We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average "Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel London
Ranked #371 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average "Hotel"”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Came to London with my partner to stay for 4 nights. We weren't expecting much as we planned on being out in the city most of the time, and we got the room for quite cheap considering the location. (Kings Cross is great area to be in when travelling all around London. We got the train from Luton airport and it goes to Kings Cross. Also all tube stations are accessible through this station.) On arrival the hotel reception is in a different building, so the photos they show seem quite luxurious, which is not an appropriate representation to the rooms. We got room 65, up a flight of stairs, floor that shares three other rooms. It's more like a big house, refurbished, and walls put up to fit as many bedrooms as possible. Our room contained a double bed, a window looking on to the street that was shut closed, a sink, mirror, bed side table, and a tiny tv. We shared a bathroom and a shower on the floor. The room was very small indeed, though again, we weren't expecting much. The shower and bathroom were clean, also small. The staff were friendly. Nothing amazing about this hotel. The value was average, the stay was average. It's perfect for a short stay in the city.

Room Tip: We got a room with the street view. It was a nice view, nothing amazing. Could be noisy during the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siobhanor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and the time taken.

You noted our location as being unbeatable ; which we definitely agree with . We are directly opposite Kings Cross train station and from there you really can go anywhere very easily.
We are a budget hotel located in Grade 2 Listed Georgian Townhouse in the heart of central London- so our rooms are compact and clean . You booked our most economical room - which is room with shared bathroom and paid £25 per person for the night. We also have many other room options which are more luxurious and spacious . These are a bit more expensive but nevertheless good value at £50 per person. It is up to you to choose what suits you best.

We really have rooms for all types of budget and needs. If you need any help in choosing just call us and we can guide you. Our website has images and details on room sizes and bed sizes.

Thanks again for your review and time taken to do this

Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    107
    112
    67
    99
See reviews for
79
167
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is basic, clean, in a great location and a good price - everything needed for a weekend in London to do some sightseeing and wandering about. The room was a small double, and was exactly that - a double bed, a sink, a small wardrobe and a bit of space for bags etc. If you've got a lot of luggage or are keen on spreading your stuff about it might not be for you, but considering we pretty much just slept there it was ideal. On a surprisingly warm spring weekend the room was pretty cosy, so I would think they might get very hot in summer, but with the window open it was fine. The only downside was the water pressure in the shower - it could have been a little more powerful for a great shower but it didn't stop me getting washed! Would definitely book again for a short break.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the top floor to reduce noise from the street - didn't seem to be a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks so much for your positive review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found us ideal for your requirements.

I think you got it spot on !

Thanks again
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The location is great as its across the road from the train station. When we arrived the receptionist said they had upgraded ONE of our rooms. There where 4 of us and we had all payed the same amount. He had shown us the first room which i didn't realize was in fact the upgraded room as it was small, Carpets clearly had not been hoovered the window was broken along with the ipod/music system. He then showed us to the second room which was half the size of the first.. the single beds where so small that they would be suitable for a 6 year old not an adult. So beware if you have booked for the twin room, that you are small in height and very skinny!
I found numerous hairs in the bed...Its also very very noisy so don't expect to sleep.
Radiator had duck tape wrapped around the wire to the wall... not safe.
The smallest WET ROOM i have ever seen (basically a cupboard).

Room Tip: Upgrade to the best room available as that one will be a standard room and not a cupboard with a chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manny04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest

I think you were unhappy as we could only upgrade one of your rooms for free ; and the other room which we gave you was exactly what you had booked . On all our websites we easily and clearly display our room sizes and bed sizes . We do this so that you are well informed about what you have booked.

Our rooms are serviced daily and thoroughly by our expert cleaning team and then check again by our house keeper before any guest can check in.

If there is anything you are unhappy about please let us know immediately so that we can put it right straight away. There is always a very simple solution.

The iPod dock has been checked and it works fine ( you just have to switch it on by a button located at the back ). If you wanted to use it let us know and we can show you how.We know these things can be quite tricky sometimes ; but we are here 24 hrs to help.

All other issues will be looked into and fixed straight away .

Thank you for your feedback and time taken to review our hotel

Manager

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The location of this hotel is superb as it was less than a five minute walk away from Kings Cross station, ideal for transport links to and from and around London. Was slightly disappointed that we were unable to check in when we arrived at 11am however the guy on the reception was very friendly and let us leave our luggage in the hotel until we returned. When we returned later to check in, we had our room upgraded, so couldn't complain about that. Couldn't fault the updraged room they had given us and even had two double beds in it which we weren't expecting as there was only two of us. The room was of a good standard and really clean. The bathroom was a bit of a let down and would have been more described as a wet room. However, as we only stayed the night this wasn't a major issue for us. We would definitely stay in this hotel again if we were to come back to London for a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellbong123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Location was great right next to kings cross station, but unfortunately the room was lacking... Hair dryer didn't work, the lock on the bathroom was broken and unusual smell from the shower. On our last night, the fire alarm went off at 1am and stopped after a couple of minutes. Waking us and our neighbours, nothing was said as to why the alarm went off. And finally we were based on the top, forth floor, not a problem for us but if you have difficulty using stairs maybe call before hand to check where you are placed as there is no lift.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest

thanks for your review and candid comments

Positives : Location ; Sleep Quality and cleanliness . You scored us 4/5 on these areas which I am pleased about

Negatives : Hairdryer didn't work - We regularly walk round checking these details ; however things do break - let us know immediately and we will replace it of fix it there and then . We have a team of maintenance staff on hand 24 hrs a day.
Fire Alarm went off - Apologies for this - Fire Alarms only go off if 1)there is a fire ..There was not one thankfully or 2) a guest has smoked heavily in our non smoking hotel ! We do ask all our guests to respect the hotel rules … I can only apologise for this to you . I am glad though that our manager sorted this out swiftly.

Thanks for your review

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel was in a great location for me, very close to Kings Cross underground but on a quiet street. The staff were polite and my room was spotlessly clean. I was upgraded from a single to a double room. Great value for money and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review !

Its really encouraging to read positive feedback

Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We booked a night here when we visited London for a friends birthday. We booked the hotel as it was centrally located and the pictures gave the impression the hotel was clean and modern. When we arrived we were advised that we would be relocated to a different hotel as our room had been flooded. This does seem quite a regular occurrence.... The hotel we were moved to was no better than a plywood box, which for £125 was a bit steep. I would not advise booking, we have since complained to the hotel and received a full refund.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah-Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest

We are really are sorry we could not accommodate you in the room you booked but there was a last minute problem which could not be fixed over night . We had to re book you into another hotel near to us and not affiliated to us.

You were given a full refund for your booking with us

I really do apologise for this

Manager

patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#947 of 1,067 in London
279 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#809 of 1,067 in London
426 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#74 of 556 in London
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#25 of 556 in London
215 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#39 of 556 in London
742 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#76 of 556 in London
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel London

Property: Excelsior Hotel London
Address: 41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Excelsior Hotel London 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished B&B budget hotel located in Kings Cross about two minutes from St Pancras International and Kings Cross station.En suite rooms and free wifi offered in the bedroooms. We offer most importantly clean and affordable rooms in the heart of London. A truly Modern B & B hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excelsior Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing