We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Ranked #337 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked here for one night for a theatre break. Wish it was for longer. We wanted somewhere convenient for the Barbican, to see the RSC production of Richard II with David Tennant and the location was vindicated on leaving St Paul's tube station when one exit was signposted to St Paul's and the other stairway pointed to The Barbican. Getting to the hotel, there was a short queue at check-in, as this was early afternoon, and the desk had about 6 staff at individual check-in stations. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, asking about room preferences, before offering us an upgrade from the Superior room we had booked to an Executive room overlooking the atrium. This is a large business class hotel, so having only 3 lifts to service the 7 floors is probably insufficient. This was exacerbated by one of the lifts being out of service, so there was a wait for a lift to arrive. The room was spacious and clean and the bed large with a firm mattress. The shower was a fixed oblong plate style head over the bath, giving a decent shower that could have supplied more water flow. We chose a breakfast-inclusive rate, knowing that the City is mostly closed on weekends and cafes can be hard to find. The buffet was extensive, plentiful and fresh and the many breakfast staff were attentive with coffee service and clearing away used plates.. In actual fact the hotel is very close to St Paul's Cathedral so there are loads of restaurants and coffeee shops (Pret and Starbuck's - this being London). The hotel has a 24 hour bar on the ground floor and a rooftop terrace with a fabulous view of the cathedral and the City skyline. This is generally a well-placed, stylish and comfortable hotel and based on this experienced we would not hesitate to book again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_NE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,299 - 2,305 of 4,408 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Grange St Paul's is located a few minutes walk from the underground and is opposite St Paul's Cathedral.

The hotel has friendly staff and the rooms are modern spacious and have all the amenities you would expect from a five star hotel. The bathrooms are also clean and spacious and the beds are comfortable.

Locally there is great night life and plenty of restaurants and cafes for breakfast in the morning.

All in all excellent hotel great for couples, tourists and business trips as this hotel has all the amenities one could ask for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Had an enjoyable stay here over New Year. Our well equipped, spacious and stylish room was quiet and had a breathtaking view of St Pauls Cathedral. It was our anniversary and the hotel sent up some cupcakes, which was a nice touch.
The hotel was completed in 2009 and has a light central atrium lounge/coffee area (with good coffee) where it is nice to relax. Everything in the hotel appeared clean and well maintained.
We especially enjoyed taking an early morning swim in the Health Club pool, and using the steam/sauna after a day walking around the sights. There is also a well equipped gym.
The staff were very obliging and pleasant throughout our stay. Our only small problem was the late cleaning of our room on our penultimate day (presume due to staff absences). Any request re. our room were quickly dealt with.
The hotel is located just across the road from St Pauls Cathedral and close to the Millenium footbridge across the Thames to the Tate Modern. There are lots and lots of restaurants and cafes nearby....we particularly liked Cote Brasserie. We opted not to take the £20 hotel breakfast, and used nearby cafes.
Walk over the Millenium Bridge and try Rosie Tate behind the The Tate Modern, or better still just beyond it, the friendly and characterful cafe under the railway arch at the Union Theatre, Union Street (£2.20 for a nice coffee with a bacon bagel) - always good - have used it several times when on business in the area.
We look forward to returning to the Grange St Pauls next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mendiprambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was our first stay at the Grange and I'm sure it won't be our last. We loved it! We stayed for 4 nights, beginning our stay on Christmas Eve. The location was perfect for sightseeing around the city; a couple of minutes walk to the Millennium Bridge leading to many sights and a couple of minutes from the nearest tube station (St Pauls). We thought it was really very good value for money (we had a superior room), although felt that breakfast was a little expensive at £23 per person. We stayed for breakfast on Christmas Day then chose to find local bistros/cafes, (there are many lovely places to choose from), for the remaining days. I have nothing negative to say... the room was warm, modern, clean, with a large comfortable bed, fluffy towels, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits, bathroom accessories replenished daily - the bathroom had a magnifying mirror (with lights), a good hairdryer, a bath and a great rain shower. The staff we encountered were all very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahannraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean, quiet and well-appointed, with no over-zealous bell boys fussing around. A general anonymous feel to the place: perfect for city breaks.

The check-in is prompt and professional. The glass atrium area is aesthetically interesting, especially viewed from the lifts.

The location is excellent. Potter around the city; ramble across to the Tate; stroll down the Thames. I wouldn't bother with breakfast at the hotel as there's myriad eateries within striking distance.

It's generally good value for London, depending on the price through booking/ last minute/ late rooms etc.

In a nutshell, you can't really go wrong. Always my first choice for a London stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palms_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Can't wait to return to this pleasant, clean and modern 5* hotel. My husband booked the hotel for my birthday , since it was in a very central position, metres away from St Pauls Cathedral, a walk across the Millennium bridge to The Tate Modern as well as lots to do and see in the surrounding areas. Check in was slow, with only 2 staff on the desk at the time we arrived at approx 11:30 am ( people checking out at same time too). This was the only negative as all staff, concierge , health spa staff etc. were all very polite, helpful and pleasant. We had a room directly overlooking St Paul's on the fourth floor and awaiting me, courtesy of the hotel , who had been advised that it was my birthday during our stay, was a complimentary chocolate birthday cake! Sweet little touch!! Room had a 6 ft bed and although some other reviews state the beds are hard, I found ours to be firm but very comfortable. Guess this depends on personal preference. Pillows a little on the soft, cheap side as I like feather/down ones.Lovely big picture window in room with various blind/curtains/sunshade to suit.Nice toiletries, slippers, bath robes, tea/coffee making facilities and the usual 5* extras in room. Mini bar expensive ( as to be expected in a 5* hotel with a small bottle of water at £2.30), but be careful not to remove anything in there (unless you wish to purchase) as only after 5 seconds, the item will be automatically charged to your bill. I picked out of the fridge, what I thought to be a box of chocolates, which turned out to be a 'relief pack' ( did not open the box, but was reading the contents : it listed items in it such as paracetamol, sanitary wear, etc and cost £10 !! Upon check out, I pointed my error out to the Receptionist ( as the so called Relief Pack appeared on our bill) and she laughed and promptly removed the £10 charge!! Expect similar has happened a few times before!!! Health suite good, with pool, sauna, steam room,superb powerful showers in the ladies, secure lockers, great relaxation rooms and sun rooms ( designed with a Thai theme) with compllmentary tea, coffee, juices, cakes and chocolates added to a lovely relaxing break. Did not try the hotel bar or restaurants ( went out for meals at other venues but these looked smart. Will be back to try next time!!

Room Tip: If available, rooms with views overlooking St Paul's Cathedral are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonicsfitnesscentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Second stay here still a nice hotel when u arrive not lovely and special anymore. Booked a 2 night stay for New year eve we were given room 102 which was very small in comparison to our previous stay even after we booked in September we were still given a tiny room. On entering straight away we could smell what was like a Camembert cheese/cabbage smell coming from the bathroom it was coming from the broken sink plug when ever u tried to drain the sink. Another issue was the room window was over looking the hostel over the road a couple of Romanian looking lowts I caught perving out there window when my girlfriend was getting ready so be very careful with this. We couldn't be bothered to go ask to change the room at reception as had a long train journey.
The spa had now become a little dated to with the pool unheated it was freezing, on New Year's Eve the jacuzzi was broken which put a dampner on the stay as one of the reasons we booked. My girlfriend did have a thirty minute massage which she said was good but at £45 was a rip off just like the bar prices, mini bar and room service. How can a bottle of water and fanta cost £3.95 that is ridiculous and £20 each for breakfast is taking the mick. If the hotel reduced it's prices for these and some of the staffs attitude improved being less abrupt and offhand we would def return but maybe now this particular Grange has had its time and needs improving in terms of room conditions, prices and staff it would go back to being 5 star this is the reason for the low rating, such a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#365 of 1,077 in London
2,921 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#224 of 1,077 in London
3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange St. Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Address: 10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#237 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £115 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange St. Paul's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a sophisticated blend of contemporary style and modern flair, the stunning Grange St. Paul’s Hotel sets new standards for luxury and elegance. Perfectly located in the heart of the City’s financial district yet just moments from the myriad delights of London’s renowned West End, the Grange St. Paul’s provides a perfect venue for any visit to the capital. Deluxe bedrooms and suites provide the ultimate in understated elegance and luxury, whilst a spectacular glass Atrium holds an unrivalled selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grange St. Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange St Pauls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing