We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit was a good as the first”
Review of B and B In Barnes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B and B In Barnes
Ranked #117 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was my second trip here after visiting in 2009, since my last visit the bathroom has been redone as have the rooms. I found Stella very welcoming and really enjoyed the breakfast and there was a nice pub round the corner for dinner. Really enjoyable stay and looking forward to coming back in another couple of years!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We were coming up to London for a wedding. Stella made our room available to us so that we could change into our finery. Even though it was long before the normal book in time. We had instructions on how to get the front door key from the secure box and let ourselves in.
We used public transport from Barnes station which was a short walk away. Some have complained in the past about having to walk through the "Faarest" - its not a forest its a common! When we came back at about 22:00 it was dark along the path by the common, so we walked along the pavement illuminated by street lights.
After a cool shower (it was a very hot day), we lay on our comfortable bed and had a good nights sleep despite the heat and the noise from the aeroplanes (which stop about 23:30). We come from sleepy Dorset and dont have "city noise"!
In the morning we had a very satisfying breakfast, cooked to our order.
This B&B is run from the owners home which makes it a homely experience. Everything was spotlessly clean. Stella provides a handy information pack with everything you can need to ensure your stay is a happy. Yes there are rules, but why not? That way everyone knows what is expected of them and what (as a guest) you can expect.
At the end of the day the simple question is "would we stay there again?" The answer is yes definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The room was a nice size and I had a window overlooking the road. There was no street noise. Everything was clean. I shared the loo. At times it was hard to use it because of a family staying there. Within walking distance there was a little store and a pub with good food and prices. A little further there was a large grocery store(10 min walk). I walked the path with luggage from train station. About a 10-5 min walk. It is located about 20 min out of London. Very easy to get into London. Barnes station to Waterloo and from there you could get to just about anyplace. Stella very helpful in the transport info. If you go to the little store to buy a transport card do not buy the oyster card. For the time you are there, its useless.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrcalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We received excellent travel tips (tube and bus directions) prior to our arrival. We used the tube and bus for the 50 minute ride from Heathrow. Also, there were detailed instructions how to gain entry if no one was home. Stella was away for most of our week's stay visiting relatives in the USA. She left us in care of a very personable and able housekeeper who was able to provide any breakfast we desired. We had full use of the kitchen if we had to get a very early start and could not wait for the prepared breakfast. There was no common room (living room) for guests. One night our daughter stayed in our room on a folding bed (extra 25 pounds). Beds were very comfortable. Lots of books available including many travel guides. Shared bath on our 2nd floor but with a maximum of 5 people sharing. Nice modern shower with plenty of hot water (or tub if you desired). About a 3 minute walk to bus stop and 10-15 minutes to train station. Trains and buses came so frequently we stopped looking at schedules prior to leaving the B&B. There is a local pub a couple of blocks away that is very English and totally populated by locals. Within a 10 minute bus ride radius there are several varied restaurants and pubs. The neighborhood is populated with neat homes and well taken care of gardens. Our usually AM travel routine was to catch a bus to Hammersmith Station that provided tube connections to all of London. The short walk to Barnes Train Station made it possible to go beyond London with ease. We used the London Pass for attractions and the 6 zone Travel pass - both saved us much cash. Stella took cash pounds or would take a credit card with a handling fee. We brought pounds with us from the US. All in all, we enjoyed splitting our time with downtown London and Barnes on the outskirts and would certainly stay again at B&B in Barnes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowbendUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Staying at the B&B in Barnes is like staying at a friends home. It's comfortable, Stella is accommodating and serves a good breakfast, and it's an easy walking distance to the bus, train, Thames and several local pubs. It's not a pretentious place but it's a gag bargain!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Vaughn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed in B & B in Barnes for 4 nights in July, it is a very comfortable home to stay with. Stella is very helpful and nice, it is really nice to have a warm English breakfast everyday morning. The place is very close to the bus station, it is not too far away from center of London, it takes around 40 mins to get to Buckingham Place. I would consider to stay there a 2nd time if I have a chance to visit London again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlecloud2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

i love it!! very reasonable price and location. love the hearty breakfast and super comfy bed! Stella is very kind too :) i would def stay here again when im back in london!! :D

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faithed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Richmond Inn Hotel
#10 of 14 in Richmond
196 reviews
Richmond Gate Hotel
#7 of 14 in Richmond
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#306 of 1,076 in London
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B and B In Barnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B and B In Barnes

Address: 12 Leconfield Ave, London SW13 0LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £30 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in a stylish, non-smoking family home close to Barnes station, (20 minutes Waterloo). A 10 minute bus ride to Hammersmith, and underground to centre of London - (20 minutes Piccadilly, Heathrow 35,) Near to Roehampton University, the National Tennis Centre and the London Wetlands Centre. Three rooms with 2 shared bathrooms; TV, hairdryer, and tea/coffee tray. Free wireless broadband or computer for internet access. Full English breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
b And b In Barnes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing