We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super new Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
Ranked #128 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stoevring, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super new Hotel.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Easy to get from Waterloo, only 3 minutes walk.
Great value for the money.
Quert area. Good restaurant. :-)))))
Fine service everywhere, cosy lounge, with livingroom funiture.
Could not be much better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam_jensenSt_vring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Fem Jensen,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,377
    928
    185
    37
    17
See reviews for
709
895
124
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel just opened 4 months ago - it is beautiful and modern. It is located only 1 minute of a walk from the metro and within 15 minutes of a walk from. Big. Bed and London Eye. It has complementary breakfast buffet and internet. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sveta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sveta,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was really nice! It was quite obviously brand new and definitely the nicest Hampton Inn we've ever stayed in. Our room had a very nice view of the London Eye. It was very convenient to public transportation, but not too close to much within walking distance. The staff was all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Laura,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife made reservations at this hotel several months before it opened in April based on our experiences with Hampton Inns in the United States and the low relative cost of the rooms (about half of the current online price). We stayed for 8 nights in May, and except for a few glitches, we were very happy with our choice, especially with our room discount and the great hotel location close to Waterloo station and the bus stops.

The first and most serious problem we encountered was with our room temperature. The windows do not open and we could not get the air conditioning to work. Management came up to show us how to operate the thermostat (somewhat complicated - printed instructions would have been very helpful) but they also could not, after several tries, get the air conditioning to come on. By this time it was almost midnight abd after travelling all day this was very frustrating and we were really tired. The staff then had us repack everything and move to another floor where the new room's thermostat operated as expected. The second glitch was that one of the three elevators would not read the room key cards needed to use the elevator. After several frustrating days of many people trying unsuccessfully to use this elevator it was finally taken out of service for the rest of our stay.

The hotel staff were always very friendly and tried to do their best to be helpful. Unfortunately some of them were not yet very familiar with surrounding restaurants and businesses but that it not surprising since the hotel had been open for less that two months.

My only other complaint is that do it yourself laundry service was not available at the hotel and the two laundrettes nearby I found on my own using the hotel provided internet turned out to be permanently closed. I finally found a small dry cleaner that would do a small bag (4 pairs of socks, shorts and undershirts) of my laundry for 15 pounds. The hotel prices for doing the same laundry would have been about 40 pounds or $64 dollars. A single shirt and pair of pants, washed or dry cleaned, would have added another 12 pounds.

Among the many hotel pluses were a very good English style buffet breakfast with lots of fresh fruit. This was served partly in the hotel lobby/lounge area and partly in a Portuguese restaurant the opens later for lunch and dinner. There is a very big crowd for breakfast, especially between 8:30 and 9:30am. Although it gets a bit busy, there plenty of hotel staff to help out with cleanup and refilling the buffet. The hotel lounge area was very comfortable and heavily used especially in the evenings. This friendly atmosphere was greatly helped by a small bar with several good COLD beers on tap. The rooms are a bit small by American standards but quite comfortable. Only queen size beds available but they too were very comfortable.

Their were plenty of good restaurants with reasonable prices within a short walk of the hotel. That plus great access to the local buses and the Underground at Waterloo Station made getting around quick and easy. I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celldoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Celldoc,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your detailed description of the experience you had. This will help us to deliver a better service as we move forward with the hotel and our team.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My friends and I stayed for a night at the hotel in Waterloo on Friday. As part of a birthday gift involving a visit to Finsbury Park to see Arctic Monkeys I booked us in for a night.

Upon arrival we were made very welcome and were checked in quickly and efficiently despite it being quite busy.

Tom checked us in and was brilliant! He made everything seemlessly easy. None of us are regular visitors to London so Tom made every effort to give us all the information we needed regarding the hotel, the local area including the best bars and restaurants as well as advice on how to get over to the park for the gig.

It's rare that a hotel stay is so uncompromising in quality and enjoyment but Tom and the other members of the team have got it nailed!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Harry Boyce,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I was skeptical at first as I have had a bit of a negative experiences even in branded hotels, but obnce I settled in I have to agree the concept, the service and the location are all above par! Hope they maintain it, and all the best to them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kamesh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Kamesh,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I spent 3 nights at this property while in London on business. I was drawn to it due it being a new, modern property, having a great location close to Waterloo Station, and a reasonable price compared to most hotels in Central London.

Check-in was quick and efficient and I was pleased to be able to check in at 8:30am after flying all night, despite not making arrangements to do so. The room was smallish, but modern, clean, and well equipped. The bathroom was also clean and modern, although I much prefer more traditional toiletries over the pumps on the wall provided here.

I will echo the comments of others that the Wifi service was terrible, making for some very frustrating evenings and mornings trying to catch up on email back at the office.

I didn't eat at the hotel for breakfast or use the restaurant for dinner, so no comments on either.

The location is wonderful. It's a short 3-5 minute walk to Waterloo Station from which you can catch the tube and go anywhere in the city, or catch a train to leave the city as I did. The hotel is also very walkable to many of the popular tourist attractions in Central London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonD34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Jon D,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We have well received your comment with regards to the internet. It is indeed correct that occasionally we have experienced some slow connection due to the unusual high amount of users and traffic.

As a new hotel, this issue has been a very big concern. We are listening to our guest’s reviews and want to ensure a fantastic internet quality speed at all times. We will be upgraded to a brand new super-fast fibre quality network which will be able to handle the high traffic moments without any issues.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#115 of 1,088 in London
490 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Wellington Hotel
#502 of 1,088 in London
474 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#53 of 1,088 in London
1,361 reviews
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo

Property: Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
Address: 157 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a five minute walk from London Waterloo train station, the contemporary Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo hotel offers guests an elegant, yet affordable base in the heart of London; near corporate and government offices and exciting shopping, dining, nightlife and entertainment opportunities. Located south of the River Thames, near St. George’s Circus and Waterloo Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing