We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent service, great location”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #46 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel cafe royal is beautiful, elegant and very well located in the heart of London. We came here as a family with 3 children (8, 10, 13) and we had connecting rooms. The rooms were beautiful, specious, very comfortable. My husband found the space and facilities for office work very convenient. I really loved the bed - so comfortable. The bathrooms were also amazing and specious and had everything you could possibly need and more. My children especially loved the TV inside the mirror in the bathroom. The service was impeccable. We were treated like royalty. We loved the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeffenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I am delighted to read how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hotel Cafe Royal including the interconnecting guestrooms for your children as well as the space and facilities for your husband to work in. I am pleased how highly you appreciated the service from the team and I shared your kind review with everyone here. I look forward to seeing you all again soon.

With warmest wishes,
Anthony Lee,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cafe Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is wonderful! the rooms are amazing.
I was most impressed with several of the staff members, mainly by Laura from the reception and Akira from the restaurant, both remember my name, their smile and their service were the best you can expect. all staff is positive and eager to help at any time.
The spa is one of the best I have even seen and all this a top (centre) location in London.
We will come back!

Room Tip: 302! the best by far....
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abbaetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind comments on your experience staying at Hotel Cafe Royal. I am delighted to read how impressed you were with our team, especially Laura and Akira who both join me in thanking you for the feedback. I am pleased you also had the opportunity to spend time in the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre during your visit and I look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

With warmest wishes,
Anthony Lee,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 6 days at this property for a second time within a couple of months. The previous stay was a short one but since I came away impressed especially with the size of the room, I opted for this property although it wasn't the most economical option. Location wise you cannot beat it. The entrance is not very grand and the lobby area has a somewhat stark appearance about it. The rooms & the toilets I stayed in 2 categories, both were spacious with all the modern conveniences one would expect and some more like motion sensors & a B&O tele. It's clean, breakfast was good but then again expensive yet I highly recommend this property which is meters away from the Piccadilly Circus tube. V

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishnuvardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review of your experience at Hotel Cafe Royal. I am pleased you chose to stay with us for a second time and how much you appreciate the location in the heart of London. I am delighted you enjoyed the spacious guestroom and modern conveniences and I have shared your complimentary comments with the team here. I very much hope we see you here again soon.

With warmest wishes,
Anthony Lee,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel truly is an oasis in the centre of London: one step inside and all the hustle and bustle, the constant drumming of traffic is gone. We had a room overlooking Regent Street en Picadilly, so very close to all the sights we wanted to go to, but inside it was wonderfully quiet. The room was modern, good bed, excellent badroom, lovely bath products. In one word, excellent, also because of the modern gadgets, like the tiny nightlight that shines from the console. The swimmingpool underneath is clean, easy to reach, with good shower facilities and excellent size of the lappool. It opens at 6.30, so you can perform your laps easily before breakfast. Very friendly staff too. Quick to respond when you needed a taxi!

Room Tip: Feel free to take a room with view of Regent Street, because the noise doesn't penetrate the dou...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

It is my pleasure to read your kind review of your stay at Hotel Cafe Royal and I am delighted your visit exceeded your expectations. I am pleased to see how much you appreciated the whisper quiet soundproofing in your guestroom, along with the views overlooking Piccadilly Circus and the technology in your room. It is also wonderful to read you had the opportunity to experience the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre during your stay and I hope to welcome you back here soon.

With warmest wishes,
Anthony Lee,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Last review of this hotel was near perfect because of some issues, but at arrival this tile i knew i was going to be in for a treat.

As with my disease i need a relaxed stay, check-in, room, service....this hotel ( i mean : second home :-) ) is the best.
After some chatting with one of the managers, Edward, i arrived at the hotel and was greeted immediately with a "welcome back mister vermeersch". Got a room upgrade, lovely tour room and enjoyed from start to finish.

Every time you pass by someone of the hotel, they greet you, they open the doors for you or make sure there is an elevator waiting dor you. They even treat you during the day by bringing some refreshements like water, fresh fruit and some lovely chocolates.

I also had an afternoon tea and oh my oh my, the surroundings and quality of food was spot on !
Will do it again for sure :-)

The thing i loved the most was the fact when ordering my breakfast in the ten room, i saw they didnt offer the american breakfast anymore, so i had to offer the english breakfast.
Surprisingly (i forget his name, he was french...emmanuellle ?) our waiter came back to tell me if i wanted, they would be delighted to offer me the american breakfast. This is what i call service !

As you can read, there is notting bad about this hotel. From the amazing Akasha spa, to the amazing kind and genuine love you get from te staff, to breakfast and to the rooms....don't look further :

THIS is the place to be or like i want to call it : my second home for relaxing.

See you soon !

Niek vermeersch

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Niek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

I am delighted to read your kind review of your second stay at Hotel Cafe Royal and it is wonderful to know you now regard us as your second home. I am pleased to see how much you appreciated the service from the team during your visit, especially your tour from Edward on arrival and the care and attention during breakfast in the Ten Room. I am also pleased you were able to enjoy many of our facilities including The Importance of Being Earnest afternoon tea in the Oscar Wilde Bar as well as experiencing the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre. It was a pleasure to be able to share your kind comments with everyone here and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

With warmest wishes,
Anthony Lee,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This mix of old and modern work well together! Breakfast, although a little expensive, was brilliant, so much choice. We were greeted by Julia and David in the reception area, who made us feel at home and catered to all our needs, both, most helpful.
My only critism would be that lack of hook to hang a towel whilst taking a shower and the exceedingly short hair dryer cable, the hair dryer itself could not be unplugged!
I would fully recommend this hotel, its location makes the entertainment andshopping areas easily accessible, a thoroughly pleasant couple of days!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Picadilly Circus not only give a brilliant view, but are exceptionally well sound...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank saltstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your most recent visit to Hotel Cafe Royal. I am delighted to read how much you appreciated the mix of contemporary and historical decor as well as the service from Julia and David on arrival. I am pleased how much you liked the guestroom you stayed in with it's view of Piccadilly Circus and thank you for your comments regarding the hair dryer, I have taken these on board and I look forward to welcoming you back here in the not too distant future.

With warmest wishes,
Anthony Lee,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

great place with lovely food and drinks. very nice feel pf the place and met a lot of nice people. very recommend this place to all travellers who want to have a nice time and enjoy some nice food and drinks

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamid K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your experience at Hotel Cafe Royal and how much you appreciated the cuisine and drinks during your stay.I hope to see you all here again soon.

With warmest wishes,
Anthony Lee,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#39 of 1,072 in London
916 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,072 in London
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,072 in London
4,075 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,072 in London
1,488 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 4DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £320 - £761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing