We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
Ranked #142 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel has only been in operation since the beginning of the year and it seems that the Hilton Group has another winner. To begin with the hotel is ideally located for visiting all of the venues in the center of London and Waterloo station is only a few minutes away to provide efficient access to all public rail transport.

The Hotel itself is new and spotless. The emphasis is not on frills but rather on efficiency. There is a bright cheerful waiting area good seating, spacious work tables and a small library. The lobby area melds into a bar/snack where the complimentary breakfast is served and that in turn leads to the Asado Restaurant that features Goan food. The main floor is very functional but not ostentatious. However, the Asado Restaurant demands special note. It is not flashy but ;laces a premium on superb taste and friendly and efficient service. The limited menu features Goan cuisine that is simply exquisite. The fusion of Indian flavors--zesty curries, light, aromatic nan—along with some standard English favorites such as perfectly prepared and presented fish and chips makes the Asado an experience that should not be missed. The ground floor also houses a functional though not exciting workout room that is more than adequate for most athletic needs. Let’s face it, the majority of hotel guests are not Olympic athletes in training.
The rooms emphasize the hotel’s utilitarian approach. The bed of course is the key to any hotel room and the Hilton bed is perfect. No extraneous pillows, throws and etc. that have to be tossed into a corner. An excellent chair and accompanying lamp, a sizable work desk and swivel chair, an adequate TV, functional closet, several large, well placed mirrors and a combined set of metal bedside drawers and safety deposit box complete the accessories. The bathroom is spacious and very well planned with an excellent shower and a supply of high quality towels. There is no real art, although perhaps a large photo of nondescript buildings makes a weak pretense at an artistic touch. The overall effect is pleasant functionality.

One jarring aspect of our stay had nothing to do with the hotel premises; It concerned the neighboring property which had a cement planter that bordered on the hotel. This plant-less planter had been turned into a receptacle for empty pop cans and other odds and ends discarded by passers by. Although this is not hotel property it is adjoining and reflects poorly on the spanking new property. Something should be done about it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,862)
There are newer reviews for Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,862 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Opened recently, nice hotel, fairly priced for London, walking distance to Waterloo station and The Eye, Big Ben area. Breakfasts were very good. Staff help was good. One block away from The Old Vic theatre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knightfamilyphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Hampton London Waterloo in early June. After 9 nights at many different UK hotels, I was looking forward to being in the same place for a while. And unpacking. But this couldn't happen. Yes, we did spend 5 nights here, but we could not unpack, because there was no dresser or storage of any kind. I realize that UK hotels are not what we are used to in the US, but this was not what I was expecting. The hotel was nice, newly done, and centrally located. We were one block from Waterloo train/tube station, and just 2-3 blocks from the Thames. But the room, which had a "queen" bed and a sofabed was cramped for 3 people and their luggage. The one sliding door could cover either the bath or the closet. The toilet did not flush sufficiently to do the job. And the shower, while looking nice and being clean, had a strange layout where you had to be close to the showerhead to get wet, but the dispensers for shampoo and gel were on the opposite wall. And no shelf or soapdish if you wanted to use your own products.

On the plus side, the breakfast was quite good, and the wifi was free (but not always available). The staff was friendly and personable, and on the occasions we had to call for more towels (they left two for three people) they delivered them promptly. Would recommend, but Hampton, please rethink your furnishings and fixtures.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VWL2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very pleasantly surprised with the hotel and the amenities. Great location to central London, easy walk to the Thames area and 5 min walk to Waterloo station. Outstanding breakfast for the guests along with the "very cold beer" from the bar. Nice relaxing downstairs area with lots of room to spread out. Staff is very helpful and courteous. Definitely a great hotel to re-visit on our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jpb,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, especially as you found our team to be particularly efficient and engaging!

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I booked a stay 2 months in advance through Bookings.com, and cancelled it within a few days. The hotel had ample notice of the cancellation and charged the full rate for the booked period of £1181. I was aware of a cancellation fee, but 100% is unheard of for a cancellation made so far in advance. On reading the fine print, seems they are entitled to do this. I find this distasteful and unscrupulous. The hotel industry is very competitive, with many hotels having a more accommodative policy. I shall rather be using those services and wanted to warn people that if you still want to deal with them, be careful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Ian-visser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Ian,

Although we understand your comment, it is important to explain why this occurred. Within the Hotels and Airline industry heavily discounted rates are offered by virtually all companies. When you book the product…you need to pay right away and no change can be made to your reservation. They are often called advance purchase – non refundable rates.

You indeed booked a discounted room on a third party website, which isn't Hilton.com. They offer our rooms on non-refundable basis and indeed, this can’t be changed.

We can only recommend you book via the Hilton website directly which will offer a greater flexibility, or you book a flexible rate which allows you a much more flexible cancellation policy.

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us with the Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was the cheapest Hilton in central London at the time of booking and I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was.
The check-in clerk was excellent, very helpful and was able to recommend a restaurant.
The rooms are a bit "compact" but cleanliness and the standard of the rooms was high. I was also pleased that breakfast was included in the rate, which I hadn't expected. Also free WiFi in the rooms for all guests.
4 mins walk from Waterloo station makes it very central for both business and tourist guests.
Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Birkshire,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We will share your comments with our team, and especially with our housekeeping team which works so hard in order to make sure our rooms and public areas are `spic and span` at all times.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

New hotel,the place has no luxury but the cleaness and staff are top.Rooms were roomy, a bit functional, big enough for two people to be comfortable during the stay.Rooms are very clean and well appointed, with a great lobby.Near the subway (6 minute walk).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieven K, Operations Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Radek,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at the brand new Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again and thank you for reviewing The Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#164 of 1,072 in London
1,043 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#262 of 1,072 in London
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo

Address: 157 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £112 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a five minute walk from London Waterloo train station, the contemporary Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo hotel offers guests an elegant, yet affordable base in the heart of London; near corporate and government offices and exciting shopping, dining, nightlife and entertainment opportunities. Located south of the River Thames, near St. George’s Circus and Waterloo Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing