We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary and convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Guest House
Ranked #317 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Contemporary and convenient!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Staying here for two nights for Freeze Festival was ideal. Close to Clapham Common and trains/buses. Pleasantly surprised with the recently refurbished room - small but perfectly formed! Shower was lush and relieved to have tea/coffee facilities for the morning. TV and free WiFi too! The staff were really friendly and welcoming - 24 hour reception is very convenient and reassuring and good check in/check out times. We were staying in Room 3 which is right next to the front door, and did have a lot of noise from the road. Also, without the blind down, all from the street could see in. Maybe needs to be half frosted for some privacy and natural daylight. Despite that I would definitely book here again as it is such great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banana2835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Banana2835,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of your stay at Chelsea Guest House during your visit to London for the Freeze Festival 2013, we hope you enjoyed the festival as much as the other guests we had staying with us for this event.

We always appreciate our guests reviewing our newly refurbished rooms, as we have put a lot of effort into sourcing and researching the best furniture and fittings possible for our guests comfort during their stay with us.
We are sorry that you experienced some noise from the main road, and for your next visit just ask the receptionist when you make your reservation directly, to allocate you a room away from the main road and we will be more than happy to accommodate this for you.

Thank you once again for your review, and we do hope we will see you on your next visit to London.

Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    417
    171
    61
    23
See reviews for
154
270
129
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here with my sister as we were going to Brixton academy for a gig. I thought that as the price was so reasonable it would be the type of place that you are happy just to sleep in and the room may be tiny and very basic. We were so pleased with the room, it was modern, clean and the showers room was lovely - even nicer than the bathroom I had at the marriot hotel the week before! I would definitely go there again if I needed to be in that neck of the woods. The staff were nice. They are currently refurbing other parts of the guest house so I am sure that it will all look lovely very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneandBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Reception at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Marianne and Bobby,

Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review of your stay at Chelsea Guest House, it was truly a pleasure to have you over.

We strive to offer our guests a great experience, whether they are commuting from one business location to another, or looking to catch a party in Brixton, so we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We were also happy to see that our efforts to modernize our guest house have not gone unnoticed, and you are right that we are looking to raise the standard for all the rooms in the guest house.

We are also smiling with joy, that you mention our bathrooms are superior to those of a certain well know hotel brand you stayed with recently, and although we do not compare ourselves with the bigger hotels, it is always such a pleasure to read that we are able to offer a better service and standard of room, at a fraction of the cost of the big organizations.

Thank you once again for your review, and please do not hesitate to contact us the next time you will be in London.

Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

5mins from wands worth road railway. Station. Clean , full free view on the tv , wifi in the room, did the job. For one night, just been repainted so had a smell of paint. Nothing special but did the job . Check out 11am

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank darren040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Reception at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Darren,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Chelsea Guest House, we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.

You are right to point that we are in a process of redecoration, where we are looking to improve customer experience while keeping our great low prices and amenities such as free Wi-Fi and TV.

We would also like to point out that we do offer our guests tan extended check out time of 1.30pm, for a small fee, so if you ever need an extra hour or so of sleep, please ask one of our staff and they will be happy to help with this.

Once again, we thank you for your review and hope that we will hear from you again soon!

Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We came here to stop over for two nights so wasn't really bothered about where we were staying, we just knew it looked average and it was cheap. However, we ended up with one of the newly refurbished rooms which was great, modern, clean and comfortable. The staff were always really friendly and helpful, offering solutions to any problems and giving good travel information. I would definitely return here in the future, as it was good value for money! Only bad point (not meaning to be picky) was the pillows, they were a little pointless, had to fold it over and use a couple of towels, but apart from that, excellent two night stay! Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Nicole M,

Thank you for your kind review of Chelsea Guest House.

We appreciate your review of one of our newly refurbished rooms. We are always looking to make improvements within the guest house, and when starting our recent refurbishments were looking into what our guests were looking for when making reservations in London, and we feel that we have achieved just that with our fresh look, modern decor, clean and comfortable rooms.

We have taken note of your comment regarding the pillows, and have now replaced those in the room you were staying in, with our newer larger pillows so that our guests can have an even more comfortable nights rest after a busy day touring the city, or a long day in the office.

We are glad to see that you will return to us on your next visit to London, and look forward to your return.

All the best,

Kind Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a night out at Brixton academy. It was ideal because we could walk to the academy (with the help of google maps it was just over a mile).
We had a pleasant welcome on arrival, and given directions to our room which was in the very basement of the hotel. It's clear they are doing renovations and I'm sure it will be great when it's completed. We found our way down to the room squeezing past spare mattresses and odd bits of furniture, turning lights on as we went. Didn't really bother us but didn't make it particularly presentable. The room was basic but clean, just seemed very thrown together and unfinished purely to get a nightly income during the renovation. The bathroom was newly fitted and tiled but they had fixed back on the old rusty loo roll holder and mirror? No mirror in bedroom to do hair and make up. Lamp on floor on carpet by bed. Bent down to switch on and smell of damp from carpet really hit me, it made the room quite musty. The bed was new and one of the low wood frame sorts, this is fine but the space was too small for it and my other half hit his shins off the corner of the wood frame twice as it wasn't obvious that under the duvet the hard wood corners were sticking out.
Overall we stayed here for a cheap option for our night out. We were there 8-10pm getting ready then 6-10am for a doze before check out, for that reason it was fine, I would definitely stay again if I go back to Brixton academy as the walking distance was ideal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99hstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear 99hstephens,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your stay with us at Chelsea Guest House.

As you mention, we are in an ideal location for Brixton academy, and are often used by guests attending the venue for various performances. We are a short walk away, around 20 minutes walk, or just 5 minutes in a taxi that our receptionists can arrange for you.

We are underway with our renovations throughout the guest house, and appreciate your comments regarding this. Our standard rooms at present are basic, but clean, comfortable and affordable, for our guests who are looking for a base whilst on their visit to the city. For those guests who are needing to spend more time in the rooms, we have our premium rooms that offer more working space, tea/coffee facilities and more comfort. We believe we are able to accommodate for everyones needs, and having standard and premium rooms allows us to this.

We look forward to you returning to us on your next visit to London, and we will be further along with our renovations so we can't wait to show you our improvements.

Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed here on 7th November as my daughter was going to brixton academy. The hotel was as advertised except they don't show anywhere that it will cost you an extra £20 to park for the night. I did try to confirm the parking before our trip but there was no response and when I complained at reception they did at least offer a reduced rate. The room was good, very clean and spacious but the zebra crossing outside our window was a bit annoying. It's a bit of a hike to the nearest tube station but the buses are frequent and stop right outside the hotel. All in all I would recommend it, good value as long as you don't expect anything too fancy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Reception at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Judi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Chelsea Guest House, your comments have been noted and we will work to improve our guest experience. We will look into why your query was not answered and make sure this does not happen again as we do aim to respond to all emails within 24 hours.

With many guests coming to enjoy the wonderful shows at the O2 Brixton Academy, we try to offer a straightforward service that gives our clients a cosy bed to rest and a welcoming atmosphere in preparation for the show. Our staff are always happy to point the easiest way to and from the hotel to the O2 Academy.


We hope that your daughter enjoyed the concert and that you had a lovely time as well. We thank you once again for your review and hope that we will hear from you again on the next occasion.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Paul
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception staff who were very helpful.
No hot water though, i had to have a cold one after 45 minutes of waiting and 2 trips to reception for my boyfriend. They said they had sorted it but this was at 10pm and we had an event to go to that we were already late for. Tap in the bathroom wouldn't turn off either.
The next morning my boyfriend was having a shower when the hot water gave up again and went freezing cold.
Clean room and VERY comfy bed but bed was just placed in the centre of the room.
Overall not bad for the price, would stay again in a different room though.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jess R,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to Chelsea Guest House, we are always trying to improve the experience of our guests and your input is very important for that.

We do apologize for the issue you had in regards to the hot water during your stay. Firstly may I point out that this is not usual for the guest house at all, and we have now discovered the reason for this was due to a failure in the boiler system.
However I am now pleased to say that this issue is now fully resolved, though we did have to call in professionals to deal with the issue, which is why, although they tried their best to resolve the issue, it was something beyond the receptionists control to fix the problem themselves.

We are pleased to see that you did enjoy your visit with us, and this minor issue will not deter you from visiting us once again. We are well underway on making major improvement throughout the guest house, including our guest rooms and hope you will return to enjoy these changes.

We once again thank you for posting a review and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to the city.


Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Church Street Hotel
#461 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#233 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Property: Chelsea Guest House
Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#77 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing