We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelsea Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
323
489
193
66
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
489
193
66
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswandsworth roadbrixton academypremium roomoverground stationbus stopbudget hotelbusy roadtransport linksmin walkshort staytrafalgar squarewould stay againsingle roomcentral londonone night staycouple of nightscomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
716 - 721 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here as I was volunteering at Walk the Walk at Clapham Common. It was really near and very easy to find. There are three large houses that each have a number of rooms. Right next door is McDonalds so it is easy to find. The parking is right outside but I think there was only 4 spaces, unless there were more behind? The room had two single beds which were comfortable and clean, The shower room was clean and the shower was great. The pillows were odd as one bed had a huge hard one and the other bed had a soft and floppy one.
One point is that I would recommend bringing ear plugs as it is right on the main road and so the traffic noise is pretty much throughout the night - I know I was up at 4am! It didn't bother me but it probably would if you are a light sleeper.
Checkout was easy as I just had to drop the key in a letter box. Couldn't get any breakfast, which they don't serve anyway (you buy a voucher for a nearby cafe) as nothing was open at 4am but I was aware of that previously so I had catered for myself.
I would stay there again as all I needed was somewhere to crash for the night and not an experience :-)

Room Tip: No lift so if you have issues with stairs, ask for a ground floor. If you don't like traffic noise I'd ask for a room at the back or take ear plugs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayWestrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Kaywepstrip,
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely experience of stay at Chelsea Guest House.
We had many lovely people staying with us who attended the Walk the Walk. I think it is a great event and we have been pleased to accommodate all of you wonderful people giving their all to fight the breast cancer. There should be events like this more often.
We are glad you had a good time at the Chelsea Guest House and that you were impressed with our accommodation.
As you pointed out, the guest house is located in a very great location, well connected ad easy to find. We have the bus stop just on the front door which allows our guests to reach the city centre with a short ride.
We have four parking space just in front of the building, and for this reason is always advisable to book in advance.
We don’t have lift, however the reception team is always ready to assist our guests as much as possible, whether they need help with the luggage or providing extra bedding for the rooms.
Our team is always looking to better accommodate our guests and if you have any particular requests on your next stay, please contact the hotel and we will do our upmost to ensure the requests are met.
Many Thanks once again
Kind Regards
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A good stay, nearby public transportation and a good 3 person’s room what’s difficult to find. Nothing to complain, price is ok for an expensive London. We did not use the breakfast, it’s not included, that's maybe a minus point for the price. .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Almert,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Chelsea Guest House. We offer an affordable, clean and friendly place to stay in London and we are pleased you appreciated it. London is an expensive city, so we are proud we can offer comfortable rooms in an excellent location, close to the city centre and very well connected with it by bus, tube and Overground at an affordable price. We offer different kinds of rooms, from our singles to the doubles or twin, and also the triples and family rooms, not only do we offer many rooms to accommodate different group sizes, we also offer standard rooms and premium rooms, more spacious and newly renovated to accommodate everyone with different budgets. We don’t include breakfast as standard as we understand not all guests would like to take breakfast, instead we offer those who would like breakfast, for the small amount of £5, a full English, traditional or vegetarian breakfast at a local cafe for which we have received very positive feedback.
Thanks once again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again very soon
Warm Regards
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband for a break in London. Our 1st mistake was getting to this hotel we made our way on the underground/overground at Wandsworth road but once got there discovered was so much easier on the bus (No 87) around 20-35 minutes to Trafalgar Square depending on traffics or a 5 minute bus ride ( 87/77) from stop right by hotel to vauxhall station where u can take the tube. This bus runs all night so no need to worry whatever time u want to stay in Central london til very easy to get back! when got to the hotel the hotel looks very nice from the outside and when went in there was a strong smell of paint u can tell the place is being refurbished but it no big deal was greeted by very friendly members of staff who told us room was on 1st floor. There is no lift upstairs which not ideal with luggage but only had small cases so was ok between us
However the staff are so friendly sure they would help u if they asked. When got to the room the actually bedroom area
Is quite big we stayed in a standard twin as all doubles were booked the furniture could do with updating but the beds were comfortable and the room was clean which is all u can ask for in a budget room in London. The bathroom was very small and there is only 1 small mirror in there and nowhere else which wasn't ideal for us but we managed for 2
Nights but can Imagine not great if 2 girls were sharing the room getting ready for night out the positive though the shower was great though! They don't provide toiletries apart from hand wash ( but budget hotel so not really a surprise). There is plenty of
Information in the room about travel things to do etc and they Provide free wifi which a great bonus. We didn't get the breakfast voucher but as McDonald's right next door not a problem for a 'non healthy' breakfast :-). Also we found a nice Portuguese restaurant A Toca 5 mins down the road recommend by the reception staff which done lovely food and u get a lot for your
Money so highly recommend going there! Overall would
Defiantly stay at this hotel again for budget stay in London

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Valleygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Valleygirl69,

Many thanks for the time spent to write your glowing review, we really appreciate every review we receive as it helps us to improve our services to our guests.

As you say in your review, we are a budget hotel, and our main aim is to ensure we give each and every one of our guests an enjoyable stay in a clean, comfortable, welcoming and friendly accommodation in London. Although some of our rooms are basic standard rooms, we do have Premium rooms that offer more luxurious surroundings, royally approved beds, tea and coffee and toiletries included – we believe having these different standards of rooms ensures we can cater to everyone looking for accommodation in London. Our team has been trained to guide the guest in the discovery of the city, to address them to the best restaurants in the nearby area and to give all the transport information they require to ensure their visit runs as smoothly as possible.

We are currently undergoing some improvement works within the guest house to ensure we are keeping up with our main focus for our guests, however we are ensuring these works do not disrupt our guests’ stays while they are with us.

If you are coming back to London again, we would love to welcome you back to guest house.

Many Thanks,

Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for just one night last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The staff were lovely and welcoming and had some good information about the public transport in the area. I had mentioned that we were there for a birthday and when we came back to our room late at night they had decorated the room and left a bottle of wine for us. Such a nice surprise (for us both actually) which really made our night. I really had not expected that. Unfortunately I was not able to thank them in person when we checked out early sunday morning so this is my thank you note to all of those who were working over the weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, room 26. It was very basic but was a decent size and was quiet.
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sezanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Sezaz B,

Thank you for your lovely review of our guest house.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time whilst staying with us, and you appreciated the extra surprise prepared for you on your return to the guest house.

It is always a pleasure to know that we are doing our jobs well as we work extremely hard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay whether they are here for a celebration, visiting the nearby central sights of London or on a business trip. Whether it be from small extra touches in the room, to a friendly smile and all the information a traveller could want from our reception team.

We will share your comment with all of the team, who I am sure will feel very proud to know they are doing such a good job.

We hope to see you again soon,

Warm Regards,

Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here from the 12th until the 14th April, and was simple yet excellent. Staff very knowledgeable and willing to help. Good location, next to mcdonalds if you don't fancy paying the fiver for breakfast. Stayed in a double (not superior), comfortable bed, small but met needs as only needed to sleep in, though the pillows wouldn't't have supported a worm but extras were available in reception. Secure, clean, brilliant staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemstone90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Gemsatone90,

It’ s always a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our guests.

Many thanks for the time spent to write about us, we really appreciate it.

We are pleased to read that all our efforts to give our guests a lovely experience and stay in London have paid off.
We try to do our best by listening to our guest requests and requirements and, as you said, sometimes you just need to ask at the reception!

There will always be one of the team able to help you with information about directions, restaurants, many attractions and to give you an extra pillow, in case you need!

I have forwarded your nice comments to the reception and the housekeeping teams, they are both happy and inspired by comments like yours to continue to do a good job.

Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Warm Regards
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews