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Property: Hotel Cafe Royal
Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 5RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing