We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grange Blooms Hotel
Ranked #572 of 1,069 Hotels in London
England
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location but...”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Our reservation at the Grange Blooms Hotel was made through our place of work so we hadnt done research etc like usual before booking a hotel. The location is fantastic, on Russell Square and close to major attractions. Montague street is relatively quiet in the evenings so noise was never an issue. The Hotel itself is lovely, traditional with original features, the twin room was a decent size and the bathroom was more than adequate. One of the main issues we found was the heat in the bedrooms, only one window opened (which looked like it was about to fall off) and there was no air conditioning available, we made use of the electric fan but it just circulated hot air, when it was 31 degrees outside it seemed even hotter in the bedroom.

The staff were all extremely friendly and went out of their way to ensure you had a good stay. The breakfast was very expensive, £17 for continental and over £22 for a full english breakfast. If our breakfast wasnt already paid for we would have gone elsewhere for food as Russell Square has plenty of places to eat, paying that amount for breakfast seems crazy when it wasnt anything special.

Apart from the little niggles it was a nice hotel in a great location (right behind the British Museum) but I feel if you want value for money there are better hotels to choose from. It wouldnt be at the top of my recommendation list but it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: The street is quiet so any room on the front or back of the hotel would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sianypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    131
    63
    16
    17
See reviews for
30
130
15
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed for two nights, on the whole I would recommend this place, it's location is excellent, rooms and hotel clean and tidy, very corteous and helpful staff, and it was reasonably priced for central London. Breakfast was good, though B&B rate only gives you continental breakfast and you have to pay extra for full English.

I stayed in a double room as I was alone it was fine, but would be a bit tight for a couple, you can use the sister hotel next door for bar etc which was useful.

Points for attention and which lets it down a bit, room was very hot, uncomfortably so, even with window open. Having to pay for wifi was a let down, most hotels offer free. Attention to detail would help, in room had bulb out both days and hair dryer not working.

All in all a decent hotel, good price and great location, but it lets itseld down a little, worth booking though and I would visit again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great spot, we walked to almost every thing. I would never recommend this hotel though, the rooms were so incredibly hot. We had the window wide open, deals pulled open and the ceiling fan going and we were still hot. The receptionist even suggested another hotel of theirs that had air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pjsmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

firstly a nice small hotel which is very clean and in a good location

do not stay here when its hot in london as the hotel does not have air-con
i stayed in room 107 which has a lovely bath tub which as about as much use as a chocolate fireguard (how can you have a bath when the plug doesn't work)

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jeans-r-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent three nights in a room on the top floor overlooking the back of the British Museum.
This hotel is in a great location for Central London and is generally clean and well presented but unfortunately was let down but a number of issues:

We had pre-booked dinner in the hotel on the Friday night, which was shown on our booking confirmation, so we were somewhat surprised and disappointed to be told that we had to make our way to a sister hotel for dinner. This was only about 5mins walk away but when reached the other hotel, the staff claimed not to be expecting us! Eventually it was sorted out and we had a reasonable meal before returning to our own hotel. It was a damp and dreary evening and to have to trudge backwards and forwards between hotels did not make a great start to our weekend.

Probably the biggest downside to this hotel is the noisy plumbing: there is some kind of waste water pump in the bathrooms that kicks in the instant a tap is turned on. The walls between the rooms on the floor we stayed are quite thin so you can hear people in the adjoining rooms - including their bathroom visits...

There was fresh fruit in the room on arrival and a complimentary newspaper outside the door on Saturday and Monday which was nice, but minor niggles include:
- no bottled water in the room
- internet access is not included in the price
- no aircon (not to much a problem as it was quite a damp and chilly weekend)
- the net curtain at the sash window was grimy, yellowed and full of holes
- overpriced and tired looking continental breakfast

We had to leave by 6:30am on the Monday so felt really bad for our fellow guests who would no doubt have been disturbed by our use of the shower.

All in all, although this is in a perfect location for exploring London we are unlikely to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rednoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

hotel very clean our rooms were lovely we were upgrade to the Lords room. My husband and I stayed here with my mam and dad for 2 nights staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast very nice. Would definitey go back (location great next to British Museum)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, NC
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was our second stay here, and although we love the location (right in back of the British Museum), it was much more expensive to stay here on a Monday night than our previous visit (a Sunday night), probably due to business travelers. Breakfast was exhorbitant: 17 pounds for Continental; 25 pounds for a cooked breakfast! We ate out at a local cafe for less than 15 pounds for a Full English Breakfast for both of us!

The rooms are nice, but beware: no air conditioning! Staff at the desk varies in friendliness; some are nice, some are business-like.

The location is great, and the price is fairly good for London.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#588 of 1,069 in London
638 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#506 of 1,069 in London
537 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#300 of 1,069 in London
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#617 of 1,069 in London
176 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#579 of 1,069 in London
161 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#596 of 1,069 in London
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Blooms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Blooms Hotel

Property: Grange Blooms Hotel
Address: 7 Montague Street | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#322 Romantic Hotel in London
#343 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Blooms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in elegant 18th-century Townhouse with period furnishings, set in the heart of literary Bloomsbury near the British Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange Blooms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Blooms London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing