We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small dingy and dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel London
Ranked #374 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The location is great as its across the road from the train station. When we arrived the receptionist said they had upgraded ONE of our rooms. There where 4 of us and we had all payed the same amount. He had shown us the first room which i didn't realize was in fact the upgraded room as it was small, Carpets clearly had not been hoovered the window was broken along with the ipod/music system. He then showed us to the second room which was half the size of the first.. the single beds where so small that they would be suitable for a 6 year old not an adult. So beware if you have booked for the twin room, that you are small in height and very skinny!
I found numerous hairs in the bed...Its also very very noisy so don't expect to sleep.
Radiator had duck tape wrapped around the wire to the wall... not safe.
The smallest WET ROOM i have ever seen (basically a cupboard).

Room Tip: Upgrade to the best room available as that one will be a standard room and not a cupboard with a chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manny04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest

I think you were unhappy as we could only upgrade one of your rooms for free ; and the other room which we gave you was exactly what you had booked . On all our websites we easily and clearly display our room sizes and bed sizes . We do this so that you are well informed about what you have booked.

Our rooms are serviced daily and thoroughly by our expert cleaning team and then check again by our house keeper before any guest can check in.

If there is anything you are unhappy about please let us know immediately so that we can put it right straight away. There is always a very simple solution.

The iPod dock has been checked and it works fine ( you just have to switch it on by a button located at the back ). If you wanted to use it let us know and we can show you how.We know these things can be quite tricky sometimes ; but we are here 24 hrs to help.

All other issues will be looked into and fixed straight away .

Thank you for your feedback and time taken to review our hotel

Manager

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

The location of this hotel is superb as it was less than a five minute walk away from Kings Cross station, ideal for transport links to and from and around London. Was slightly disappointed that we were unable to check in when we arrived at 11am however the guy on the reception was very friendly and let us leave our luggage in the hotel until we returned. When we returned later to check in, we had our room upgraded, so couldn't complain about that. Couldn't fault the updraged room they had given us and even had two double beds in it which we weren't expecting as there was only two of us. The room was of a good standard and really clean. The bathroom was a bit of a let down and would have been more described as a wet room. However, as we only stayed the night this wasn't a major issue for us. We would definitely stay in this hotel again if we were to come back to London for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellbong123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Location was great right next to kings cross station, but unfortunately the room was lacking... Hair dryer didn't work, the lock on the bathroom was broken and unusual smell from the shower. On our last night, the fire alarm went off at 1am and stopped after a couple of minutes. Waking us and our neighbours, nothing was said as to why the alarm went off. And finally we were based on the top, forth floor, not a problem for us but if you have difficulty using stairs maybe call before hand to check where you are placed as there is no lift.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberleyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest

thanks for your review and candid comments

Positives : Location ; Sleep Quality and cleanliness . You scored us 4/5 on these areas which I am pleased about

Negatives : Hairdryer didn't work - We regularly walk round checking these details ; however things do break - let us know immediately and we will replace it of fix it there and then . We have a team of maintenance staff on hand 24 hrs a day.
Fire Alarm went off - Apologies for this - Fire Alarms only go off if 1)there is a fire ..There was not one thankfully or 2) a guest has smoked heavily in our non smoking hotel ! We do ask all our guests to respect the hotel rules … I can only apologise for this to you . I am glad though that our manager sorted this out swiftly.

Thanks for your review

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel was in a great location for me, very close to Kings Cross underground but on a quiet street. The staff were polite and my room was spotlessly clean. I was upgraded from a single to a double room. Great value for money and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review !

Its really encouraging to read positive feedback

Patrick
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We booked a night here when we visited London for a friends birthday. We booked the hotel as it was centrally located and the pictures gave the impression the hotel was clean and modern. When we arrived we were advised that we would be relocated to a different hotel as our room had been flooded. This does seem quite a regular occurrence.... The hotel we were moved to was no better than a plywood box, which for £125 was a bit steep. I would not advise booking, we have since complained to the hotel and received a full refund.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sarah-Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest

We are really are sorry we could not accommodate you in the room you booked but there was a last minute problem which could not be fixed over night . We had to re book you into another hotel near to us and not affiliated to us.

You were given a full refund for your booking with us

I really do apologise for this

Manager

patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have stayed here many times and found it clean and comfortable (and affordable). However, this time was a farce. After moving three times because the TV didn't work, even then the remotes didn't work. No real pology for all the inconveniences and moves. Even then the room had faults. The keetle idn't ork and the knobs off the lights were missing. Smaller things perhaps, but a sign that they are missing the details and becoming somewaht compacent.
I will think twice before using them again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest

I have since contacted you directly and offered you a free upgrade to one of our superior rooms next time you stay with us . Im sorry things weren't as up to our usual standard and this was your worst stay. You have stayed with us many times and have been happy with our hotel yet never once wrote a review of these positive stays with us …. - I suppose thats there nature of review sites.

We have since made all the improvements to the basic rooms - changed all broken kettles and replaced the Tvs that aren't working properly.

We hope to do better next time and hopefully you will find the time ti share this experience also.

Thanks again

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I cannot understand the negative comments. 6 of us stayed for nearly 3 weeks in the hotel and the apartments. The place is spotless (which cannot be said for many hotels in London) and the staff are friendly,polite, and are available 24hrs a day. The owner Patrick is the most hands on I have come across in London and will bend over backwards to help with any requests you may have. The Internet (free WIFI ) is very fast, so streaming music and video is no problem. Every room has a flat screen TV, Tea,Coffee and other essentials.Those that say about noise? , your in central London not the Cotswolds so you have to expect some, saying that we had no problem at all with noise. We had to go on nights in the final week and Patrick found us rooms at the base of the hotel where we heard no noise whatsoever. I would have no hesitation recommending any of the 3 hotels they have and I will be using them every time we go to London.

Room Tip: Tell Patrick your needs and he will help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliff t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Sir

Thanks for your review !

Appreciate your feedback and candid comments ( not the Cotswolds ! )

Thanks again

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#837 of 1,076 in London
444 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#940 of 1,076 in London
292 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#83 of 566 in London
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#31 of 566 in London
232 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#98 of 566 in London
589 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#44 of 566 in London
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel London

Address: 41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £60 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Excelsior Hotel London 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished B&B budget hotel located in Kings Cross about two minutes from St Pancras International and Kings Cross station.En suite rooms and free wifi offered in the bedroooms. We offer most importantly clean and affordable rooms in the heart of London. A truly Modern B & B hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excelsior Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing