We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ben, Nic and Barney, the perfect hosts of our perfect London stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Griffin House Holiday Apartments
Ranked #68 of 862 Speciality Lodging in London
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Ben, Nic and Barney, the perfect hosts of our perfect London stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We chose to stay in Stockwell due to its proximity to Vauxhall and the fact that Stockwell station gave us access to two underground lines. Griffin House stood out as the best accommodation by far and we weren’t disappointed.

Ben gave us multiple options on getting to Griffin House and we chose the tube as we had pre-purchased Octopus cards before flying to the UK. We were easily able to negotiate the turnstyles and stairs at the tube stations although I wouldn’t suggest this option for people travelling with a lot of luggage or with any kind of walking difficulties. The walk from Stockwell tube to Stockwell Green where Griffin House is located took about 10 minutes (walking slowly).

We arrived at about 10.30am and were met at the door by Ben. Ben told us that the previous guests had left early and that the cleaner was just about done. Wow!! So he led us out into the gorgeous tropical (yes, in London) backyard where we sat and waited for maybe 15 minutes. There we met Barney, THE coolest dog. Ben’s partner Nic came up and let us know that the apartment was ready and helped us with our bags and ran through everything we needed to know.

We booked the garden apartment. It has dual access – a front door down about four steps from the front path and access to the backyard up a similar number of steps, a kitchen dining room that looks up into the garden, living room that also looks up to the garden, two bedrooms and bathroom. The backyard is truly an oasis, we could have been in Australia. Oh, and there is a chook house with three chickens. Loved it.

The apartment has everything you need for as long a stay as you want. You could just move in and stay forever. Tea, coffee, sugar, milk, even a bowl of fruit were all provided for us in the kitchen.

The guys gave us advice on where to eat, what to see, what to do. They were fantastic. Even more amazing was they were arranging their wedding for the weekend following our stay. I would have been frantic.

The local area was very quiet. The bed was comfy, water in the shower was hot, spectacular garden just what we needed to come home to and relax in after five very intensive days of racing around London.

We highly recommend Griffin House to anyone visiting London and when we return to London we will be contacting Ben and Nic (and of course Barney) to hopefully stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
41
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We recently stayed at Griffin House, and after the reviews on Trip Advisor our expectations were high. First off, the apartments are great for the extra space you have, and the ability to cook your own meals is a great bonus. Nic and Ben are great hosts are will help with transport, taxis, information etc. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and Griffin House, whilst not in an upmarket part of town, is in a great location for quick journey times into the city.

However, keep in mind that Griffin House is completely self catering - so whilst the boys do leave milk and some fruit on your arrival - you will need everything else. We expected to provide all our own food, but would have thought that some basic toiletries - even a bar of soap - would have been provided. Its a small point, but soap isnt normally something you carry around with you on your journies, nor are face towels or flannels - when asked for one we were met with a perplexing look.

There were a couple of things that unfortunately didnt meet the standard of the reviews on here. Firstly - was the cleanliness of the apartment, yes it had been cleaned, but its the "long term" build up of normal living that has to be addressed. The carpet in the bedroom needed a good steam clean, as did cleaning along the skirtings, and under and behind furniture, and the base of the shower on the outside was clearly showing the signs of long term grime build up.

Next - the shower in the garden apartment is tiny - its impossible to bend over in the shower - it was just over 2 feet square - possibly standard size in London - but way smaller than any shower we have encountered anywhere.

Lastly if your a light sleeper then dont stay in the garden apartment - you hear every foot step upstairs - including those at 1am. The timber floors upstairs do nothing to stop the noise - if your in doubt then stay in the upstairs apartment.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perthguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
griffinhouseowner, Owner at Griffin House Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
We would like to thank the reviewer for the positive things that he said about Griffin House. However, we are sorry to hear that some elements of his stay did not live up to his expectations. We would like to respond to the specific points he raised.

Griffin House Holiday Apartments are completely self-catering. As a service to our guests, we provide fresh fruit, tea, coffee and fresh milk on arrival. When in season we are happy to give our guests fresh eggs from our chickens and fruit and vegetables from the garden too. We provide bed linen, towels and soap but in common with nearly all self-catering accommodation in the UK, we do not provide ‘flannels’ (wash cloths) as these are regarded as personal items here in Europe.

Cleanliness is a top priority for us here at Griffin House. Carpets are deep cleaned regularly and the rooms are always thoroughly cleaned and dusted. As our apartments are booked throughout the year there are occasional signs of wear and tear, which we rectify as soon as they become apparent.

The shower room in the Garden Apartment is no smaller than in many homes in London and is bigger than in many hotels. Photos of the shower room can be seen on our website.

Finally, with reference to the remarks about noise from the floor above the apartment. Griffin House was built in 1790 - you will hear occasional noise transference from the floors. For most of our guests this has never been an issue, but we are sorry that the reviewer was disturbed by this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We would like to say thanks for a lovely holiday to Ben and Nic who own and run this lovely apartment in Stockwell. We had the garden apartment and everything was just fabulous. I always know a good place when we arrive and our two year daughter just settles right in. Barney the labrdoodle also helped on this occasion!! We had everyting we needed and it was so good of Ben and Nic to provide a welcome pack in the cupboards and milk in the fridge etc Green and blacks choccies also a bonus!!
The location is also great. Just a hop skip and jump to Stockwell station and close to Clapham too. You guys should be really proud - your place is great!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BananaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My partner and I wanted to find a reasonably-priced hotel in London that was close to the clubs in nearby Vauxhall; Griffin House was excellent on both counts! The Upper Apartment allowed us a spacious alternative to regular hotels, and it allowed to eat in and save some valuable pounds. Nic and Ben were both quite helpful, and they made our stay in London quite enjoyable! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Just returned from 5 nights staying in the 2 bed apartment at Griffin house travelling with a 5 & 3 year old. Is the suburb the prettiest in London, no. Is the street the prettiest in london, no. If these aren't issues and all you're after is a spacious 2 bed apartment at fantasic value ( 125 pounds p.n) within a 5-7 min walk from stockwell tube, serving the northern & victoria lines then this is the place for you.

Your hosts Ben, Nic and 4 legged companion Barney were helpful, accomodating, knowledgable and extremely patient, especially in our case when we had issues with payment.

The rooms were large, spotless, airy, light & bright. Bathroom & kitchen appear to be recently renovated with dishwasher, cooktop, rangehood, coffee maker, microwave/convection oven. Spacious bathroom containing deep bath/shower, double vanity. A good room directory is provided with helpful hints on local dining & shopping, etc. Nice touch by providing some fruit, milk, coffee. It was also great having access to their backyard especially on balmy summer evenings

There is a fairly inadequate convenience store around the corner on stockwell rd but far better supermarkets "iceland" & "costcutters" on clapham rd - 5min walks away. Great bakery 2min down the road but forget the local chinese take-away as its rubbish

The guys were kind enough to allow us to use their washing machine.

Minor issues are there is a large construction site over the road, you do hear a fair few police sirens during the day & night and if you're elderly there is 3 flights of stairs. Other than that we had no complaints and would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markad6971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This was our second time staying at the Griffin House in two years and loved it just as much as the first. Friendly hosts, comfortable rooms, great neighborhood. Will stay again next time we are in London.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZacharyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We (me, my husband and 9 year old daughter) stayed for 4 nights in April.
The top floor apartment was lovely, comfy and very well equipped.
We really couldn't fault anything. We had a great stay, and will definitely return sometime.
We'd highly recommend Griffin house for families, as we were quite tired most evenings, having been round so many of the sights in London, and it's great to be able to get a take-away or rustle something up in the kitchen, then relax for the remainder of the eveneing, rather than have to go out and find somewhere to eat with a tired child.
Couldn't recommend Griffin house highly enough! Ben and Nic very helpful, but not intrusive. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandaxAmandax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea Guest House
#326 of 1,068 in London
962 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#96 of 1,068 in London
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#567 of 1,068 in London
152 reviews
Castletown House
#46 of 862 in London
303 reviews
London Bridge
LHA Friendship House
LHA Friendship House
#207 of 862 in London
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin House Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin House Holiday Apartments

Property: Griffin House Holiday Apartments
Address: 22 Stockwell Green, London SW9 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 862 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griffin House Holiday Apartments are located in a Georgian townhouse in London and provide a high standard of accommodation at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Griffin House Holiday Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing