We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant on a budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London City Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London City Airport Hotel
Ranked #483 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Monaghan, Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I needed a cheap hotel near the ExCel in London for 2 nights and the Travelodge London City Airport Hotel delivered.

The room was small but perfectly clean, fresh and cosy. The 24 hour bar and food service was great even if the food was just ok.

The staff were lovely especially Samir who was working the night shift on Friday night. He kept us entertained while serving us and just made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front or not near the train tracks as the every 10 minute DLR service made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieAnnSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    292
    190
    67
    71
See reviews for
186
242
84
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Two-night stay. Handy for getting into Central London via the DLR and the free parking is a bonus. A regular travelodge so nothing to comment on there. Staff were very friendly and welcoming though. Downside on this visit was no milk at breakfast on Sunday morning but otherwise as you'd expect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Symington, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Easy walk from London City Airport. We were going to an event at the O2 and journey was easy.
Many may not know but London City is a daytime only aitport so no overnight flights to disturb you.
Staff were great, room lovely and clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. We paid for it but no one ever checked so unsure if everyone had just also paid so there was no need for them to check.
Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayPlanner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We only stayed here one night after an event at the O2 but would definitely stay again!
It was a cheap stay at £39.00 for the night in a double room which was a great size, with an en suite. Room was very clean (even did the obligatory test for the dust at the top of the wardrobe and headboard!), bedding was clean with no stains. Bathroom was also spotless and shower was a good size. It was nothing spectacular but I think if that is what you want do not book yourself into a Travelodge! Tea-making facilities and TV were a bonus after a long day and we both slept very well in the bed. Plus, the curtains did not let much light in in the morning either. Only issue was no hairdryer in the room, I had to go down to reception to get one which seems a bit of a hassle but I managed!

We did not have breakfast here (slept through it...) but we were happy to know the bar and snacks menu was 24/7 even though we did not use it.

Location is excellent - very close to the DLR and London City Airport. For us we were able to leave the O2 the less crowded way as most were heading back into Central London, so for that it was a great location for us.

Airport shuts at night so there was no aeroplane noise, however our room was facing the DLR, but this said it was not very loud and did not keep us awake. But, if you think such noise would wake you up I'd recommend staying in a room that is at the front of the hotel rather than the back.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel, it was just what we needed.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel for less noise from the DLR
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very convenient for London City Airport, just a 5 minute walk away.
The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly.
There is aircraft noise but the planes do not fly during the night so it is not a problem.
The public areas at the front are a little off putting, it appeared that a lot of workmen used it as a stop over perhaps while working locally, but I would recommend it for a stay before an early flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

A true budget stay at £69 within a 5 minute walk of the City Airport terminal. We stayed here as we had an early flight to Luxembourg and were not disappointed. Our room was basic, but clean and of good size. The bed was very comfortable and the soundproofing excellent.

We dined out at nearby Canary Wharf, but called in for a night cap in the hotel bar afterwards. It was well stocked, the service here (as with the check in upon arrival), friendly and efficient.

Delivers what it 'says on the tin'. We will use it again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvette1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed one night following a flight into City Airport.
The hotel was fine. Usual Travelodge with basic facilities, but clean and with a very comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities always a bonus.
Good location for the airport and easy to get into central London via DLR.
The breakfast was fine. Nothing fancy but plenty enough to start the day.
Very good value for a London hotel. Would stay again if using City Airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jule.F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#546 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#269 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London City Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London City Airport Hotel

Property: Travelodge London City Airport Hotel
Address: 1 Connaught Road | Silvertown, London E16 2FA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London City Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London City Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing