We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First of Many Visits (I Hope!)”

The Sam Wanamaker Playhouse
Ranked #92 of 343 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First of Many Visits (I Hope!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Brilliant theatre space. The Duchess of Malfi, excellent entertainment watched from the front of the pit. Very atmospheric in the candle-light (although I did get dripped on several times by candle wax, which made me jump out of my skin!). The bench seating is a bit uncomfortable but the benefit of being so close to the stage, outweighed the discomfort! Super performances - David Dawson wonderfully creepy, Alex Waldmann effortlessly charming and Gemma Arterton stunning. Great night out, can't wait for a return visit, but will probably take a cushion!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank beekay50uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    32
    13
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very cute small theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Beautiful reconstruction of a theatre - well worth a trip. Best seats are probably first gallery at the front - we were top gallery but at the front so we saw the show well (if a bit of leaning forward). Eileen Atkins as Ellen Terry was superb!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Salilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“An amazing new theatre for London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This theatre was only opened a few weeks ago. Originally on this Thames riverside site there had been an open-air theatre and a roofed theatre. The Globe open-air amphitheatre was opened 17 years ago and now today we have the opening of this recreated theatre. What a marvellous experience they have given us. It's a small and intimate wooden building, that is lit entirely by candle-light. We saw The Duchess of Malfi, an experience that was thoroughly enjoyed. You really felt as if you had gone back in time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
194 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful candlelit ambience, perfect acoustics enhanced by wooden frame”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This theatre, based on 16th century designs, is going to change the way we experience dramatic performances. Small and intimate, encased in an elegant wooden frame that enhances acoustics, and lit entirely by chandeliers with candles, it creates an otherworldly atmosphere that absorbs the viewer into a magic world. The production of The Duchess of Malfi was excellent and entirely appropriate as the opening play of this superb venue. Thank you, Globe!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank OlgaP319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sam Wanamaker Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Sam Wanamaker Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing