We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey, expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Guest House
Ranked #321 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
chipper127
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Noisey, expensive”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Big room with ensuite, mish mash of very poor furniture, bed very poor, clean enough no tea/coffee making facitlities.no breakfast was told to go to macdonalds next door,
main issue i had was with noise, the room i was in had a ajoining door,the TV could be heard as if i was in the the room, and later the guy occupying the room was snoring .later the people in the house next door were all i can asume were having a party ( this house i dont believe to be owned by the guest house) anyway avery bad stay i gave back my keys in the morning to be fair they offered to move me but for £90 with no breakfast and tea/coffee the damage had been done

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamTurners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear TeamTurners,

I would like to begin by thanking you for taking the time to provide this feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion and for the disrupted sleep which you had.

We do not include breakfast as standard since many of our guests do not require it due to early departures, business commitments or a want to eat in the centre where there is such a wealth of cafés and restaurants. For this reason, we offer more affordable rooms to our guests by removing standard breakfasts. However, for £5 per guest we do offer a full breakfast at a number of local cafés which cater to most tastes and for which we have received very positive feedback. Optionally, those who prefer it can walk to the McDonald's located on the lot next door to our site.

Finally, with regard to the furnishing of your room , we are currently undertaking a refurbishment and modernisation of the Guest House and so I hope that you will take the chance to visit again when this is completed, allowing us another chance to impress you.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Niamh McGee
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    429
    174
    62
    23
See reviews for
158
278
131
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Good enough room; large bed, although a hair dryer would have been a good addition.

Under 10 minute walk to the closest tube station and easy connections to the City.

Friendly staff, clean room, no complaints.

Slightly noisy in the morning due to hotel renovations, so it was understandable.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaptiveSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear sparkzz,
Thank you for letting us know how your time at the Guest House was. Our rooms come with comfortable bedrooms as well as good transport links to central London for very good prices so we are glad you caught the best of our offer.
You should know that many additional facilities are available. If on your return journey you have quick chat with one of our staff we can certainly provide a hair dryer or an iron. Also, due to our recent renovations our clients can enjoy a more comfortable stay in our premium rooms in our fresh-looking buildings.
We hope to hear from you again on your next visit to London!
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is my second time staying in the Chelsea Guest House, first in 2006, and second in February 2012. Both times the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were a decent size and clean.
Myself and my sister stayed in Feb 2012, and for two young girls travelling in London, we felt safe and at ease with the area and guest house, comparred to other hostels and hotels experienced in the past!
There were two single beds, clean towels and a working tv. Considering it is on a fairly busy main road, it is strangely quiet in the guest house and we had no problems getting to sleep from noise etc.
The bathroom was small but adequate for a what we needed. The shower worked really well and had hot running water morning and night.
The location of the guest house is perfect...2 minutes walk to Wandsworth Road station and then its a 5 minute train journey to central london: London Victoria or London Bridge. You cant ask for better location really! The trains run into London 2 in every half an hour. We were out late on the Thursday night, and the trains were still running to get us back. There are also night buses which stop directly opposite the guest house too.

The only thing we found a little bit disappointing was no breakfast service. Although there is a McDonalds next door, and you can be in central London in less than 10minutes for a wealth of breakfast options!

Overall a very pleasant stay and we would recommend this guest house to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Gill,
We hope you won’t mind using your message for our advertising because we are thrilled with your comments 
We massively value our loyal customers and hope that we will see you again as soon as possible. Since your last visit, we’ve introduced breakfast vouchers for nearby restaurants, added some quality touches to improve our rooms, and introduced new premium en-suite rooms with more facilities including tea and coffee welcome trays, hairdryers and complimentary guest toiletries for added comfort and convenience.
We hope to welcome you back next time you are in London!
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The room was nice: a double bed, a small closet and one night table. Nothing fancy but basically all you need (the only thing we missed was a fridge) .
The staff were extremely nice and helpful. There was free WiFi (which was also very helpful)
and the room was cleaned daily, so we got clean towels every evening. :]

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Liz,
We’re glad to hear your time at Chelsea Guest House was up to your expectations. We’re introducing a larger variety of rooms so you can now choose between the practical cosy budget rooms that you recently enjoyed or, for a small increment, our more modern, lush premiums. While we do not offer kitchen facilities, our breakfast vouchers offer a great variety of meals just outside the hotel, while the vending machine lends itself to providing quick snacks for the hungry.
We were happy to read your review and will be even more pleased if you were to return to London and visit us again. Take care!
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Friendly multicultural staff, clean, well kept rooms and so comfortable. Close to all type of amenities. Buses, Wandsworth Road and Clapham Junction train stations, Vauxhall station, etc. are in the zone. Strongly recommendable for tourists, business, and families since is not in the crowded London city centre and is not so far as well!. I have been at the Guest House for close to a couple of months, and I am happy that I have made the best decision!

Room Tip: Make your reservation asap to have more options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamidavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Hamidavm,

Thank you so much for your kind review which we took great pleasure in reading. It is always great to know that our long-term guests are happy with the service provided by our team. We very much hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,

Niamh McGee
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was over all a nice guest house to stay at. However, we found it a bit too far from London. To have to take the tube and then the bus after a long day was exhausting. The guest house itself was sufficient for a couple of nights. We went in October and the exterior was under renovations which we were unaware of, so that was disappointing. Rooms were sufficient with basic amenities, but right for the price. We did enjoy exploring the area, but we wouldn't stay there again. Just not the best location from London. May I note that a great place for Breakfast is up the street (to your right coming out the door) called The Savoy cafe . Lots of tasty food for a great price!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Front Office Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Jennifer,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Chelsea Guest House, we are firstly a customer service oriented business and always welcome reviews.
While we know that walking around London can be exhausting, given that it is such a vast city, we think the Guest House (with the over ground trains to Victoria for Buckingham Palace within 10 minutes and buses 87 and 452 connecting us to Westminster, Trafalgar Square, the Strand plus other major sites in West London) is well located, boasting excellent transport links for tourists looking to explore.
We are happy to say that we have finished the process of renovation and now offer a renewed clean white building that we’d love for you to see. We have also taken the advice offered by you and many others and have made Savoy Cafe our partner for serving breakfast.
We’ve added that and more to our services so we hope we’ll have the chance to make an even better second impression on your next visit to the UK.
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Well, at the price I paid I didn't expect much. It is clean, the shower works, the WIFI is fast and the bed comforatble enough (I know beds are very subjective). It is a fair walk to Stockwell or Vauxhall tube station (both Victoria Line) but the busses seem very frequent. My room at the back was quieter than I'd feared. I didn't try the food as the customer I'm working with has a good canteen!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Numb15,

Thank you very much for your informative review. It is always massively helpful to understand where we may have room for improvement and therefore your feedback is invaluable to us.

I was sorry to read that you were not completely happy with your recent stay at Chelsea Guest House and the value offered by our hotel. It seems that there was a miscommunication with regard to the breakfast voucher scheme on offer from Reception. The aim of the voucher is to save each client money as we have secured a particular set "English breakfast" at a discounted rate for our guests with this voucher. In saying that, sometimes our guests appreciate the flexibility of being able to change the "set breakfast" on offer and therefore the cafés in question gladly accommodate that. The aim is always that our guests receive a benefit from having purchased the voucher from ourselves although we will be taking immediate steps to ensure that this is always the case as a result of your review.

Thank you for choosing to stay with this on this occasion and I hope you might re-consider our Hotel in future light of this information.

Kind regards,

Niamh McGee
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#261 of 1,068 in London
706 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#517 of 1,068 in London
419 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#589 of 1,068 in London
154 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Property: Chelsea Guest House
Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#69 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing