We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday skating in London”

Somerset House Ice Rink
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best holiday skating in London”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Over the years my family have tried various ice rinks during the Christmas period yet we always end up coming back to Somerset House. A good sized rink, helpful staff, great access for spectators, including a large indoor bar area for mulled wine, hot chocolates or whatever else takes your fancy. Beautiful setting. Highly recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    71
    13
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“NYE”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

me and my partner booked tickets for the New Year's Eve event, got to say I was very impressed with the whole experience, we ice skated half 10 for an hour then had access to the river terrace for the fireworks, which was amazing! I would recommend ice skating here without the New Year's Eve event. It's is definitely worth doing, the service was great from staff and we genuinely did have an amazing evening here, my only negative comment is it wasn't the easiest to find the exact entrance to go in seen as Somerset house is so big and this was our first visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank alicia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have always wanted to go to Somerset House Ice Rink, definitely one for the bucket list. It was a lot of fun, beautifully presented and a magical evening. My friend and I went for the 8pm slot and it was delightful! I think I'll be making it an annual occurrence

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“too many people”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My girlfriend is very good at skating, myself being a complete novice it was tough given how congested the rink was

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, but too many skaters”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and my son ventured onto the ice while I stayed in the cafe with the youngest child. The queue was very long and the security lacked manners. However both my husband and son changed boots successfully half way through the hour as the first ones were ill fitting (with little issue).

There were too many people crammed into the changing areas as indeed there were too many people on the ice.

For beginners it was fine though. They both enjoyed.

The cafe areas was nice enough. Drinks not too expensive for London.

Toilets not great. Steep steps and a little smelly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Somerset House Ice Rink also viewed

 

Been to Somerset House Ice Rink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing