We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Polenteria”
Review of Leggero - CLOSED

Leggero
Price range: £12 - £31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: 100% Handmade and Italian with a Cosmopolitan Pub Twist!All Made with organic flours and adding more natural protein and fiber! 100% Gluten Free!
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location (in Soho), amazing polenta (if you never tried you must do it!) and coffee, nice welcoming staff!

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank gigio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriele V, Owner at Leggero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thanks a lot for review and your recommendation!
All our team is really glad you had a nice experience with us and we hope to see you soon again!

Welcome to the Polentians world :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 585 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

I went in this restaurant just once in a quiet sunday lunch and I felt like to be at home, in Italy, where I come from. I suggest this restaurant if someone wants to try authentic italian polenta and spending some money for good food. Very good mine, with wild boar, lovely polenta starters and good wines for a perfect value. I like it very much too the location. I will come back very soon.

Date of visit: May 2014
1  Thank TheRobertOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriele V, Owner at Leggero, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Customer,

Thanks a lot for your time to review our restaurant, we truly appreciate it!
We are really happy we made you feel like at home with our polenta!
All our team is really glad you had a nice experience with us and we hope to see you soon again!

Welcome to the Polentians world :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My friend and I dined for dinner. The server was attentive and was very friendly. I got the goulash polenta and my friend got the burrata and tomatoes. They were both delicious! We also got the brownie with mint ice cream and ferrero rocher cupcake. This place did not disappoint!

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3camis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriele V, Owner at Leggero, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Cami,

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it :)
We are very happy you enjoyed our polenta and our service. Certainly our goal is to please our customers by offering not just good food but a nice time with us!

Many thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Charming place with OK food. An alternative to the most popular italian food. The polenta with sausages and tomato sauce is quite good.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eduardo_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriele V, Owner at Leggero, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Eduardo,

Thank you very much for your review, we truly appreciate it!
We are really happy you found our restaurant charming and we hope to see you again!

Welcome to the Polentians world :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I love soft polenta but the night we went it was rubbish - sticking to the plate, under-seasoned and overcooked.

The waiter said 'well it only lasts two minutes before it gets firm' … so serve it in bowls instead of flat plates and maybe warm the bowls first you idiots.

Also the chicken alla Romana was half a dozen snarky gobbets of thigh meat in what tasted like boiled-in-a-bag sauce.

I'd give the restaurant three months before it folds, especially with the lousy take-it-or-leave it customer service.

Avoid.

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank blowstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriele V, Owner at Leggero, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear John,

We have known that you were disappointed but you left us unable to respond to this exact review when you posted it on our Facebook in April, so thank you for giving us the chance to respond now.

We apologise that your dish was not as pleasant as you expected but as you might know, polenta, for its properties, has to be eaten shortly after it’s served. We appreciate your suggestion about warming the dishes but there is no need for name-calling :)

It has been almost three months since your review and fortunately we are doing well; we are about to introduce a new menu with some new items.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leggero also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.