We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #45 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My daughter and I spent 5 nights here at the beginning of March. Our stay couldn't have been any nicer. The hotel is not only in a great location (central to everything), it is also the perfect combination of old-world charm and modern sleek. Our room was large by and standard, and the bathroom was modern and luxurious. The quiet wood-panneled hallways also give a sense of privacy.
The restaurant and the bar were both fantastic. Breakfast is elegant and delicious. We had drinks in the bar that were so good that I can't even describe what they were. Something with vodka and lychee?
The concierge was so helpful too. Every dinner reservation was made before we even arrived, and the cheerfully helped us plan our route for the day.
I would stay at the Cafe Royal again without a minute's hesitation!

Room Tip: We were on a high floor. So quiet!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelzalot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Café Royal hotel. I am very happy to read your daughter and you enjoyed your 5 night stay with us and I will pass on your kind words to members of the team. Café Royal hotel has some of the largest guestrooms in London and I am particularly pleased to learn of your appreciation of these and your enjoyment of the cuisine and our central London location. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cafe Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

After hearing so much about the Cafe Royal London, we have decided to spend an evening it the hotel, enjoying its facilities as bar and restaurant.
We have been amazed by the outstanding art decoration and fabulous costumer service .
Our first visit was at The Bar, where we were hosted by very cheerful bar staff .
I had a Rum Crusta, which was perfectly mixed, my girlfrien had a non alcoholic Britannia which she loved .
The dinner in the Ten Room was fabulous, well balanced with great and professional service.
We decided to go and enjoy a digestive in The Bar, where we actually asked for the same drinks like before.
When we received our order first I thought that the waiting staff made a mistake, but it turned out the the cocktails were the same but very much differently presented, in different glass and my Crusta over ice.
Despite this consistency issue in the bar we really enjoyed our time spent in Cafe Royal and we will return soon ...
Highly recommend

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 343csabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent visit to Café Royal hotel. I was delighted to read of your satisfaction about our facilities and services from the team. I have passed on your kind words to executive chef Andrew Turner and his culinary team regarding the cuisine you so enjoyed in the Ten Room. Whilst I note your appreciation of The Bar and the cocktails you enjoyed, I was sorry to learn there was an inconsistency in the orders and offer my sincere apologies. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to Café Royal hotel on many more occasions.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Where to begin......Modern hotel, spotlessly clean with a wonderful ambience. Bedrooms are spacious, with a lovely large bathroom and underfloor heating. Seperate toilet and rainshower. Bed is large and ery comfortable. The location is just superb, close to theatres, cinemas, restaurants, nightlife and shopping. The staff are very friendly and helpful, cannot do enough to make one feel welcome.Breakfast was excellent. Love the "Oscar Wilde" bar, decorated so over the top but loved it! And all of this this does not come cheap, but the question is 'Is it worth it to pay the extra?" which one have to answer to "Yes, Yes and Yes" again!

Room Tip: I dont think their is much of a view for any of the rooms except for the top floor, but it does not...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sTcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review on Café Royal hotel after your recent stay. I am delighted to hear about your appreciation of the guestrooms, designed for the 21st century traveller. I am pleased to note you enjoyed our central London location and the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar. I will make sure to pass on your kinds words to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We have chosen this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and boy it did exceed our expectations. We booked two nights at a junior suite (Mansard style).. The moments we walked in we were welcomed by everyone. Ahmad at the reception was wonderful he gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us the different types of rooms they have. The lobby is breathtaking combining both classic and modern styles in a creative way. The elevators are replicas of the originals and they are so unique. Hallways are covered with wood panels which added to the warmth and beauty of the hotel. The room was roomy and beautiful with all the wood panels and the high tech gadgets (Bang & Olufsen) all around. The bathroom is huge and stunning covered with carrera marble.. The room is spotless clean. The location is fantastic; close to everything.. It's in the middle if Piccadilly street with all the shopping you could ever ask for. All the landmarks are within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we will definitely return back whenever we're in London. Thank you Cafe Royal for making our stay a more enjoyable one.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Delo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for sharing such a positive review on Café Royal hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to hear your appreciation of the renovation of the hotel, designed for the 21st century traveller. David Chipperfield Architects was the lead architect in the hotel restoration, where modern elegance has been carefully paired with historical style and glamour. I am very happy to read your enjoyment of the guestrooms including the Mansard Junior Suite and all the in-room amenities. I hope to welcome you back to Café Royal hotel in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at cafe royal for valentines weekend...and it was just amazing! The rooms were of the highest standard, the staff were extremely attentive and welcoming and the spa was the best I've ever visited. Really great location! Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellowbear213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I was delighted that your time with us was so enjoyable. I am very pleased to read of your appreciation of our central London location and of the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre. Thank you also for your kind comments about the team and service received and I will be sure to pass on your special thanks to all. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My four night stay at the Cafe Royal was an excellent experience. Staff made for a warm welcome and efficient check-in, and the Portland Deluxe room was superb. Not only was it spacious, but the room came with brilliant facilities and amenities: Floris bath products, a B&O TV, a TV in the bathroom mirror, a Nespresso machine, a heated bathroom floor, and more. Turndown service was a treat, as was the selection of TV channels (Sky F1 was a favourite!)

The room service was excellent, and I enjoyed my breakfast each morning. I also tried the Akasha Spa, which I found to be very good – worth a swim and sauna break. Concierge was very helpful in securing hard to get dinner reservations.

The location was top-notch: walking distance to shopping, theatres, attractions, and there's an underground station just outside, as well as many well-serviced bus routes nearby.

Maintenance issues with my bathtub plug and the room's window were literally solved in 5min. Very impressive.

The bar probably isn't worth a visit, but with everything else being to the standard it was, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belherm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for sharing such a positive review on Café Royal hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am heartened to read how enthused you were over the hotel and the special extra touches we include in our guestrooms; I hope this added to the comfort of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights last weekend in a Portland room.
Brilliant :-)
Big, airy and spacious with a mega-comfy bed.
All the gizmos worked and the whole in-room experience was first class.
The hotel bars and dining areas are beautiful... a bit pricey but not stupidly so.
The reception, check-in / out was simple and the doorman was most pleasant.
The location in Piccadilly is perfect for strolling anywhere you want to go around the West End.

All-in-all we had a great weekend and The Cafe Royal was the star of the show.... Thank you !!

Room Tip: We stayed in the most basic room and it had everything... No idea what else can possibly be extra in...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandGLechlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for sharing such a positive review on Café Royal hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guestrooms are some of the largest in London and we take pride that each feels almost like a suite or private apartment. David Chipperfield Architects was the lead architect in the hotel restoration, where modern elegance has been carefully paired with historical style and glamour. I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team and I hope to welcome yo back to Café Royal hotel in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#42 of 1,073 in London
919 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#13 of 1,073 in London
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,073 in London
1,489 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,073 in London
4,078 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,073 in London
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 4DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#45 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £325 - £762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing