We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star service!!!”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #49 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Five star service!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Cafe Royal is located at Regent Street. This is a very busy street, but inside the hotel rooms you can not hear anything from the noise. We had a Junior Suite, with a view on Regent Street. The rooms are really modern and enjoyable. Service was great! Only did not experience the Akasha Spa, as it was not open yet. Please do try a massage here, if the service is the same as in the hotel, you should really relax here! Overall: a really nice hotel to stay in the city centre in London! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Café Royal hotel during your stay with us. I am very pleased to read of your appreciation for the Junior Suite and the whisper-quiet soundproofing - a feature throughout the hotel. I have passed on your kind words to the team who join me in thanking you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel soon.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    160
    52
    23
    9
See reviews for
264
439
53
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huay Xai, Laos
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I had a great weekend while staying at the hotel Café Royal. Everything was amazing and exceeded my expectations. The room was beautiful and had a great view over Picadilly Circus, I especially loved the bathroom and all the amenities present in the room. The breakfast was excellent, both the food and service. I was also impressed by the services of the concierge, they arranged several restaurant bookings for us and reserved the best tables available. Finally, I loved the Akasha spa, we did not plan to spend a lot of time in the spa but in the end we did because it was so relaxing!
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. (and I hope to be back one day!)

Room Tip: Ask for view on Piccadilly Circus
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Café Royal hotel with us. I am heartened by your kind comments regarding our staff and the facilities on offer throughout the hotel including your very relaxing time at the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre. I am most pleased we were able to demonstrate how important customer service is to us and I have passed on your feedback to the team members, who join me in thanking you for your kind patronage. We hope to welcome you back to Café Royal hotel in the not too distant future

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is indeed an oasis in the hubbub of Regent st.
We were upgraded to a lovely suite which is one of quietest rooms I've ever stayed in. Comfy bed & super facilities with butlers kitchen and nice smellies.
Good reception & door men but a little less friendly in the restaurant and bar.. Why I don't know? But in a busy hotel I guess that's not unusual. The swimming pool etc is fantastic.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review on Café Royal hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we were able to host your birthday. I look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel on many more occasions.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was travelling on a business trip to a couple of major cities in Europe. Whist in London, I Stayed here for a couple of nights last month.
Fantastic. Not to be missed
Design is quite incredible. Loved the bathrooms most of all. Bath was made out of a single piece of marble. What it must have been like to be roman.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knowclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your positive review after your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I am so pleased to read your appreciation of the hotel and of the Carrara marble bathroom featured in all our guestrooms. For your information there is some 1,000 tonnes of marble featured throughout the hotel! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel in the near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This may sound a strange title for a review, but it is largely due to the excellent staff, their consideration and attention to detail, that my husband and myself had such a wonderful evening during a weekend in London to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday in March. We reserved a table for dinner, (having eaten at the Cafe Royal a few years ago, before the refurbishment, and saying that we would return again one day, when funds would allow). From being greeted at the door, being introduced to the staff in the restaurant, each one of them wishing my husband a happy birthday (what a nice touch this was when I had only mentioned in passing when I booked that this was a special night). The meal was excellent and as a final touch, chocolates were served with coffee, and the chef had written 'happy birthday' in chocolate on the serving plate.
I don't think that either of us will forget the evening, and will look forward to a return visit asap.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEB00150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am delighted to read how much you and your husband enjoyed your birthday celebrations at Café Royal hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on the service from our team here. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the whole experience from the welcome at the door, the food and the celebration chocolates to finish. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you both here on your next visit.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAIFA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels we have been in.
The best in London.
Near Piccadily and the Mayfair.
Great team. Great food at brrakfast,. Very ckean
Great location my score 100% !!
We will surely come again.
Eyal

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EYAL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind words on your most recent visit to Café Royal hotel. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the experience especially the service from our team, the central London location and your breakfast. I will share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Perfectly located in the heart of the West End with luxurious and beautifully furnished rooms of the highest specification. The pool is something very special. Service of the highest standard. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Café Royal hotel. I am very pleased to read your kind comments and to read how much you appreciated the décor and furnishing of our rooms as well as the service from our team. I am pleased you had an opportunity to enjoy the swimming pool in our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre and I look forward to your next visit.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#36 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#24 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Property: Hotel Cafe Royal
Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 5RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#48 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing