We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“London Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London City Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London City Airport Hotel
Ranked #482 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
“London Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the Travelodge for two weeks. The staff are friendly; there's a 24 hour bar; the location to the train station is excellent (walking distance); the rooms are clean; the food was ok and I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    292
    190
    67
    71
See reviews for
186
242
84
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Heading to family in France for Christmas on a 7am flight and wanted somewhere not too expensive to stay near to London City Airport so chose this Travelodge. The staff were friendly but seemed to be working to a set script and therefore forgot anything requested or said "off script", such as my request for a hairdryer (at reception) and drink (in the bar/restaurant). On both occasions I had to ask twice. Do not order the fish and chips. The menu says hand battered, but if that's the case it was hand battered by someone in a factory far, far away, frozen and then cooked (very badly) in the Travelodge kitchen. The person who collected my plate did not ask if "everything was ok?". Perhaps that isn't on the script? The TV in my room seemed to have volume issues. Some channels were fine but others were almost silent even when turned to max. The bed was ok and the room relatively clean. I wasn't refunded the cost of the breakfast I wasn't able to have, which had been pushed (again on script) when I booked and was unsure of exact flight times. This Travelodge I imagine, has a bit of a captive market being within a reasonable walking distance from the airport. Even so, and despite some improvements to the rooms, it has a fair way to go before it offers value for money. For one night only it is just about bearable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaththemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London City Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback kaththemole. We are sorry to learn that you needed to request for certain items on a few occasions, we expect our staff to provide a great service at all times. Our bar café staff are fully trained on how to prepare our food to a high standard, so we are truly sorry that you were unhappy with the quality of the food on this occasion. We also expect all of our facilities to be in a good working order so we apologise for the issues you experienced with the television volume. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

A very comfortable and pleasant stay at the Travelodge in London City Airport with lovely rooms and helpful staff - however don't order the cheeseburger at £3.95 - it is the tiniest burger I have ever seen and served on a large white plate without any garnish. The 99p burger at McDonalds is better than this !!!! I didn't touch it and sent it back for a refund - to the credit of the staff they refunded my payment immediately- must be use to people complaining about the price of food!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Clean rooms, decent beds and with the normal facilities. Customers coming and going at various times of the night, which may desturb your sleep. Poor food. Pretty much what you'd expect for the money in this area of London.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandKate2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

A good hotel that has been renovated recently. Lower ground floor rooms are great for totally removing noise from the airport - although all other floors have good sound proofing from my various stays. Airport side is preferred over DLR side as the flights stop earlier and start later than the DLR so you get less noise. A reasonable bar and food selection but an awful wifi connection in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for one night as my daughter was flying out of City airport early. 10mins walk max from airport. Very clean and comfortable. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. We dropped our bags off and then caught the DLR/tube to Westfield (15 mins) for shopping and dinner. Returned late evening to a lovely warm room. 10 mins back to the airport for the flight the next morning then I jumped on the DLR and was at work at London Bridge within half hour. Perfect - I can't fault it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyC6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Eulalia del Rio, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Filled the requirement of an airport hotel used only for a few hours sleep nicely. Efficient check-in, fee lobby & room wifi, nice clean typical Travelodge room.

Bar food was cheap and cheerful.

Location 7 to 10 minute walk from the airport.

NB: Although wifi was free, most prts seems to be blocked so for example if you need to use RDP it is not possible over the free wifi.

Would definitely stay again at the budget price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#552 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#266 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London City Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London City Airport Hotel

Property: Travelodge London City Airport Hotel
Address: 1 Connaught Road | Silvertown, London E16 2FA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London City Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge London City Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing