We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for our 40th company anniversary gala dinner!”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #48 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great venue for our 40th company anniversary gala dinner!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The pompadour suite is simply stunning, the terrace on a warm June evening is a delight. The service and the food were simply first class, so was the price we paid, but we all enjoyed a great evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the anniversary gala in the Pompadour Suite and how highly you valued the service as well as the cuisine. I have shared your kind comments with the team here and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you here again on your next visit to Hotel Café Royal.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    160
    52
    23
    9
See reviews for
265
442
53
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful rooms in a heritage setting, with incredible service. You step out from the quiet refined environs of this elegant, 5 star hotel right onto bustling Picaddily Circus. The building itself is stunning, and the incredibly spacious rooms (I stayed in 409) are chic and modern in contrast to the extremely gilded and elaborate ceilings and building interiors (visit the Pompadour Room for full dazzling effect) - think Hall of Mirrors at Versailles.

The only disappointment was the hotel bar (The Grill Room), which seated us, telling us that only half the venue was booked for a private event, then 10 minutes later told us we would need to vacate the premises as the entire venue was booked for the private event - after we had already ordered our drinks. Only improvement this hotel can work on then is the service in the bar - otherwise, I would definitely recommend this hotel - great place to stay for work or leisure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time out to leave your comments on your recent experience at Hotel Café Royal. I am pleased you admired the contrast of heritage and contemporary style and that you had the opportunity to visit the Pompadour Suite during your visit, we are lucky to have such a beautiful room that has been restored to feature original and ornate detailing. I am sorry to read your comments on the Oscar Wilde Bar and I would very much like to speak with you about this further. I have sent you contact details in a private message if you can kindly contact me directly.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were told by friends that Cafe Royal was a superb hotel and we have not been disappointed. The rooms are spectacular, large and beautifully decorated. The service is also 5-star and the location cannot be beat. My daughter chuckled when she heard that we have a butler! I cannot think of anything that I would improve. If you don't mind shelling out the big bucks, this hotel will not disappoint. Prepare yourself for an experience that you will not soon forget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TZeld1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience staying at Hotel Café Royal. I am pleased to read how unforgettable you found the whole visit and how much you enjoyed the décor of our guestrooms as well as the location in the heart of London. I have shared your review with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Arriving from the busy regent street in london into the lobby of hotel cafe royal, it feels entering a different world. Smiling and welcoming faces, quiet and serene atmosphere. I thought, wauw, what a difference comparing to other luxury hotels here in London.
I was welcomed at the check in by a very polite and friendly gentleman. Check-in was very professional, the right questions were asked, the gentleman showed me the restaurant/breakfast room, the bar, the café, explained me a bit of history about the hotel. I REALLY felt as an appreciatd guest and this has been a long time since i had this feeling in a hotel.
I was guided towards my room on the 7th floor. Please check the rooms on internet. They are decorated with a high taste level, surrounded by high-tech equipment, extremely quiet, perfect working airconditioning. Breakfast was delicious, again extremely polite and friendly people.
I have to admit that this stay was with great, no huge pleasure and congratulations to staff, management for spoiling their customers at all times. I will be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank svalkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such kind comments on your recent experience staying at Hotel Café Royal. I am delighted to read how welcomed you felt as soon as you stepped inside the hotel and to read how much you appreciated learning some of the history about the hotel when checking in. It is also wonderful to read you liked the décor of your guestroom on the seventh floor as well as the breakfast served in the Ten Room. I have shared your review with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Been staying 4 weeks at the Café Royal - for its rooms and spa.

Love the rooms and the fact that they have wooden and marble floors (no carpets!). Great beds, beautiful bathrooms and showers. Nespresso machines in the rooms.
The pool and spa is absolutely amazing and going down for a morning swim is definitely worth getting out of bed a little earlier.

Very nice concierge, emailed him and he went to buy me shoes I didn't have time to go purchase myself. Also a very nice lady who heard my hoarse voice and brought me tea with honey.

Ridiculously expensive fruit salad/in-room dining. Not overly impressed by the breakfast either.

Room Tip: Ask for room 501 There are two room styles, Mansard rooms are all in wood and very nice. Portland a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolinalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Café Royal Hotel as your home away from home and for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review. I am so pleased you have stayed with us for 4 weeks and how much you appreciate the décor of our guestrooms especially the Portland stone and marble floors. I am delighted our concierge team were able to assist you and I have shared your comments with everyone here. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, I would very much like to speak with you personally about this and I have sent you my contact details. Please do get in touch.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed with my daughter for the first time and we were totally spoiled. The hotel is wonderful and the staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble for them.
The butler service is excellent, I have stayed at other hotels where they have this service and only pay lip service to it, but nowhere has it worked so well, every request was dealt with quickly and efficiently.
We had dinner in the Restaurant which was of a very good standard and both breakfasts were very good too. The standard of service is definitely first class.
The location is excellent and made it a very successful shopping trip. Our only disappointment was that we did not have time to visit the Spa, we will definitely do this next time and there will most definitely be a next time.
My husband was abroad on business so he feels peeved that he missed out on this experience but as soon as we have the time I will absolutely return with him.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on your first stay at Café Royal Hotel. I am very pleased to read your daughter and you both enjoyed the experience and how much you appreciated the service from our team as well as dining in our restaurant. I have shared your comments with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you back to experience the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had been meaning to give the refurbished Cafe Royal a try for a while and a last minute shopping trip provided an ideal opportunity.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just a few steps from Oxford Street, Leicester Square and Soho. I chose a Junior Suite which was stunning. The suite was quite large for London (around 50 sqm) with a superb marble bathroom equipped with a large walk in rainforest shower. The decor was ultra modern, minimalist and very muted in various tones of grey, or paneled in oak and Portland stone to make a real statement. The room is quite high tech and took a couple of minutes to master but includes a Bang & Olufsen entertainment system with connectivity to your iPhone etc and even a TV screen incorporated within the bathroom mirror !!!

The corner location overlooking Piccadilly Circus was excellent and also demonstrated that the soundproofing was also first class. I slept perfectly with no noise from outside even on the second floor.

The Cafe Royal restaurant is very good, but be sure to book and also be careful to request a table a little back from the piano. The entertainment in the early evening was excellent but made conversation over dinner a bit tricky.

For me one of the highlights of the trip was the Akasha spa, the investment here has really been worthwhile. The environment is calm, stylish and just immaculate. The pool is superb and the massage I had was also first class, with an intelligent articulate therapist who was at the top of her game.

All in all, the investment made at Café Royal has really paid dividends. This is now an excellent hotel that has 'raised the bar' and exemplifies what 5 star should be in Central London. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Suite 223 is an excellent choice directly overlooking Piccadilly Circus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I am delighted to read your kind review of your experience staying at Hotel Café Royal. I am pleased to see how much you appreciated the refurbished décor that combines the history with a contemporary design especially the Portland stone and the modern styled guestrooms with our Bang & Olufsen entertainment system. It is also wonderful to read that you were able to enjoy dining in The Café as well as the Ten Room and how much you enjoyed the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre. I have shared your feedback with our therapists and I look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal Hotel soon.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#97 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Property: Hotel Cafe Royal
Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 5RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing