We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel, perfect location, but pricey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #52 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel, perfect location, but pricey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed in the Cafe Royal in September 2013 with my girlfriend after finding that there weren't all that many cheaper hotels in London available. The cost was between £400-£500 for a Portland Deluxe room for the night, which they also described as a junior suite when we arrived.

The hotel's location is perfect, being a 30 second walk down Regent Street from the heart of Piccadilly Circus.

On arrival, we were greeted by very well turned out doormen and very warmly welcomed by the reception staff. And were utterly blown away by the interior. This is a seriously swanky hotel. We were quickly checked in by Alex, the receptionist, and he then took us around the hotel facilities before taking us up to our room, going through stunningly appointed corridors.

The room itself was absolutely stunning. An enormous bed, lovely furnishings and a gigantic bathroom with a brilliant shower and very large bath. The TV in the bathroom mirror and speakers throughout the bathroom were a brilliant touch.

After heading out to a show, we came back to the hotel to get changed and found it had been prepared for bed, with the bedding turned down, our luggage (which we'd dumped!) nicely arranged, the bathroom cleaned again and a pair of slippers and towels left by the bed - brilliant!

After the show we went into the hotel bar, which was really nice. The only real downside is that the barstaff weren't quiet up to the standard I'd have hoped for. On my girlfriend asking what cognacs were available, the barman just listed them out in a hard to hear way (the music was loud-ish), turning his back, which made making an informed choice difficult. He did the same when I asked about bourbons and then poured a single rather than the double I'd requested. It's not a big thing, and I know it sounds terribly snobby, but we had no idea if we were ordering £10 brandies or £300 cognacs - a real possibility in the hotel!

Anyway, we went up to bed and the room was nice a cool with the climate control and almost completely silent due to the fabulous windows and blackout curtains (remote controlled, of course). The bed was incredibly comfortable.

With a checkin time of 2pm and a checkout of noon, this is a perfect hotel for going to a show, or potentially spending a longer time if on business (and your work is paying for it!). It's immaculately presented, very well staffed and a real WOW experience. But, is also the same price for one night as a week's holiday somewhere else!

With breakfast being £32 each (!!!) we didn't bother and went to a cafe over the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for you kindly penned experience at Café Royal hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed all our facilities and quality of the hotel. My apologies for your less than perfect experience in The Bar but; I would like to assure you that we take your feedback very seriously and will ensure all our staff are up to mark and their product knowledge continuously enhanced. Thank you for staying with us and we certainly hope to be of service to you both in the future.

Kind regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    159
    50
    23
    9
See reviews for
259
431
53
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My boyfriend booked one night here through one of those websites with offers. The offer included dinner but we had already booked dinner somewhere else. Luckily they were very understanding and gave us a free bottle of Champagne as well as a room upgrade to make up for the price of the dinner that we were not going to have there. Amazing rooms, amazing hotel, great service! Just spent 1 night there and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILove2travel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and for staying with us at Café Royal hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was an excellent experience to be here.The staff is so friendly and helpful and always wearing a smile on their faces.The concierge was more than helpful.We luved our stay there.Wud indeed luv to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIDHIGROVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your kind words about Café Royal hotel, the team in particular. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Well, it''s very expensive at £400 a night, and nothing in the mini bar under £5. £5 for water, coke etc: £45 for a half bottle of average white wine. Breakfasts is average and extortionately expensive. So, is it worth it ?
Well it's a great central location, but you can hear the noise of Regent Street and the ajoining streets at night - there seems to have been little investment in the sound proofing.
Well, it's a bit cramped as a hotel with a kaleidescope of design styles. Or should I say 'eclectic' : there is a lot of Napoleonic crests around downstairs mixed with aristoractic ancien regime styles (madame pompadour rooms), then, the dark, cramped room corridors take us to a copy of the minimalist Japanese hotel Okura in Tokyo, then, in the rooms its ultra modern white mock brick walls. You need to be a lighting engineer to work out the internal lights. There is a nice mock stone white bath and good bathrooms. The wi fi is unfussy, 'free' (see room charges) and works well. My full length mirror fell off the door while I was there, but it was reparied quickly. In a three day trip, my door key had to be changed three times, as it failed to open the door.
The downstairs bar is very average and - you guessed it - very expensive for a very ordinary place. The breakfast bar is open plan like an airport lounge - and, like all London restraunts, full of Eastern European staff with hit or miss, but well meaning service. Continental breakfast of croissant, bread and coffee - £26 !
Service is very courteous, as it ought to be with such high prices. there are a lot of dark suited young men hanging around not seeming to be doing anything very much. I did not get a chance to visit the gym/spa so can't comment.
So, a hotel, with some good things to commend it, notably location, but clearly living off the brand name of its illustrious neighbouring restraunt, but something of a mish mash of traditional design, eclectic styles and modern electronics - as if it was designed by a committee of people who couldn't agree on the style.
totally overpriced for what you get, a fancy name and good location flatter to deceive....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charles d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review of Café Royal hotel. I am sorry that I didn't get a chance to meet you personally during your stay as it would have been my pleasure to show you Café Royal hotel in full, explain the story behind the historically listed Napoleon motifs and explain the architect’s vision of combining historic spaces from 1865 to 1920 with contemporary elements of the 21st century; such as the copper and frosted corridor panels modelled on old British fire doors, or the white mock brick walls inspired by the Portland stone façades of Regent Street.

I was very surprised to read about sounds penetrating from the streets as we know that our guestrooms are the quietest in Europe and we will certainly investigate this further. I will also contact you via email in the hope of discussing this with you further and to ensure we follow up on all your comments and concerns.

Yours sincerely

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights,25 years of marriage , so needed it to be perfect in all its ways , and it sure was, on arrival we got upgraded and then a personnel tour of the hotel and then shown to our suite with a tour and guide on how all the mod cons worked.
The hotel was spotless , the staff great and always greeted you by your names, which was amazing how they remembered them.
Food great and a good price , once the spa opens this will be the only hotel to ever visit when in London .
London should be very greatfull and privileged to have this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yknot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Congratulations on 25 years of marriage, I am very happy that Café Royal hotel were able to host this special celebration. The Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is now open as an exclusive preview to hotel guests, I do hope you will return in the near future to experience this amazing space.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I travel on business pretty much every week with at least two to three visits to London a year and had the opportunity to frequent the Cafe Royal Hotel with my family. The total experience has been amazing, the rooms and hotel have been renovated with well designed furnishings. The service has been five stars without having to pay through the nose for good service as the staff are genuinely happy to help you. My wife found the hotel online based on their ratings for great quality and I truly believe they are a great find. We we tossing staying either at the Ritz or Cafe Royal and glad we made the right choice.

Room Tip: Their are no bad rooms, their triple glass windows and block out curtains make the rooms silent and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Café Royal hotel with us. I am heartened by your kind comments regarding our staff and the overall experience. I am pleased we were able to demonstrate how important customer service is to us and would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to your wife for finding the brand new Cafe Royal hotel on line and for choosing to stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to Café Royal hotel in the not too distant future

Yours sincerely

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

When you arrive at the Cafe Royal you are greeted with a smile and escorted to the front desk to check in. You are then given a personal tour of the hotel detailing all the lovely options for dining, cocktails and tea. You immediately feel that you know your surroundings and that you will be well taken care of. Once in your room all the amenities are pointed out so that you're not trying to figure out how to open & close the drapes and work the safe.
During your stay the staff and those gents at the doors are very thoughtful and helpful to get you to your destination. The concierge and front desk staff are equally accommodating.
As a hotel designer I can completely appreciate and recommend this hotel. The design is so thoughtful and intuitive. There are gorgeous historical rooms and details that are beyond beautiful and then the guestrooms and corridors which are very contemporary and perfectly detailed. There are many areas that are for back of house personnel so that when you're in the corridor they scamper away so that all you see is the zen quality of the hotel, the wood paneling and lovely florals on the consoles. You will never see a housekeeper with a trolley full of towels, nor will you see a trolly of luggage. The design is so thoughtful that you are treated to a standard of luxury and service that you won't see in many older hotels. There are no eyesores or unpleasant details to make your stay feel less perfect.
Our room had plenty of light and all the amenities you would need including a coffee machine, lovely chocolates and fresh fruit upon arrival.
The details in the bathroom are extraordinary, the beveled marble, television in within the mirror and the frosted glass doors.
The location of the hotel is also perfect for getting around London, there are so many cafes, pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Close to public transportation the tube and buses to get you to you outreaching destinations.
We loved our stay and can only say thank you to those who work at the Cafe Royal for making our first visit to London one that we will long hold in high regard. We are looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for sharing such positive feedback after your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I am delighted to read your appreciation of the carefully restored historic areas, but also the design details that makes Café Royal hotel a contemporary and luxurious hotel for 21st Century travellers. I am also pleased to read you enjoyed Cafe Royal hotel's unparalleled central London location. I have shared your very kind comments with my team and those you highlighted in particular and we all thank you for your patronage.

We’d be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#36 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#90 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Property: Hotel Cafe Royal
Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 4DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#23 Spa Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#50 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing