We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific venue in the heart of London.”
Review of Hippodrome Casino

Hippodrome Casino
Ranked #179 of 1,616 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The UK's largest and most popular casino. No membership, walk in freely, open 24/7, 6 bars, Pokerstars cash poker deck, award-winning Heliot Steak House, cabaret theatre, 2 smoking terraces & 3 floors of gambling. Great fun for gamblers and people just out for a good time. Shows all the best American sports, including all NFL games. International Vegas style regulations. The Hippodrome is one of the most widely recognised entertainment landmarks in the capital. Originally a variety theatre and home to the world-renowned Talk Of The Town, it is now the most famous casino and entertainment venue in the country and recently won Best Casino Operator in Europe 2015. A £50m renovation reinstated many of the theatre's original Edwardian architectural features, creating a unique venue that combines four floors of world class casino gaming with live theatre, an award winning steak house, six bars and a two tier smoking terrace. Since its opening in July 2012 the Hippodrome has attracted 5 million visitors, a combination of dedicated and casual gamers, theatregoers, business and tourist audiences and those keen to view one of the most spectacular venues in London. It is testament to the success of the Hippodrome that it was the venue pop superstar Prince chose to play his final UK gig in his 2014 tour.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific venue in the heart of London.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Entering into the world of the Hippodrome in London is an experience in itself.
Alive and vibrant with a professional and welcoming atmosphere.
The purpose of our visit was to see the very talented, modern jazz, rock, blues, soul singer, Sarah Jane Morris and the equally talented band perform songs from her new album, Bloody Rain. This is a fabulous, intimate venue with efficient friendly staff. We ordered two bottles of white wine which is very reasonably priced considering the ambience and location. The Hippodrome boasts a restaurant serving lobster & steak which looked very appetising. The roulette tables were professionally run. Overall, we had a fabulous evening and Sarah Janes performance as always was second to none.
Catherine Sue,Sheila and Norma from NewZealand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sue. I really appreciate your great review of the Hippodrome casino. What we offer is so different from the traditional UK casinos as we opened after the regulations changed and we have taken full advantages of the changes and offer so much more, with bars, steakhouse, pokerstars, lounges and great casino. Coming from NZ you appreciate world class Casino assets and it is super that you rate the Hippodrome so well. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    202
    59
    23
    53
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“May the odds be ever in your favour!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Since the Hippodrome reopened in 2011, it continues to improve inside, with its amazing steakhouse, live cabaret, fun roulette tables, and bar upstairs, the hippodrome is a brilliant place to spend an evening once in a while.

It's a really exciting and fun place to go with friends, family, or an upmarket stag or hen do.

The staff are friendly and will help you with a flutter, however, please gamble responsibly, as I leave you with a piece of advice my grandfather gave me... "If don't try and take their money, they won't try and take yours"

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank misterlondon2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear mister london. Great review, love it. We have been continually working to create a fabulous Hippodrome experience and improve it as we go along and reviews like yours really help as it shows we are doing things right. Your advice on Gambling is also sound, people come to the Hippodrome for a blast of excitement and energy, with money they are happy to spend for the experience and that works well for us, and some do win!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If You Fany a Flutter”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you do, head down to The Hippodrome. Apart from being a pretty impressive building right in the heart of London it's a excellent place to head to for a drink, some food, a bit of gambling or some entertainment. The service is excellent, the staff friendly and the casino is inviting... just know when to quit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 19yumyum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review. Delighted you had a good time and your positive comments most welcome, come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ATILA SINGS NAT KING COLE”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Went along last night to see this brilliant singer doing some of Nat King Cole classics. The show was 2 hours with a 15 minute break and Atila captivated the audience while on stage. The Matcham Room is a very intimate room serving food and drink all the way through the performance. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much for them. The show finishes at 10pm but stay around the bar too see acrobats, jugglers and the best person I've ever seen do card tricks. Well worth a visit for those who don't gamble but want a great night out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Shawn. thanks for the great review. the Hippodrome is a great palace of varieties, casino, bars, restaurant and world class acts like Atila, plus people Like Laura our Magician who adds another dimension. Do come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prince performing live in a stunning intimate venue like The Matcham Room at The Hippodrome Casino will forever be one of the be”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great venue! Perfect sound, lighting, sight lines, service and atmosphere. Loved it!! You can't go wrong; especially with such a great and central location. Not to mention the 24hr license :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RossDines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Hippodrome Casino, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear RossDines. Thank you for the great review. Our matcham room is awesome and to have a star like Prince in such a setting was incredible. Plenty more stars coming up, don't miss Cristiana Bianco in September, she is incredible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippodrome Casino also viewed

 

Been to Hippodrome Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing