We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful contemporary art and it's free!!”
Review of Saatchi Gallery

Saatchi Gallery
Ranked #91 of 1,611 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Contemporary art from unknown designers and artists from all over the world
Pulborough
Level Contributor
235 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful contemporary art and it's free!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had an hour to kill after lunch and before a theatre production and noticed this gallery was free, so went in. We were not disappointed! Helpful staff and a huge variety of art work to view. We particularly loved the huge ants on display as you walk in on the left, by Rafael Gomezbarros, amazing! This whole gallery gives a feeling of space and light and was a pleasure to be in a gallery and not be overwhelmed by crowds.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    292
    76
    27
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Richard Wilson installation ”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

A couple of great installations but not overwhelmed with anything else. Worth the visit just for those though. Would recommend anyone in the area with a free hour visit. Staff are quite obnoxious though.

Helpful?
Thank Darbo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“My second favorite London Gallery”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A truly wonderful building in a fabulous location, if contemporary art is your thing this is the place to visit... and it's free! A huge spacious building full of interesting art, exhibitions constantly changing, something fresh every time I visit. Free membership gets you invites to private views too. Great for tourists and Londoners alike, I go frequently and have never seen it crowded unlike Tate Modern which is usually rammed, the middle classes seem to use it as a creche. The Saatchi is my second favorite gallery in London only just behind The Hayward Gallery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jherek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best art gallery in London”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Saatchi Gallery never disappoints. I have been so many times to visit the different exhibitions, some of which I have liked more than others. The Gallery however is always a pleasant environment, bright, not too crowded. As with art (especially modern/contemporary art) you may not like some of the works on display, but one way or another Saatchi Gallery will always surprise you. The huge rooms allow for display of huge works, which means the visitor can have the perfect all-round experience. Exhibitions are free, so it is always a good option to look inside and browse the works - if you do not like the particular exhibition you can quickly leave and come back for the next one!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank orchid5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fascination”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It is a beautiful and interesting art gallery.
I would recommend it to Londoners or people that lives in London (but mainly for art' lovers) and you want to escape from the most turisty attraction in London.
Mainly is about latin american artists and arts; thus it is different from the most popular galleries such as Tate. It is worth it if you are looking for something different.
It has also a beautiful little park and a cafe. Great place for a different afternoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CinziaMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saatchi Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Saatchi Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing