We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little uncomfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel London
Ranked #371 of 556 London B&B and Inns
PerthFamily5
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little uncomfortable!”
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We were a family of five staying in London overnight before catching the train from St. Pancras the following morning to Paris. Our family consists of 2 adults and 3 children aged 10,11 and 13 years. This hotel was in a great location for our needs. We shared a room in the basement with 2 double beds and 1 single bed. This hotel, although newly refurbished and clean, had the smallest double beds that I have ever slept in. This made for a very long night with fairly uncomfortable sleeping conditions even for two of my children that had to share a double bed. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone due to this reason.

  • Liked — Location to St Pancras Station
  • Disliked — Small beds
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family5Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    107
    112
    67
    99
See reviews for
79
167
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2008

By and large, a very positive experience. The staff was friendly and responsive. The complimentary breakfast was really good. It also helped that the hotel was very close to the King's Cross underground station. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Central London.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank dips1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2008

Good and clean rooms. Leave all your lodging worries once you have a booking there.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SonaliKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2008

I had stayed at Excelsior Hotel for the first time in August 2007 and I was there in that hotel for 2 months.
I was so comfortable that I opted to stay in the same hotel the second time I visited London this February.
Most important is the rooms are very clean and nice all times and the hotel staff is very cooperative.

Its in heart of London from where all major London attractions are very near by and its exactly opposite to Kings Cross station where most of the tube lines intersect.

I will recommend everyone to stay in this hotel as its best what you can get in that rates.

saurabh

  • Liked — Warmth and Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank saurabh_kale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2008

While the location of the hotel actually is pretty good (near Kings Cross), the size of the quad room of this hotel is smaller than the average car. I can only imagine what a double or single room would be like...
The breakfast facilities, the shower/toilet combination and the tidiness are of the same low quality.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank theunhappycustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

oxford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2007

I paid for a concert and stay in this hotel for a Christmas present for my boyfriend and was really disappointed with the hotel. I think for £79 it's an absolute rip off. The website makes the hotel look lovely; it's not! The room was tiny with a converted cupboard for a bathroom. no shampoo in room and they supplied the smallest towels ever that had holes in. The bathroom lock didn't work. There were staines on the bedroom walls. The sheets were clean though there were hairs in the bed. The woman we checked in with wasn't very friendly and on checking out, I rang the bell and she took the keys and shut the door. I was livid that for £80 i got the tinyest room ever. We didn't bother with breakfast!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — deceiving website!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Last August was my third stay in Argyle Square, in one of the three hotels that are managed by the same family. This time it was the Excelsior, which is affordable and strategically located near King's Cross Station and the British Library. My room was small but clean and fresh, and the staff was always kind and helpful. Breakfast is in the basement of the Argyle Hotel which is just one minute's walk from the Excelsior. I had a good time and I think I'll stay there again in the future.
Cristina (from Italy)

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Cristina-from-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#947 of 1,067 in London
279 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#809 of 1,067 in London
426 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#74 of 556 in London
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#25 of 556 in London
215 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#39 of 556 in London
742 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#76 of 556 in London
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel London

Property: Excelsior Hotel London
Address: 41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Excelsior Hotel London 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished B&B budget hotel located in Kings Cross about two minutes from St Pancras International and Kings Cross station.En suite rooms and free wifi offered in the bedroooms. We offer most importantly clean and affordable rooms in the heart of London. A truly Modern B & B hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excelsior Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing