We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean mid-range hotel with great location, comfy beds, hot water and character.”
Review of Tudor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tudor Court Hotel
Ranked #822 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Narrabri, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A clean mid-range hotel with great location, comfy beds, hot water and character.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed a night here at both ends of our family holiday to the UK. Location was perfect for accessing Heathrow airport and also the London tube. Paddington is a delightful area - lots of cafes and restaurants, flower baskets and tree-lined squares. The hotel is also an easy walking distance to Hyde Park where we saw our first (and only) squirrels!

On both bookings we were given a family room on the lower ground floor. The stairs were steep and narrow - but this just added to the adventure - and staff helped with our bags. The room was immaculate and beds excellent. Whilst very small, the ensuite bathroom had both hot water and great water pressure. We had no noise or climate issues with our room, and enjoyed the 'Full English Breakfast'.

We enjoyed our two nights at Tudor Court and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplelephant11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connang, Manager at Tudor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive and beautiful review about the location, the character of the buildng, our staff and our services.

We look forward to your next visit to our beautiful city of London and give us a chance againce to serve you and make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as the previous one.

Regards
Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    243
    129
    72
    57
See reviews for
148
172
124
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed Tudor Court Hotel for my vacation in July 2014. Location is great, just 3 minutes walk from Paddington station. There are some minor problems, but I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in reasonable price before heading to Heathrow.
It is 5 storied building without lift, but staff kindly helped me to carry my suitcase. The room (single room with shared bathroom) was clean, but it looked like a prison cell, and there was no room to open my suitcase. Sadly, shared shower seemed to be out of order, and hot shower was not available for 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanyan-doggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connang, Manager at Tudor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your kind and positive feedback about our location, staff and cleanliness. We are sorry that you did not bring to our attention that you did not manage to get hot water in the shower. We have 24 hours hot water (never stopped). Our receptionist would have assisted you to get the hot water running, had you brought to his atention. We are so sorry for this.

The Hotel Building is Grade 11 listed building and being so the stairs on the top two floors were made narrow. We are glad that our staff carried your bags. We have different type of rooms to suite all budgets. You reserved a small basic single with shared bathroom, it is small room indeed. Hope we will be able to serve you better on your next visit to our beautiful city.

Thank you agaih.

Kind regards
Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

+ Location excellent, staff friendly, breakfast ok

-We were in a basement room, very hot no air con.
Bathroom ceiling was black with mould. No lift and very difficult to carry large suitcase down stairs.
Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 7kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connang, Manager at Tudor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, for your feedback and for your kind comments about our location and our staff. That is much appreciated.

You are right, we don’t have a lift in the building. This is to preserve its Georgian character, which most guests like. Our staff will of course always help with the luggage though.

I have seen the small patch in the bathroom ceiling you mention and that has been put right. Thank for bringing it to our attention.

Kind Regards,

Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Greenwich
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Tudor Court Hotel is a throw-back to staying in London in the late 20th century, with small rooms, tiny showers, and lack of modern amenities. It's very convenient to Paddington Station and has a good choice of restaurants adjacent or nearby. It's somewhat noisy and the ambiance is definitely dated, but the staff is both friendly and helpful. Also their WiFi needs upgrading, but the included breakfast isn't bad.

Additionally there is a very nice 'urban oasis' park right across the street that is wonderful and it's an easy stroll to wonderful Hyde Park.

Prices are negotiable, so shop around at the various consolidator sites for the best deal.

Room Tip: Avoid the main floor (rooms are like Hobbit holes). If you don't mind narrow stairs and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
福岡
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom. It is not very inexpensive in a general sense, yet I think the charge is reasonable for a hotel room in London. After all, London's hotel is very expensive. The location is good, close to Paddington Station. The room is very small with no desk and no chair. You cannot do anything virtually except watching the TV and working/playing with the internet on the bed.A good thing is free WiFi. No elevators, and stairs are very narrow. Only a couple of shared toilet/shower rooms, but I could use it whenever I wished to. With no places for a towel, soap and so on in the shower space, it was not easy to take a shower, though. A complimentary breakfast was English breakfast, which was just okay. Staff members were friendly and helpful. I believe the hotel is fine for one night or two if all you need is a place for a sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 福岡Ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connang, Manager at Tudor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback and for your kind remarks about our location and how good value we are for a central London hotel. Your kind comments about our staff and our breakfast are also much appreciated. And I am glad you were able to make use of our free wifi.

I was disappointed therefore to read that despite these good points you still rated us only 2 star overall and for value. We have a wide range of rooms of different sizes. You reserved one of our small single basic rooms with shared bathroom facilities on the hall. All our other rooms have private facilities. Please do come and stay with us again and try one of the larger rooms, which although a little more expensive, we believe still provide excellent value.

As to lack of an elevator at Tudor Court, our building is a characterful Georgian building with, I do accept, narrow stairs. These are part of its charm. Installing an elevator would detract from the beauty of the building, which most of our guests really like. And of course our staff are only too happy to help with luggage.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again the next time you are in London.

Regards,

Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Thanks to a Rick Steves travel book, for recommending this good value hotel. It was perfect for our overnight stay in London -- a stone's throw from Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express, good restaurants right down the block, super friendly staff. The room was extremely small, but we were prepared for that from the reviews we had read -- and it was all we needed for our one-night stopover.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel during the last week of June whilst I visited the tennis at Wimbledon. I went for the cheapest option, single room, no on suite.

Let's start with the positives:-

Excellent location, 2 minute walk to underground.
Lots of restaurants and fast food on your doorstep.
The breakfast was very enjoyable, staff very polite and friendly.
My room cleaned daily and was very clean.

The negatives:-

The room was just too small, just enough room to fit a single bed and half a wardrobe.
The weather was very warm so had to leave window open, very noisy outside due to busy location.
No lift ...I was on located on the 6th floor, lots of steep steps!

My conclusion, I paid £54 per night with excellent breakfast included. The hotel is very professional, the staff are a credit to the hotel. Excellent value for June and the area. I personally prefer a bigger room but would recommend if you are looking for a short stay 1-2 day break.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank johnny20005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connang, Owner at Tudor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a positive and beauiul views about the location, our staff and services.
We are sorry about the size of a small single basic room. As the name suggest, it is small. All the buildings in Norfolk Square are similar built, are near 200 year old (none of these B & B hotels have lifts). For your future visits, please book a compact double en suite (you must appreciate the fact that space in central London is at Premium).

Please give us a chance to serve you again in the near future.

Regards
Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. David's Hotels
#615 of 1,069 in London
585 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#629 of 1,069 in London
746 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#655 of 1,069 in London
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chrysos Hotel
#666 of 1,069 in London
463 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Court Hotel

Property: Tudor Court Hotel
Address: 10-12 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #822 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Court Hotel, nestled in the heart of London, with easy access to all the major sights and Heathrow airport is the ideal location for business or pleasure. We are one minute's walk from Paddington Station. The Tudor Court Hotel at Paddington has clean, modern rooms to suit all budgets. Recently refurbished, these are ideal for both tourist and business use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Tudor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Court London
Hotel Tudor Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing