We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
Ranked #126 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this Hotel it was very central, frequent buses outside hotel, 5 mins to stn. Very nice restaurants around . Buffet breakfast was very good and staff very helpful, would stay at this hotel again if in the area. Everything was clean and staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear PS,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    901
    180
    37
    16
See reviews for
687
874
118
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Overall I would not stay at the Hampton again unless they are able to rectify the problems with their internet. It was painfully slow, and clearly not a reception or equipment problem. Our stay was almost a week in length, so it was not a one day issue.

The Hampton at Waterloo is a very new hotel, so all the rooms and common areas are well kept and not damaged. It is just down the road from Waterloo station (same street), so it is very easy to get to. There is a Sainsbury (across the street from Waterloo) and a Tesco Express (a 5 minute walk west) to get grocery-related items. It felt extremely safe to walk around at all hours of the day. We also took advantage of the location to walk to all of the sights, and found we had no real use for the tube (even though it was right there).

Check-in was without problem. The rooms were spacious (we were expecting small rooms, such as those you find in the tourist areas of New York and Chicago). The beds were a bit on the hard side however. Another downside was that there was no fridge to store your items. The water pressure in the shower was also very low.

One very big issue with the hotel was the internet speed. It was always very, very slow. The wireless signal showed full strength, so it was not a problem with signal strength. And the slow speeds occurred on both smartphones and laptop, so it is not the device. For a new hotel this was definitely unexpected. The speed was such a problem that there were many times webpages would not load.

There are 3 computers and a printer available on the main floor for general use. The fitness center is small, but should have most of the equipment necessary for a workout while traveling. Breakfast was good; toast, scrambled eggs, roasted potatoes, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, yogurt. It had some fresh fruit (apples, bananas). Breakfast does get busy, but there is some bar style seating that always seemed to be empty if you cannot get a table.

Because the neighbourhood is not as touristy, there are many options nearby for meals at a reasonable rate. Less than a block away is an excellent fish and chips place (Masters Super Fish), which had a lunch special of 7.20 pounds for fish and chips + coffee or pop.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor so you don't have to deal with the busy elevators at breakfast by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor-EDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Trevor,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo.

We have well received your comment with regards to the internet. It is indeed correct that occasionally we have experienced some slow connection due to the unusual high amount of users and traffic.

As a new hotel, this issue has been a very big concern. We are listening to our guest’s reviews and want to ensure a fantastic internet quality speed at all times. We will be upgraded to a brand new super-fast fibre quality network which will be able to handle the high traffic moments without any issues.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had terrible WiFi over a 11 day period, the staff had a new excuse each time I asked. The rooms, shower, bed and location are great. The breakfast was weak. Customer service was great, many of the staff spoke multiple languages which I thought was a great service. There is a nice restaurant attached if your lazy there is restaurants in walking distance and about a 10 min walk to the London Eye.

There is a weekend food festival every weekend which is great and tons of restaurants along the river 10 min away. There is a great pastie food vendor, shops and a CVS equivalent called "boots" in Waterloo station near by. There is a convenient store across the street with a variety of alcohol. No laundry mats in walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for one that faces the street because you can see the london eye from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojdacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Wojdachs,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo.

We have well received your comment with regards to the internet. It is indeed correct that occasionally we have experienced some slow connection due to the unusual high amount of users and traffic.

As a new hotel, this issue has been a very big concern. We are listening to our guest’s reviews and want to ensure a fantastic internet quality speed at all times. We will be upgraded to a brand new super-fast fibre quality network which will be able to handle the high traffic moments without any issues.

We are disappointed you were not impressed by our complimentary breakfast which we have available for all our guests to enjoy. Compared to competitor hotels which also offer free breakfast, we are confident the range on offer and the quality is far superior.

We hope none the less we will be welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked this hotel for its convenience to London. It is so easy to get to and from Waterloo with a short walk. The staff are really friendly. The rooms are of a good size with tea and coffee facilities. Great large walk-in shower. Breakfast was a good selection of hot and cold and a help yourself coffee/tea machine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Shireen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Shireen,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Absolutely smashing hotel that is located a stone's throw from Waterloo tube station. The west facing rooms have a fabulous view.
The staff is just excellent - very warm & hospitable - always smiling & helpful.
The restaurant next door called Assado has super Goan food. A must try!
But this hotel is just fab!

Room Tip: The west facing rooms have a fabulous view of London
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imraansurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Imraan,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel as we were going to a concert at the O2 (15 mins on Jubilee line). It is a very conveniently located hotel within 5 minutes of Waterloo station. The check in/check out was very quick and efficient. All hotel staff from the desk, restaurant and house-keeping were polite and friendly. The room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Although our room was facing onto the main road, we could not hear any noise at all. The complimentary breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choices. Would highly recommend this modern hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Kingsley,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I went to London in April and I really should have shared my experience at the Hilton by Hampton in Waterloo earlier, but I had business travels right after. However, I am still brimming with excitement of the little gem this place is! It started where I was greeted by Clara at the front desk and she was most cordial, I was early for my room and they offered to store my luggage in a safe area which was pretty organized and secure, while I went exploring until my room was ready.This hotel is located in the Waterloo area close to the underground (get an Oyster Card)! It was safe and walking distance to the London Eye. I got back to the hotel with my daughter and was given another warm welcome and had a beautiful room awaiting me on the 7th Fl. This property was opened in February and so it still smells clean and crisp, please don't miss breakfast it sure beats the US version of a continental meal. The bacon, sausage, beans, croissants, eggs, coffee, teas and fruits were very fresh and well laid out every single morning!

I will be back and my sister will be staying here in August as it's very affordable and still put you in the middle of everything. I had an easy time getting around by the Underground which the staff provided me a map and I bought an Oyster Card. Finally, thanks to the wonderful staff here, I was treated very well and congrats to the Hilton for keeping the consistency of excellent hospitality. In the past I'd stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites-Miami Brickell and had the same service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 5 floors and above, you'll get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyGuestRoom314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Happy guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Wellington Hotel
#500 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo

Property: Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
Address: 157 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a five minute walk from London Waterloo train station, the contemporary Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo hotel offers guests an elegant, yet affordable base in the heart of London; near corporate and government offices and exciting shopping, dining, nightlife and entertainment opportunities. Located south of the River Thames, near St. George’s Circus and Waterloo Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing