We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The illusive triple room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
Ranked #141 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just back! Hampton by Hilton is terrific and no sign of teething problems. Breakfast was excellent, staff were on the ball and very cheerful, the free wifi worked very well and was easy to use, and the location was very handy for the south bank area and waterloo station (with machines where you can top up or buy an oyster card). A few minutes further away was southwark underground station.

The room was decorated to a high spec, bed was really comfy and the large sofa bed got the thumbs up from our additional 'adult'. There was a large walk-in shower in the bathroom supplied with decent soap, moisturiser, shampoo and conditioner from large dispensers. The proper hairdryer was much appreciated, and the safety deposit box, iron and ironing board were all present and correct,

Access to the various floors was by room keycard, a thoughtful security feature. While there was no room service, there were snacks and drinks available 24/7 in the downstairs lobby. The staff were a complete delight and unusually for us, we used the hotel bar in the evening as it was a pleasant spot to wind down. Gin and tonics weren't a silly price for London thankfully.

Locally there is a 24 hour Sainsburys where we stocked up on bottled water and snacks, the hotel is on the same block as The Old Vic Theatre. Also just along the road is a branch of the fabulous Wahaca Mexican Street Food Restaurant (opposite Old Vic). Would also recommend Olivelli Italian Restaurant (reasonably priced) and the Windmill Pub, both in The Cut. The Hampton's own Portuguese Restaurant looked lovely, but we ran out of time to try it. Maybe next time!

Highly recommend this hotel if the location suits your needs. Hope some of that was useful!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Purple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Purple,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

We are very happy with your detailed comments on your experience. Although we have not been open long....we believe the team is very much up to the mark and absolutely capable to deliver you great service!

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,856)
There are newer reviews for Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,068 - 2,074 of 2,857 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Yes, it is brand new and fresh. Good location and very friendly staff. The beds were great. The problem was that the twin room was just too small to support two people for a week. There was simply no room in the room. I didn't like the lack of water pressure in the shower. And the breakfast was exactly the same day after day. Not an iota of variation. By the 6th day we were thinking of eating breakfast out. Having stayed in a number of Hilton properties, I found this new hotel to be the least value for money.
On the other hand, the attached restaurant, Assado, was excellent, and if I was in this area again, I would eat there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rupertpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Rupertpb,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We have investigated your comments with great care.

We understand your comments regarding the space in the room. It might however be worth noting that compared to other central London hotels...we offer one of the most spacious rooms on the market.

We hope to convince you none the less to return to us in the near future!

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A very nice and clean room, a very comfortable bad. the location is amazing - 2 minutes walk from Waterloo station. you can walk to Westminster abbey. the breakfast is good, hotel stuff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Keren,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is located in a very good location 5 minutes away from the waterloo train station. The decor of the hotel is lovely and the rooms are very clean and spacious. The only let down during my stay was the Assado Restaurant since we were given very small portions considering the price and the food came out 5 minutes after we ordered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Fantastic hotel with a lot of pluses. It's in a great location and spotlessly kept clean. Very comfy beds, nice bathrooms and great views. The breakfast buffet was amazing, the hotel staff friendly and very helpful. It's true that's it's barely a five minute walk to the tube/rail station and seconds to the bus stops, a walk into the city is roughly twenty minutes.

On the downside though in four days I couldn't get any hot water out of the taps in the bathroom sink. Strange because whenever anyone in a nearby room used their bathroom, the pipes vibrated and banged. It was so loud it woke me (and other guests I spoke to) at ridiculous hours of the night. When reception staff were informed of this they did not seem too bothered and acted as if it was already well known.

Still, this is a lovely hotel and given the chance would stay there again if the price was right.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent a wonderful week in London and our hotel stay contributed a big percentage in that experience. Extremely helpful staff accommodated our requests with a smile. The rooms are clean and fresh. Loved the breakfast. The walk to the Waterloo tube station is a boon, so is the proximity of the bus stops. Travelling to Greenwich, St Pauls and central London was so easy. Would love to stay here again when visiting London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Saanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel only opened early in the New year but if it maintains its current level of standard it will be a popular choice for a London weekend. The location, about 5 minutes from The London Eye and within comfortable walking distance of the west end makes it a great base for a grown-up weekend. Check-in was smooth, friendly and efficient and the duty manager gave us an upgrade without having to ask for it. This gave us a n 8 th floor view of 'the city'. The room was compact and bijou to coin a phrase, but it had everything one might need for a comfortable stay. The bed was quite firm, but not uncomfortably so and of course they are new, so they will of course soften with time. Breakfast was fine, not terribly exciting, but more than adequate with hot and cold choices, pastries, fruit and a choice of coffees and teas both brewed and instant.
One very nice fact was the apparent 24 hour bar which was manned by reception staff, which allowed us grown-up s to enjoy a late night drink after exploring the city.
The staff in this hotel are particularly friendly and no one passed us in any part of the hotel without greeting us. The concierge service were pleased to keep our bags on checkout and wished us a safe journey home when we collected them to head for the airport.
We would have very little to fault, although the air con may need a little tweaking before a London summer and the room was a little on the small side. Breakfast was a busy experience and some of the seating was a bit too informal using sofas and coffee tables, but that's a small matter.
Overall we were very happy with our experience and if the pricing of this hotel stay as competitive we will be happy to use it as our London base in future

Room Tip: Ask if you can have an upper floor for the view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AOBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#163 of 1,072 in London
1,039 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#264 of 1,072 in London
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo

Address: 157 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £115 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a five minute walk from London Waterloo train station, the contemporary Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo hotel offers guests an elegant, yet affordable base in the heart of London; near corporate and government offices and exciting shopping, dining, nightlife and entertainment opportunities. Located south of the River Thames, near St. George’s Circus and Waterloo Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing