We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and well presented hotel...but small rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
Ranked #316 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean and well presented hotel...but small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

As you will no doubt read, my review echos a lot of what others have said.

The Good
- Fantastic Location - 2 mins walk from Bayswater tube, 5 mins walk from Queensway
- Very smart inside - modern feel
- Friendly staff
- Quietish area

The Less Than Good (not bad !)
- Tiny rooms
- Tube noise

I stayed here for 1 night with work after an awards ceremony at the grovesnor house hotel. I was upgraded to a club room which was nice on the 4th floor. Didn't use the hotel for anything other that sleeping, but the bed was very comfortable. Room was full of all brand new items incl big flat screen tv. Bathroom was tiny but shower was quite powerful.

In all great for 1 person. 2 people would find it a bit clostrophic after a whil. Perfectly fine for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMothersele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAFHPI, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, 15 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International.
We appreciate your comments and take immense pleasure to learn that were able to meet your expectations during your visit to London.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Shaftesbury Hyde Park International.

Thanks and Regards,
Mangesh Senjit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    516
    194
    76
    98
See reviews for
154
618
147
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

The location is great. Close to the two tubes lines. Beautiful tree lined street. The beds are extremley small (smaller than a double). My husband and I are normal sized people, every night we ended falling out of the bed. The mattress is larger than the base so every time you rolled over - off the bed we went. I'm aware that the standard room size in London is small, however this was smaller than small. With 2 suitcases staying for 4 nights it became very difficult... Our shower leaked water in 2 places which made the floor always wet. The service was good but found the language barrier difficult with some reception employees as they didn't speak English or couldn't give us information on which bus / tube lines to get on to go the major attractions. (We are Australian) Also we are still waiting for the ice to be delivered to our room...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtritten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAFHPI, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, 15 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International.
We appreciate your comments and take immense pleasure to learn that were able to meet your expectations during your visit to London.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Shaftesbury Hyde Park International.

Thanks and Regards,
Mangesh Senjit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Arrived at 1030pm. Made to wait 'while we check your booking' regardless of the fact I had a prepaid receipt with my order number, name and all details correct. 10 minutes later offered a cup of tea and 5 minutes after that told a taxi would be 16 minutes to take me to a sister hotel as "there was a problem with the water" despite the fact I was sat in the lobby and could see other guests coming and going. It is now 1055pm and I still not in bed. Absolute disgrace. Owners should be ashamed AVOID.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

compact room as you would expect in london, very clean , great bathroom, plenty of toiletries and v good power shower. staff were extremely polite and very helpful when we asked to be moved from the room immediately outside the 'beeping' lift (we were moved within 5 minutes). It's not a quiet street, you will have outside noise but then you are in a central bus area. 2 minute walk to Bayswater tube and 4 mins to Queensway. Loads of places to eat just round the corner and Hyde Park at the end of the street. Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkbubbles68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

A friend and i stayed here for one night on a trip to london. The negative points were that there was building work going on outside which was noisy in reception and when you left the building. We also had a wonderful view of an air conditioning unit! However, the good points really outweighed the bad. I think we must have been upgraded as we were given the club room which has the most massive bed- it was wider than it was long! I agree with the previous review that the rooms are quiet small, but this doesn't bother me in the slightest. I'm more concerned with cleanliness, and it was spotless. the staff were nice enough. Free Wifi which works fine, even from the 4th floor.You could never fault this hotel for its location as it was so central, about one minute away from bayswater tube station, from which you have access to the whole of london from. Overall, we had a great overnight stay, particularly for the money we paid, it was so cheap! well impressed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank froxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked this hotel on Late Rooms dot com at a ridiculous reduction from £359 to £59 for a double deluxe room! So the catch is I don't think it is a Deluxe room at all but a plain old Standard one with no room to swing a cat. For Deluxe I expect more room than that even at that price. Don't get me wrong the place is modern, has all mod cons and clean but not comfortable. The check in process was poor as staff were unhelpful and rude. Find somewhere else if you can!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller580419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

I've stayed in Shaftesbury Hyde Park International couple of times. I was surprised to see all the negative reviews. It has the perfect location, one of the cheapest rates for the hotel in central London and its very clean. I agree, the rooms are small, but in the 5 star hotels that cost times more the rooms might be not much bigger.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aluasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#199 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#368 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Hyde Park International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Property: Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
Address: 52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#228 Luxury Hotel in London
#254 Business Hotel in London
#351 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Hyde Park International 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shaftesbury Hyde Park International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel London
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing