We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prince performing live in a stunning intimate venue like The Matcham Room at The Hippodrome Casino will forever be one of the be”
Review of Hippodrome Casino

Hippodrome Casino
Ranked #177 of 1,608 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The UK's largest and most popular casino. No membership, walk in freely, open 24/7, 6 bars, Pokerstars cash poker deck, award-winning Heliot Steak House, cabaret theatre, 2 smoking terraces & 3 floors of gambling. Great fun for gamblers and people just out for a good time. Shows all the best American sports, including all NFL games. International Vegas style regulations. The Hippodrome is one of the most widely recognised entertainment landmarks in the capital. Originally a variety theatre and home to the world-renowned Talk Of The Town, it is now the most famous casino and entertainment venue in the country and recently won Best Casino Operator in Europe 2015. A £50m renovation reinstated many of the theatre's original Edwardian architectural features, creating a unique venue that combines four floors of world class casino gaming with live theatre, an award winning steak house, six bars and a two tier smoking terrace. Since its opening in July 2012 the Hippodrome has attracted 5 million visitors, a combination of dedicated and casual gamers, theatregoers, business and tourist audiences and those keen to view one of the most spectacular venues in London. It is testament to the success of the Hippodrome that it was the venue pop superstar Prince chose to play his final UK gig in his 2014 tour.
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prince performing live in a stunning intimate venue like The Matcham Room at The Hippodrome Casino will forever be one of the be”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great venue! Perfect sound, lighting, sight lines, service and atmosphere. Loved it!! You can't go wrong; especially with such a great and central location. Not to mention the 24hr license :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RossDines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear RossDines. Thank you for the great review. Our matcham room is awesome and to have a star like Prince in such a setting was incredible. Plenty more stars coming up, don't miss Cristiana Bianco in September, she is incredible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    201
    59
    23
    52
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool Casino!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Really nice casino, and if your into gambling, would recommend this place. It has a really nice lay-out, and an inviting atmosphere! Don't take any pictures though, one of the bouncers told me off for doing so!!

Just know when to quit, but over-all, cool place all the same :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobbieL600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Robbie. Thanks for your review, it sounded like you really liked the Hippodrome so not sure why we only achieved 3 stars from you. feel free to reconsider!. if it is because you were asked not to take photos, it is only of people gambling as they do not like it and we have to respect their wishes, and there are plenty of notices accordingly, if other please let me know, info@hippodromecasino.com. yours slightly disappointingly. Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic night at a wonderful venue.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I visited the theatre at the Hippodrome last night with friends - probably my 8th or 9th visit but easily the best so far. Fernando Montano was amazing and his rock/dance duet with Roxy Music's Phil Manzanera was incredibly special, but all the performers were so talented that it made for a really joyous evening and it was great to see so much raised for the Children of the Andes charity. I only discovered the venue a year ago but it is pretty much unrivaled in London as the shows are so intimate. Full credit to the staff as well - everything went smoothly, the food was good, drinks not too badly priced, service excellent, atmosphere great and even though I loathe casinos this place has won me over on the first floor theatre and bar. But ....... I wish I had been there to see Prince !!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketJames48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your super review and delighted you enjoyed the event on Sunday, it was awesome and finished off an extraordinary week with Burlesque, Prince, Rat Pack, UFC world final weigh in and more. Your comment on Casinos is interesting and i am delighted you see that the Hippodrome is so much more than a casino and offers something for everyone in a great iconic London Landmark. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hip hip hooray”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

5 stars on all fronts, a wonderful restaurant, great value, impeccable service with steaks rivalling the best in London. The cabaret bar was the perfect setting for some world class entertainment, booming sound and bar service that kept drinks flowing all evening. The only regret of the evening is not having the time to play a few hands in the casino. Electric atmosphere, a treat for the senses, all in all an institution of British entertainment!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Bradley.
Love your review. The Hippodrome is a British institution and we are delighted to have made it back to being a world class entertainment venue for London and that you had such a great experience there. thank you for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“THE PLACE TO GO....”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had the most WONDERFUL night ever at The Hippodrome! The food was superb and incredible VFM. Staff attentive and very polite. Nothing bad to say. Evening topped off with VIP seats watching the legend that is PRINCE no less! FANTASTIC NIGHT OUT WITH EXCELLENT WINE AND FOOD. HUGE RECOMMENDATION (and I am one of life's VERY FUSSY people!).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CAB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear CAB.
Sounds like you had a great evening at the Hippodrome which is what we are all about, and having seen Prince as well I can share your enthusiasm, he was awesome. We have other great cabarets as well, and more big names coming, so do come again. Thank you again for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippodrome Casino also viewed

 

Been to Hippodrome Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing