We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but I should have stayed at the main one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Ranked #324 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Africa
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but I should have stayed at the main one”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here. I desperately wanted an early check in since I had arrived as early as 8am from a flight from South Africa. The main hotel was full. I was offered a room in their apartments. 2 blocks away. They told me that they are bigger and more modern. True that. However, they have no views and it turned out to be a mission to be walking to the main hotel for breakfast and in the middle of the December weather. Or having to call someone for service like getting an access card. Good breakfast but tables are just too close together. Service was great. If you go for the apartments avoid the rooms on the ground floor . There's no privacy if you leave your curtains open as people walk past right by your window.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,879
    1,447
    558
    227
    142
See reviews for
516
1,802
160
1,086
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
muro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just had a two night stay at this fantastic hotel.It's right on the doorstep of St Paul's Cathedral. It's such a beautiful hotel and definitely 5* it's ideal for families as there is a pool and also for couples or ladies spa treatments.The rooms are beautiful and spotless. The tube station is only minutes walk away and there is plenty places to shop, eat and drink. It was so lovely to wake up to hear the bells of St Paul's and we will definitely return to this hotel. Always check direct on the hotels website as they have lots of offers including school holiday offers. I can also recommended the musical Charlie and the chocolate factory as well, it's a fantastic show and only 2tube rides from St Paul's taking only minutes.

Room Tip: Check offers on hotels website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulouMuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here just before Easter and we were very impressed. I called ahead to say it was our anniversary and wanted to do something special and the staff there arranged Rose petals to be scattered in our room (for a small charge), and complimentary welcome cupcakes were left for us with a 'Happy Anniversary' message. They also gave our room a fantastic view of St Paul's Cathedral, it could not have been better. The Spa and Leisure facilities were very good and the staff were friendly and professional. A big thank you to Doniel and Minisha (apologies for incorrect spelling!) for arranging everything so that when we arrived we felt well looked after. Would definitely recommend based on our experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked on a secret hotels deal and were very pleased with the outcome. The hotel isn't cheap but you don't get anything in London that is cheap, and for the price we paid (similar to that for a Central London Premier Inn) I think we got an absolute bargain. We had a standard (Superior) room and it was really good in size, huge bed, and all of the features you would expect. We were on the second floor at the end of the corridor and didn't hear any other guests or noise from outside.
The swimming pool/spa area was very nice but the pool was rather colder than we would have expected and it was quite busy with children at the time we went in - this was our own fault though as we did use the pool at the child friendly advertised times.
We were on a room only rate and didn't want to pay £17 each for a continental breakfast, however there were several options for Breakfast just a minute's walk away, and with views of St Paul's. Apostrophe did excellent Pain au Chocolat and Pastries.
We stayed over Easter weekend but I imagine that during the week there are a lot more people around given the location in the City. It was nice having a quiet tube station so close, and being such a short walk from the River (just a few minutes to the Millennium bridge). Would highly recommend taking the lifts up to One new change for a view of St Paul's.
Staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful, on hearing it was a weekend away to celebrate our engagement they put cupcakes in the room which was a lovely touch.
Would definitely stay here again and now considering trying some of the other hotels in the group. I'm very surprised by the reviews who don't believe that this is a 5* hotel, I have stayed at hotels of all grades across the World and I don't think anybody could question the 5* rating here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Grange St Pauls on Saturday 19th April. In total 6 of us stayed in 3 rooms.
We contacted the hotel directly and got a better rate than via last minute.com.
There was a huge wait for check in which was a little frustrating. The check in staff were not massively friendly either.
We got to the room (we stayed in room 004 which was on the ground floor), they are nice and modern and comfortable. The rooms are very quite considering being in the middle of London.
The hotel is less than a minute from St Pauls and 5 mins from the tube.

There are lots of restaurants in the location which is good.

We didn't spend much time in the room as we already had plans.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and open until 11am at the weekend which is always a bonus. Having said that we did have to wait quite a while for a table to become available.

Overall, I would say that it is a nice hotel to stay in. Not the best but certainly not the worst!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was expecting much more from this hotel. There were many areas that disappointed. Firstly, the hotel is modern in design but unfortunately it lacks any soul and personality. Check in was smooth and we were able to access one of our two rooms early. The area from the lifts to the bedrooms is poorly lit. The rooms themselves are fine but certainly no view to speak of. Breakfast was poor. We booked via the hotel website and our rate included continental breakfast. However, I felt the selection of cereals and breads was ordinary and not becoming of a 5 star establishment. Tea/coffee was served by the waiting staff but no pots of tea/coffee for the table unless you ask. Location was excellent and easy access to either St Paul's or Mansion House tube stations. Spa was excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViennaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei Darussalam
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My Husband and i booked into the Grange St Pauls on a secret deal from lastminute.com. We found the hotel to be in an excellent location, 5mins walk tops from the tube station at st pauls (a huge bonus being 32wks pregnant i wasnt going to be walking too far) and just over 5 mins to blackfriars. there are plenty of places to eat & coffee shops around so if like us you find the breakfast option a bit pricey you can easily grab something on the way out for the day.
We had a superior room which was lovely, there was tea & coffee provided and very nice toiletries in the bathroom. The room also had a safe, which was very useful for keeping our ipad and camera in when we didnt need it. My husband did complain that the tv was a bit small compared to other hotels we have stayed in, and also the light on the bedside and room phone was very bright at night. I also found the bed was very hard, which probably wouldnt have been such an issue had i not been pregnant. The mini bar in our room wasnt open, but we assumed that was because we didnt leave credit card details with reception.
We used the pool & jacuzzi a couple of times, which was lovely, it wasnt very busy when we went and both the pool area, changing room & reception were very clean.
We didnt eat in the hotel so have no idea what the food was like, alth there was a menu in the room.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in london, and would definatly consider staying again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#224 of 1,069 in London
3,645 reviews
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#349 of 1,069 in London
2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#417 of 1,069 in London
2,145 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange St. Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Property: Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Address: 10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#234 Luxury Hotel in London
#267 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange St. Paul's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a sophisticated blend of contemporary style and modern flair, the stunning Grange St. Paul’s Hotel sets new standards for luxury and elegance. Perfectly located in the heart of the City’s financial district yet just moments from the myriad delights of London’s renowned West End, the Grange St. Paul’s provides a perfect venue for any visit to the capital. Deluxe bedrooms and suites provide the ultimate in understated elegance and luxury, whilst a spectacular glass Atrium holds an unrivalled selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange St. Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange St Pauls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing