We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”

Somerset House Ice Rink
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I figure skate 5 days a week back home in NY. Somersethouse house only has hockey skates. The real problem was that they were so dull that it was a serious safety problem. People were dropping like flies, probably not realizing that it was an equipment not a skill problem. After one lap around, all four of us left, thankfully in one piece and were grateful that we didn't break anything. It is a picturesque place but safety issues with their equipment needs to be addressed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jcarey8827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    71
    13
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
503 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful thing to do at this time of the year. Glorious setting and backdrop making it a festive treat for all the family. Good supervision and assistance from the ice Marshall's.
Strongly recommend it. So not accept cheap imitations. Pay the extra and go to the best ice skating event in London.

Helpful?
Thank WMJAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Not brave enough to skate but loved the atmosphere, visited late on a Sunday night, it really felt like Christmas.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pennington32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked online after a friend, who lives in London, recommended it.

Far less people and less touristy than Hyde Park.

Really enjoyed it!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Magical went here with my son, just migical beautiful setting , along with a great artisan Christmas market”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This I found as I looked out of the window of the Caultauld Museum of art saw all my favourite Matisse pictures. One happy person here, Andres my son wasn't so impressed. Not much for kids but for art lovers like myself just heaven!!! We then went to the Ice ring.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzmannikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Somerset House Ice Rink also viewed

 

Been to Somerset House Ice Rink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing