We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very basic - never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Ranked #401 of 1,063 Hotels in London
chelmsford, essex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very very basic - never again”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot with work and write a lot of reviews, but this time I am just going to bullet point why this hotel is so poor.

1- no air con, not good when you are put in the basement. They gave me a fan from their office. So hot that I couldn't sleep.
2 - furniture looks like it was purchased from a charity shop
3- hotel looks very dated and old with stains on all carpets
4- very expensive at £190 per night
5 - view from room was terrible, backed on building work
6 - bathroom the size of an aeroplane toilet
7 - borrowed iron that worked as well as a house brick
8 - breakfast very basic, coffee machine didn't work, eggs, salami and cereal seemed to be the common theme.

I gave it 2 stars purely for location. If you are a tourist this is a good place to base yourself, however if I was you I will base yourself further out and enjoy a lot higher quality for the same money. The tube is easy to navigate!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank bustergrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christos P, General Manager at Days Inn London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear bustergrey

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I was naturally extremely disappointed to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Unfortunately we do not have air-conditioning throughout the hotel but we do have fans available on request. I apologise that the furniture at the time of your stay did not meet your expectations, we have recently replaced and renewed much of our furniture. We have also had our annual carpet cleaning company shampoo the carpet,beds, curtains and furniture. We do have rooms on higher floors which are available on request and offer a better view.

All of our irons work well but we will investigate your comments further. Unfortunately, you stayed at a time that our coffee machine was out of order which is rare and we have since replaced the coffee machine and complimentary teas and coffees were available from the bar area.

Thank you once again for your time. I do hope that in fact you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Days Inn Hyde Park in the future.

Best regards
Christos Protopapas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    464
    237
    68
    34
See reviews for
300
244
125
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights the last week in May and found it to be just perfect. We used the Heathrow Express which made it a short 15 minutes to get from the airport to Paddington and then a short walk to the hotel. Using the Tube at Paddington made getting around London a breeze even for those of us that have not done a lot of traveling! The hotel was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast was great (don't know what the complaints are that I see on other posts), and the wifi in my room worked great. Room was small but sufficient for the amount we were in it. I would absolutely book a room here the next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We took our 8 year old nephew to London to see the sites in half term, the hotel was easy to find & only 5 mins from Paddington tube/main line station so was in easy reach of all that London has to offer. The hotel offered a good choice for the continental breakfast, so we were fuelled up for the day. The only downsides to the hotel were the steep & cornering stairwell down to breakfast, the signage doesn't tell you that as you open the door the top corner step is upon you, beware! & the 3/4 beds for adults were ok as were both slim, but not great if you're of a larger frame or like us used to a king size at home. Bathroom also not for the larger frame but all facilities were very good & in working order, free wifi gave decent coverage too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stopped here on business and the location is great just off Edgeware Road, easy access by tube and bus. the hotel was ok, clean, room was well laid out if a little small (single). Big problem was could not access wifi in my room had to go into bar, which is very small. Breakfast was not up to much either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christos P, General Manager at Days Inn London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear theclarks

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay.

I am glad that you found our location convenient for your needs. Days Inn Hyde Park is located three minutes from Paddington Station which is ideal for both business travelers and tourists alike with easy access to all the major sites which London has to offer.

Our rooms are the standard size for Central London. As you noted, our housekeeping team do maintain high standards of cleanliness throughout the hotel.

I apologise for the inconveniences you faced during your stay due to the wi-fi issues. We have just upgraded our wi-fi system installing much stronger access points throughout the hotel compared to what we had installed previously. Our Continental Buffet Breakfast serves a variety of items including: a variety of cereals, hams, cheeses, yogurts, olives, pastries, breads, jams and fruits as well as a variety of juices, teas and coffees.

Please accept my sincere apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Days Inn Hyde Park and be able to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Christos Protopapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Comfortable hotel and very clean. Walking distance to hyde park, Kensington Palace, Harrods. Free breakfast and internet. Staff very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was quite sufficient and the service was great.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street which was great for the view but the traffic was rather noisy especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northalaskachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very clean and modern, all the staff where very friendly and helpful, very close to paddington tube station and lots of places to eat close by, continental breakfast with lots of choice of fruits, yogurt , cereal , boiled eggs toast, meats and cross ants , cheese and biscuits and drinks, had a lovely stay and re booked. Would recommend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
The Darlington Hyde Park
#207 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rhodes Hotel
#307 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#202 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#470 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn London Hyde Park

Property: Days Inn London Hyde Park
Address: 148-152 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#296 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn London Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in beautiful Sussex Gardens, Days Inn London Hyde Park hotel is the perfect spot to launch your London getaway. You will enjoy being so close to the hottest shopping, restaurants and attractions the city has to offer when you stay at our London, UK, hotel near Hyde Park.Our non-smoking hotel in London provides value in a prime spot of the city, just four minutes from Paddington Station. Before heading out, get your day started with free continental breakfast. After a long day, relax in our on-site lounge and unwind with movies on your LCD flat-screen TV. A free continental buffet breakfast is included and free Wi-Fi Internet access makes it easy to check email and stay on top of the news. We offer laundry and dry cleaning service and a business center. Parking is limited, however alternative options are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Days Inn London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn London Hyde Park Hotel London
Day London
Days Hotel London Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing