We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor hotel - avoid unless completely desperate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Guest House 2
Ranked #764 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Good location for Hammersmith apollo which was the reason for our stay. This however is the only positive we could think of. Arrived at 3 (check in was from 12), room was ready but had to clamber over dirty sheets, around ladders and buckets up narrow staircase to find cleaner still in room. Room was small and very basic, shower went from cold to scalding intermittently. Basic egg based breakfast. Not a 3star, certainly would rate it a competative 1 star! Long story short was perfect for location but next time we shall do our research and spend a few more pennies.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room in another hotel x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

Booked the above, turned up & no rooms available- very rude manager took us to the nearby Maligne Guest House on Shepherds Bush Road, room dirty, bathroom mouldy, carpets stained. Other guest houses the company owned did not look any better along road- manager did not see a problem which shocked us. Manager refused to give a full refund very unhelpful. Very lucky to find a room in the nearby Her Majesty Hotel instead- what a complete joy, very clean, service fantastic, owner very helpful and for a similar price- why didn't we find this hotel earlier on a search engine.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

on arrival we were told we were not staying here but at another place further up the road!
full english breakfast was either fried or scrambled eggs with toast!
i would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank karnet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Day 2 on our holiday me and my husband went out and I forgot my wedding ring on the hotel room. When we got back a couple of hours later the ring was gone. The Hotel Staff tried to explain the loss by speculating that the ring must have been removed during cleaning and that the garbage would be searched. The ring was never found and it was obviously stolen. We´ve reported the incident to the police Two days later I had to remind the hotel staff that our room toilet was out of toilet paper. There´s obviously no chance that we will visit this hotel ever again...

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mk2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The room was tiny and with a double and single bed in you could not move. The bathroom in the room smelt terrible. The carpet in the room was dirty, stained all over paint splashes everywhere. The Walls were stained with what looked like tea everywhere with dirt and grime all over. There were three rodent traps placed around the room. Building work taking place in the building next door so it was noisy, dusty and a rubbish tip outside room. There is no headboards on the beds or bedside cabinets or side lamps and the way we were all itching possibly flees. The person in charge would not help us and refused to offer a refund of £90.00 paid up front when booked. We ended up leaving to go to another hotel without a refund so paid twice. Please be warned

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yinsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We have booked the room online thinking we are going to be staying at Royal Hotel. However on our arrival we have been told that we are being transferred to their another "property". The other place was not "royal" what so ever. "Golden Strand" was situated on the same road and was of much worse standard. I don't not really get the connection between the name "gold" and the real place...never mind.
The room was in the basesment, the smeel of dumpness was strong. Luckily we had a window. The room was small and the bed had only 1 blanket for 2 people. No quilt, but we were kindly given extra pillow, which was nice.
The radiator broke within 1st hour and the floor was flooded. This was however, effecietly repaired and thanks God the room was warm.
Do no hope for FULL ENGLISH breakfast that the hotel advertise. You will be offered 2 eggs in variety of forms: scrambled, fried, boiled... overwhelming really.
You can also enjoy a bowl of milk with cornflakes or a "vitality yoghurt".

On a positive note the staff was very helpful and friendly and the room and the bathroom were reasonably clean. Good location, but I would not come back and I would not recommend this place unless you enjoy that kind of adventuare.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agulinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This hotel was a nightmare!
The room was so small we couldn't open the bags unless one of the two would stay on the bed. The bathroom was even worse.
If you want to take a shower and continue to breathe ....you need to leave the door open.
But the worst thing is that: IT IS DAMN DIRTY!
Do not go there!!!!!!!!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Ester83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Comfotel Prpl
#593 of 1,076 in London
130 reviews
Hotel 65
#773 of 1,076 in London
585 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#514 of 1,076 in London
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#284 of 1,076 in London
738 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#226 of 1,076 in London
429 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#737 of 1,076 in London
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House 2

Address: 105 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #764 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £45 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Guest House 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing