We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect home base for the London visitor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
Ranked #152 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A nice, quiet part of London (althoug just around the corner from the Old Vic and a 5 minute walk away from Waterloo station), the Hampton turned out to be a perfect choice for our London stay! The area is, despite being in the very heart of London, still less crowded and doean ot see too much heavy traffic. The hotel is clean, fresh, with excellent beds, good room WiFi, A/C and a generous breakfast buffe. Alll in all, a perfect base camp for all our London expeditions, we stayed for 8 nights and will most certainly come back here also next time!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FredrickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,990 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just 5 minutes away from Waterloo station, in an area of London that is more low key and small town (although only 10 minutes away from Big Ben), the Hampton is a perfect choice for the London visitor. I appreciated the well working A/C in the rooms ,which was especially appreciated in the hot summer, the Internet WiFi and the geenerous breakfast, that gives the tourisst in London a good start of a hard day of shopping and sight-seeing. Just around the corner is the Old Vic theatre, and across the street from the hotel there is a small recreation park, perfect for a lunch out in the sun.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank FredrickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Travelled to London with friends for a "grown ups "day touring the tourist sights,bars and local food markets.This hotel is in a good location 200yards from the nearest tube station. Very clean,modern rooms, and efficient polite staff,accredit to the hotel.Our room was facing the main road but you would never have known,the windows are well insulated allowing for a good quiet nights sleep in a comfortable bed.We will most most certainly be going back for a second,and maybe more visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsons060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were only in London for 2 nights for general sightseeing and thought this was a great choice. It is so convenient being right next to Waterloo station, with plenty of restaurants nearby and within walking distance of the London Eye and, if you're up to it, the Westminster area and Big Ben. The rooms are very nice and we had a beautiful view from the 8th floor. No noise, breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lmccurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I arrived at the hotel around 1130 and despite the sign being further down the side of the building than the entrance which is right on the corner of the building, entered the bright, modern lobby.
I was met by smiling Francesca at the Hilton Honors desk at the counter who welcomed me and helped me and within five minutes I was on my way up to my room (242), she had given me the option of waiting for a room on a higher floor but I had said it was fine.
Access to the floors above was accomplished using the key card in the elevator, a good security feature and once in the room, placing it in the slot near the door, the power was activated.
The room was very clean, bright and spacious with queen bed which was very comfortable as well as a lounge chair and a work desk with its own chair. There was a large flat screen TV as well as coffee/tea making supplies.
The bathroom is clearly one of the best I have had in any hotel...loved the shower which has a curved glass screen instead of a curtain. They also proved a rubber shower mat if you feel you need it.
The very large mirror has lights built into it as well as shaver plugs at the bottom. They have dispensers in the shower stall as well as near the sink for hand soap, hand lotion, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. Very large towels are supplied.
The bathroom door slides closed and when it does, it opens the closet behind it. The closet was very good for storing luggage and has an iron (with long cord), ironing board and hair dryer along with the hangers.
I was pleased that the room had multiple power outlets, more than some of the rooms I have stayed in, I counted at least 8. You will of course need your UK three prong adapter. The two at the bottom of the bathroom mirror can be a challenge to get to...if the mirror was higher it would help. (I didn't think to check to see if the mirror swung open for access mind you)
The air conditioning was a blessing in the warm London summer, it chilled the room down very well and could be adjusted or turned off. There is a room safe incorporated into the night stand next to the bed.
Housekeeping was very good and the room cleaned and freshened every day unless you leave the "Do Not Disturb" sign out and then they will leave a note on your door advising you that if you needed servicing outside normal housekeeping hours to call the front desk. A nice touch. The free WiFi was easy to connect to and very fast and reliable.
The view from my room was the back of the hotel with a parking area but I was fine with that as I did not plan to be in the room all day and it was very quiet. The curtains darkened the room very well and kept out the London summer sun which rises around 0530.
The lobby which wraps around the front desk was bright airy and spacious with a large table for reading and doing work and plenty of comfortable seating on the other side near the bar and restaurant where breakfast is served. (I never made it to breakfast) They have cold lemon water available too.
The location, while not a busy area is convenient for the bus which stops outside (Old Vic bus stop) as well as a Waterloo Station/Tube which is a short 5 minute walk down the street. There are good dining options on the other side of the park across the street on Lower Marsh Road as well as near to and inside the train station.
There is an off license liquor store/mini mart on the corner adjacent to the entrance as well as a Sainsburys Express supermarket just down the street.
The location of the hotel is good for walking to some of the sights with the Imperial War Museum and London Eye only a ten minute walk away. Westminster and Charing Cross are just across the bridges.
Check out was efficient and they called for a taxi to take me to Paddington Station (or Victoria) to head back tot the airport. Overall the hotel was a great experience and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for one night and would thoroughly recommend it. Had room on 7th floor so had great views over London including the London Eye. Beds and pillows were extremely comfy, lovely and clean, bathroom very roomy and bright, lots of toiletries, couldn't fault it at all. Breakfast in the lobby was great, bit crowded but to be expected for a London hotel, lots of choice. Plenty of room in the reception for sitting and watching the world go by. Great location, near to all the tourist things. Would be very happy to stay here again and we got it at a great price,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This was the best hotel we stayed at during our 2 week trip. We stayed for 6 nights and felt comfortable and safe. We both found the breakfast to offer enough options to keep us happy. If you eat exactly the same thing every day, you may get bored. Just change it up. The retail food and beverages are pricey. But you need not buy them as there are many options around...There is a great chip shop after the liquor store across the street. There is a tesco right across from the Waterloo tube station. We recommend tourists use the bus system as opposed to just riding the tube. You see so much more of the city. Nice job Hilton.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank orwhatuwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#267 of 1,077 in London
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo

Address: 157 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £107 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a five minute walk from London Waterloo train station, the contemporary Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo hotel offers guests an elegant, yet affordable base in the heart of London; near corporate and government offices and exciting shopping, dining, nightlife and entertainment opportunities. Located south of the River Thames, near St. George’s Circus and Waterloo Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing