We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Ranked #319 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, U.K.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A fantastic night's sleep”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Whilst not entirely sure this is a 5-star hotel it is certainly up there at 4+.
With plenty of reception staff check-in was very swift and efficient.
The room was exceptionally comfortable and with the combination of the bed, superb black-out curtains and lack of outside noise, I had one of the best night's sleep I have ever experienced in London.
The layout of the hotel is somewhat quirky and the area around reception a bit cramped but these are minor points.
It is also a great shame that the rooftop terrace is only available for private hire and not for hotel guests to enjoy a drink and the view. For me, sitting in The Atrium was rather like sitting in a shopping centre.
What has enabled me to give the 'excellent' rating is the price we paid. I have paid more to stay in a Premier Inn in London and several-fold more to stay in other supposedly 5-star hotels that were nowhere near as good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachhut45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange St. Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and had one of the best nights sleep you have ever had in London! Guests are welcome to sit on the terrace and enjoy the view from the Sky bar, although the actual bar is only open for private events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,798
    1,384
    536
    216
    135
See reviews for
485
1,738
154
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had great expectations for my romantic stay here but was sadly left feeling ice cold.

Alarm bells about the level of service to expect should have started to ring when, immediately after making my booking I sent the spa an enquiry but never received a reply. Check in was slow and we were greeted by a queue which, to be fair could simply be the result of poor timing on our part. The room was functional however the television continued to freeze - seemingly due to come kind of intereference and we had great difficulty turning the shower to a temperature that wasnt scorching.

I unfortunately found the majority of staff I encountered (other than the check in desk) to be quite rude and dismissive. When I approached the bar in the courtyard I wasnt acknoweldged by the bar lady and had to wait whislt she finished her conversation with a colleague before I was offered some rather unfriendly service.

Room service, a fairly simply order of pizza and chips was delivered with a pizza still frozen in the middle. Which had to be returned. I noticed with interest at check out that not only was I still charged for this, the room service charge was also not waived. This is not something a guest should have to request at a 5 star establishment. As a city worker and reveller I enjoy frequent stays at hotels within the city and I usual try to pay a little extra for that luxury feel. I left The Grange feeling very luke warm about its offerings and this is not a chain I forsee using again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange St. Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay and apologise for any shortcomings. Your comments have been noted. I hope that you will come again in the future when I am sure your expectations will be fully satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

So you get to the hotel entrance; a grand affair just a few seconds by foot from the magnificent St Paul's Cathedral - and then it goes down hill.

Checked in by a trainee? Ok, everyone has to learn but at 10pm on a Friday night after a 14 hour day...

Pointed in the direction of "our lovely apartment building, just two minutes away".... uh oh

Busy street lined with pubs and just off the main road? Oh dear

To put it bluntly, if I'dve wanted to stay in a self catering shoebox I'd have booked one, not a five star hotel room.

The room service menu is not even half of the main hotel. It is impossible to get to the main hotel comfortably for breakfast, you might as well eat at Pret - it's right outside.

this WAS NOT a 5 star hotel experience in any way, shape or form. Poor. I've stayed at the Grange Barbican before and was expecting much, much better at St Pauls.

Room Tip: AVOID the Annex on Creed Lane, particularly over the weekend, loud and too far from the hotel to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uk_explorer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange St. Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the St. Paul's Suites. I hope however that you will consider returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are looking for a great value 5 star hotel, try Top Secret Hotels on Last Minute .com they are almost always Grange Hotels in London. Look for the description close to a famous London landmark/monument and if the map shows St Pauls chances are you will be staying here for a bargain. I paid £130 the night I stayed and Travelodge were quoting £160 !!!!!

If you ask nicely chances are an upgrade is on offer too.

The hotel has the modern feel of open spaces and lots and lots of glass, bar was busy and room service was prompt and excellent

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade, every Grange I have stayed in has always accommodated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKAbroad_Shop_Online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange St. Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and found it to be good value. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The location is fabulous, lobby, public areas good , the bar over looks St. Paul's - lovey but the room is basic terrible view apart from one bath robe and some awful cheap slippers everything else was on par with premier inn , roof terrace was closed & service request was ignored , over priced. Disappointed anniversary stay £250 for the night bed only!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank caznananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange St. Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are sorry to learn your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
220 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Reception was very slow - waited nearly 10 mins both ways, rooms were pleasant and had a room with two double beds (dont know why) TV was tiny - strange for such a luxury hotel - bar was average and mini bar was badly stocked - no fresh coffee and room service was poor - overall nothing to write home about - nothing special but trying to be - they need to try a lot harder - Bathroom was nice had a shower and bath - shower was too complex and leaky - no toiletries either all very strange

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stockyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange St. Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Sorry your expectations were not fully satisfied. Not sure why there were no toiletries in your room, we normally provide Ajala products which are of high quality and include natural ingredients with no synthetic colourings, fragrances and harmful parabens. Please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Grange in June for my birthday weekend.
The hotel is in a great location, a stones throw from St Pauls and the river. The Strand and theatreland are a short hop on the bus or a short cab ride.
The Hotel room was internal facing and well presented but the lack of natural light caused the room to be fairly dark, even with all the lights on. The bathroom was a good size with a great shower and agin was nicely presented. Lack of ventilation caused the room to feel stuffy at times even with the air con on full blast.
The spa is fantastic with a good size pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. I found these facilities to be the highlight of our stay.
Its worth looking at online deals for the hotel otherwise I feel that it may have been a little pricey for what you get in return.
I would recommend the hotel and would look to return again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Goldiemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange St. Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and location of the hotel and spa. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#340 of 1,088 in London
2,680 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,088 in London
3,503 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#390 of 1,088 in London
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange St. Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Property: Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Address: 10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#232 Luxury Hotel in London
#267 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange St. Paul's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a sophisticated blend of contemporary style and modern flair, the stunning Grange St. Paul’s Hotel sets new standards for luxury and elegance. Perfectly located in the heart of the City’s financial district yet just moments from the myriad delights of London’s renowned West End, the Grange St. Paul’s provides a perfect venue for any visit to the capital. Deluxe bedrooms and suites provide the ultimate in understated elegance and luxury, whilst a spectacular glass Atrium holds an unrivalled selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange St. Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange St Pauls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing