We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super classy hotel”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #48 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Super classy hotel”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This beautiful hotel is prime located in the heart of London, at the corner of Piccadilly and Regent.
It is beautifully restored. The rooms are spacious with a zen like feel. The marble bathroom is extremely luxurious. The breakfasts are excellent, so are the small sandwiches and pastries at the cafe'. The spa is a must!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room which was facing Piccadilly square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SivanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Café Royal hotel. I am delighted to hear about your appreciation of our central London location and guestroom accommodation. All our bathrooms are created exclusively in Carrara marble, a signature throughout the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed The Café and how enthused you were over the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre. I hope to welcome you back to Café Royal hotel in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    160
    52
    23
    9
See reviews for
265
441
53
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom in Bury, Lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Cafe Royal Hotel in London. I knew it was going to be a special hotel based on the recommendation in the first place but nothing could have prepared us for what could only be described as genuinely the BEST hospitality we have ever known. Literally from entering the hotel on arrival to leaving on day 3, we have been treated like royalty. Our superior Portland suite was nothing less than a tranquil heaven- an enormous king size, incredible decor, quiet and peaceful ambience with all the best technology- every whim and comfort had been thought of. The Grill Room was our first night experience- a slight mix up in that I had booked dinner 2 months prior to our visit and in that time, a cabaret night was organised- which was fully booked. Not only did Nicholas ensure we could attend, he also put us on the front table, served us complimentary champagne and to top it all, a selection of desserts to celebrate my XXth birthday (a lady shouldnt reveal her age!) On the second day, by way of an apology for this mix up, we got a note to say a surprise was waiting- a bottle of champagne and a cake. Seriously, we could never have expected this and it just made the whole experience even more special. The staff were incredibly friendly, the food in the restaurant was very good and the cocktails (best mojito ever and I have tried a few!) were incredible. The location of the hotel is perfect for Covent garden, the Museum, The palace, the shops- we will certainly return one day and may even consider bringing the children.....maybe..... THANK YOU so much Cafe Royal, a truly incredible, unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a portland suite with upgrade- incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review on Café Royal hotel. I am heartened to hear your appreciation of the service provided to you and that you felt like ‘royalty’. Service is my first priority and that of my team and I am delighted to read this exceeded your expectations. I must apologise regarding your booking at the Grill Room, but am delighted this was immediately rectified; I will make sure your kind words are passed on to the team and in particular to Nicolas. I am so pleased you enjoyed our Portland suite accommodation, which have been designed in rusticated Portland stone to mirror the handsome Regent Street façade. Thank you again for sharing such kinds words with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for my husbands 40th birthday and had a great time. Attentive, friendly staff especially Chris our butler, a central location and a lovely suite. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing and luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexGingerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for leaving such a warm review after visiting Café Royal hotel for your husband’s milestone birthday. I am delighted to learn your appreciation of our suites and your comments regarding the team. I will make sure your kind words are passed on to Chris and we are looking forward to welcoming you back any soon.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We frequently visit London, and stayed at this hotel in early December. It was by far the best hotel we've stayed in London. The location is fantastic! You can walk around all central London without ever needing to take the tube or a taxi.
The rooms are very spacious and the design is super modern. The bed is HUGE and the bathroom is simply the best. The staff were all very polite and helpful and the cafe on Regent Street serves the best coffee i've had in London.
Overall a great experience - would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Regent Street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for sharing such a positive review on Café Royal hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and to hear your appreciation of the hotel and its location. David Chipperfield Architects has achieved a perfect balance between 21st century contemporary style and the retained grand historic public rooms of the 1860s and 1920s, which have been painstakingly restored in collaboration with historic building architects, Donald Insall Associates.Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our accommodation and our Italian Carrara marble bathrooms, a signature at the hotel; your comments will be shared with all. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algiers, Algeria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A perfect stay in this hotel for many reasons :
- Perfect location.
- Breakfast : Excellent
- Room service : Excellent
- Gym spa and swimming pool : Excellent.
- And more than everything, what makes the stay in this hotel perfect : the Staff ! Really everyone was perfect. Many nationalities are working in this hotel. Whatever they were British or Italian or Uzbek, or Spanish everybody was perfect and so kind ! A classy hotel but with a lot of simplicity ! A special thank to Karim the concierge (from our neighbor morocco :) ), who achieved all our demands (tickets for arsenal Chelsea, last minute dinner the Christmas night ....)
So another big thank you to all the staff of the hotel, and for sure I’ll be back for my next stay in London !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilalger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I was delighted that your time with us was so enjoyable. I am very pleased to read of your appreciation of our central London location, cuisine and of the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre. Thank you also for your kind comments about the team and service received and I will be sure to pass on your special thanks to Karim and the Concierge team. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This place looks and feels terrific but more than that the team in the bar is excellent. The service was done with old fashioned style but without old fashioned stuffiness...faultless in my view. The decor is modern but not trendy - very comfortable

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review about your stay at Café Royal hotel. Led by David Chipperfield Architects, Café Royal hotel has been sensitively restored, maintaining historic detail, but now combined with a modern and contemporary elegance and I was thrilled to read this was to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel for your next stay in London.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
javea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in excellent location staffed by friendly professional staff. From the moment we stepped through doors nothing was too much trouble. The spa alone is as therapeutic as a weeks holiday! Breakfast was lovely and served to you which makes a refreshing change in these 'buffet' times we live in. If you are contemplating a trip to London my advice would be, pay that little bit extra, it really is worth every penny!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for penning your review after your stay at Café Royal hotel. I am very happy to read that you received excellent service and that your time at the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre was so enjoyable. I will pass on your appreciation of the cuisine to executive chef Andrew Turner and his culinary team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel.

With warmest wishes

Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#97 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Property: Hotel Cafe Royal
Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 5RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing