We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5*, poor service , deal not as advertised ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Ranked #334 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there over the weekend for one night. Upgraded free when booking using a globe theatre code to the club level of accommodation. This should give us an upgraded room plus extended benefits including club lounge with free food and drinks .....should . Had to fight for the right to have a key pass for the business. Lounge which had little to offer stale canapés ,water , cold coffee and one type of biscuit . Where was the club lounge as paid for apparently they don't have one? The room was fine and worth the discounted price we got the room for I would never pay full price . Parking is a pain . Great location though and the bar is well stocked. What gripes me is that they are still holding my payment on a card when I paid cash plus a feeble apology plus I emailed the general manager who has yet to have the decency to reply ....im still waiting, time will tell if I get a reply to explain why the facilities promised were not available. Oh and to rub salt in the wound upon leaving I was greeted with a glossy a4 leaflet boasting that as a discerning customer I was entitled to use their club lounge !!!!! Figure that out then .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank dkwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,112 - 2,118 of 4,381 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very nice hotel, to me 4 stars rather tan 5 stars.
Well located near St Pauls.
Nice common areas, specially breakfast área ( inner open área ).
Very good assortment of food in the Breakfast.
Nice room and very comfortable beds.
Very clean.
Attentive staff.
VERY expensive, around 350 pounds/night. Does not worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaDiGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this wonderful hotel just in front of St. Paul's Cathedral .it is a big , design hotel. We stayed in an executive room on the last floor (7th) . In the same flooor you can find a terrace overlooking St. Paul where you can take nice pictures ! At ground -1 there is the swimming pool , a jacuzzi and hammam , to relax after a tyring sightseeing day! Metro central line is 5 minutes walk, there arte plenty of buses running near the hotel. If you cross the bridge in 10 minutes you are at Tate Modern. Definitely I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was here for an event in the hotel - whilst the staff are very helpful they haven't quite got the swing of seamless customer service yet. Stumbling over directions to the concierge, not knowing what the afternoon tea menu was, not knowing what events were being held in the hotel that day...Nothing major, but not what you would expect of a top hotel.

The facilities are excellent though - the hotel room was blissfully quiet. All the function rooms are in the basement away from sleeping areas. It's a very well designed hotel.

Little extras in the rooms were also good - nice chocolates, beds turned down, MP3 dock, brilliant shower, decent hairdryer, an iron etc.

The spa is also really nice - it can get busy in the pool, but the treatments are blissful and not expensive.

Where they really failed and it's why I'm going to mark them down: I hadn't realised just quite how hard the pillows were and woke up with a stiff neck at 5am... Being a bit of a princess, I called down to the desk where they told me those were the only pillows they had in the whole hotel and weren't very helpful at all. On check out, I did mention it only to be told they have a range of pillows and they should have sent some up. The duty manager was supposed to email me in order to arrange an apology and still hasn't a week on... A minor thing but it did spoil what was a really nice trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A good hotel if you are hoping to visit some of the more historical parts of London, within a stones throw of the Millennium Bridge and therefore giving access to the Southbank. Cycle rental available right outside the hotel giving you a fun and alternative means transport and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very nice in all respects but small room, average toiletries and basically doesn't have the feel of a five star hotel. Great location and views of the cathedral in some rooms though and to be fair at "only" £177 per night (through lastminute) you maybe should suspect that this isn't your average five star hotel in London.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent a weekend as visitors to London in this 5 star hotel which we got at a great price through a website. The hotel is excellent with spa, pool and other facilities. It is in a wonderful location for sightseeing. The reception staff were helpful (the only staff that we dealt with that weekend). She tried to find a room with a view for us but couldn't. Instead we were upgraded!! The upgrade room was big enough but I'd have been interested to see the smaller room!! It was spotlessly clean. After our day out everything in the room was refreshed without us being disturbed in any way. I know that I paid abut 40% of the normal asking price for this stay. In my opinion that was enough. I suppose it is a 5 star hotel in Central London. The only thing that irked me was that I was asked for a deposit on the room fridge contents. Because I decided not to use the drinks I wasn't allowed access to the fridge!! It was electronically locked. We couldn't cool our own wine or water. Overall it was a good and comfortable stay at a really good hotel in a good location at a good price.

Room Tip: If you don't want breakfast at the hotel I suggest "Le Pain Quotidien" opposite St Pau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#227 of 1,077 in London
3,750 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#358 of 1,077 in London
2,893 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange St. Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Address: 10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#237 Luxury Hotel in London
#266 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £135 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange St. Paul's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a sophisticated blend of contemporary style and modern flair, the stunning Grange St. Paul’s Hotel sets new standards for luxury and elegance. Perfectly located in the heart of the City’s financial district yet just moments from the myriad delights of London’s renowned West End, the Grange St. Paul’s provides a perfect venue for any visit to the capital. Deluxe bedrooms and suites provide the ultimate in understated elegance and luxury, whilst a spectacular glass Atrium holds an unrivalled selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grange St. Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange St Pauls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing