We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, easy to reach, minimal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Guest House
Ranked #313 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stay at Chelsea Guest House for 5 nights on August 2014.
At our arrival a nice girl received and explained us the hotel's basics, she gave us the key of our room and of the main door (so we could always enter).
The room and the bathroom were a bit small and essential, but at the same time clean and enough, seeing that we used the hotel as "base" for the night.
According to us, if you are looking for a place to leave your luggage, take a shower and sleep, this hotel is recommended.
The only black mark is that our walls' room weren't soundproof and every morning at 5.30/6.00 began a noise like a construction sit; also the others guests' sounds were really audible.
All things considered, we think that, for the London's standards, Chelsea Guest House is a good answer if you are looking for an average hotel, clean, with a good staff, without exaggerated claims.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaviniaLavLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear LaviniaLavLav,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review about your recent stay with us at Chelsea Guest House.

We truly appreciate all feedback from our guests, and all the team are thankful you noticed the hard work and effort that they put into their jobs each day to ensure all our guests leave satisfied with their stay, and wanting to return to the guest house again in the future.

When you are next visiting London, we would love to see you again.

Many Thanks,

Danielle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stay here with my 12 years old son for two nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions. Our room had been renovated; the bathroom was bright & clean. If needed McDonalds was next door to the hotel. The Wandsworth Rd railway station Overground was only 100m from the hotel. You needed to change at Clapham High St station to the Black Northern Underground tube line to head for London or just keep on sitting on the bus which will bring you to Trafalgar Square in 10 - 15 minutes. Will recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: This guest house has two buildings next to each other. We have stay onthe main building where the re...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Wieringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Wieringa,
Thank you so much for you positive comment about your stay at the Chelsea Guest House.
It is lovely to know we can cater for each and everyone’s needs, whether they come for one night stay, for a business trip or as tourists with kids and family. We offer different kind of rooms which, we believe, can match everyone’s pockets and requests. From the basic single and standard double, twin and family up to the premium rooms, twin, double, triple, more spacious and with more comforts.
We see ourselves as located in an excellent location to visit the centre: 24 h buses at the doorstep, overground at 100 mt, as you underlined, northern line 10 minutes walk away. Although you can reach the heart of the centre with a short ride, you can still enjoy the fantastic area of Clapham , 10 minutes walking away from the Guest House.
We are really happy you found our Guest House of your liking! We are currently undergoing some other renovation works to ensure all the rooms will look perfect for our guests.
We do hope to welcome you again and if you want you can contact us directly and we will try to find the room which best suits your needs.
Thanks once again.
Best Regards
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The room was clean with a very good bed. Good location with a direct bus to downtown. But really small room, my double room was equivalent to a small single to me. A lot of noise from the outside and the inside.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Aude L,
Thanks for your comment.
I am glad to read you notice how clean our rooms are. Our housekeeping team work very hard every day to maintain high cleanliness standard.
On your next visit to London, if you wish to come back and stay with us, we would be happy to look for the room which best suits your requests, whether that be a bigger room or one away from the main road, which some of our guests can find allows noise into their room.
Lovely Regards
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We found the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful with directions and with phoning a business for us. They also assisted carrying our luggage up the stairs to the top floor. Our room had been renovated; the bathroom was bright and airy with opening windows. Tea and coffee were provided, towels were changed each day. If needed McDonalds was next door to the hotel. The Wandsworth Rd railway station Overground was only 100m from the hotel. You needed to change at Clapham High St station to the Black Northern Underground tube line to head for London. The only problem we had with the room was during the hot weather London was experiencing at the time we couldn't open the window at night to cool the room as it faced the busy street. A desk fan was provided but a ceiling fan would give more comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a low floor at the back of the hotel/
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Diana 161,
Thanks for your glowing review. It is a pleasure to read you had a great time while with us. This is the kind of feeling we always hope our customers leave the Guest House with!
As said before, our mission is to make our guests feel at home by providing them with all the assistance they may need during their stay. By reading your comments, I can say we are on the right way! Thanks once again.
The connections with the city centre from the Guest House are very easy and accessible, you can use the buses passing from our doorstep or the overground or even reach The Northern line in 10 minutes walking if you want to.
On your next time to London, call us directly, we will do our best to allocate you off the main street.
Best Regards
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Clean wide rooms, just some fixation to the bathroom and perfect, very nice staff and helpful, the location is excellent, near center of london but more quiet. definitely recommend and will return back

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asmaa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Asmaa c,
Many thanks for staying with us and for your shining comment.
All the team, from the reception to the housekeeping, ask me to thank you! We feel very proud of our work when our customers notice it. Our reception team is fully trained and naturally keen to advise our guests with all the tips they need to explore this beautiful city.
Our building team is already at work to fix the little things that need improving within our guest house, and we hope that when you return we will be able to show you the work we have done.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon!
Kind Regards
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you can get along with just the basics (no tea/coffee, Kleenex, shampoo, hair dryer, washcloth, air conditioning), then this is a great place to stay. The staff is very helpful, the price is reasonable, and there is good transportation into central London. I was traveling alone, so security was important to me; I felt safe here. That said, there was a good bit of noise during the nights. It was hard to tell if it came from within the hotel or outside. Either way, it wasn't really the hotel's fault. My bed could have been more comfortable. The bathroom, though small, had been recently redone and was spotless. If I ever get back to London I would choose it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room than you think you need, as they run small.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Sing13 star,
It was a pleasure to have you stay at the Chelsea Guest House. We hope you will come back to visit us and to take the chance to try one of our Premium rooms, coming with all the comforts you may need: toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, Hypnos bed and modern furniture.
We believe we offer good value accommodation for all visitors to the city, with all budgets, from the basic standard rooms to the premium that as said, offer more luxurious surrounding and more space for just few extra pounds.
Safety, as I have said before, is an important matter for us. The area is safe itself but our team know that being alone in a big city can be daunting for some guests, so we ensure that our team constantly checks that everything is alright personally, and with the help of the technology, since we have 24h CCTV in operation. Thanks once again to have underlined it.
I hope to see you at the guest house again soon.
Warm Regards
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've stayed here several times over the past couple of years and it's always been a very pleasant experience. The staff have always been friendly, polite, and helpful. The rooms, while a little basic, are comfortable and clean. While they are en-suite, they don't come with high dryers nor irons so if you need either, it may be wise to bring them with you. The guest house also doesn't have tea and coffee making facilities (I believe you now can upgrade for a few pounds extra to have some “mod cons”, including tea and coffee and hair dryers) nor do they serve food. However, they do have a few vending machines, a breakfast deal with a nearby cafe, and there is a 24 hour McDonald's next door. Whatever you do, don't try the Italian restaurant just up the road. The food was awful and it was an uncomfortable experience. Whatever was in the food, it wasn't the chicken I'd ordered. There are also several other fast food places on the Wandsworth Road as well as several convenience stores. However, it isn't brilliant for eating unless you like burgers but you can get into central London very easily from this location.

Chelsea Guest House is located right next to a bus stop. Buses run regularly into central London and to the nearby Vauxhall bus terminal (which has overground and underground train services). They also have on-site parking.

One thing that really impressed me was their security. I returned late one night from a club and, while I was having a cigarette outside, they came to the door to ask if I was okay and needed any help. Travelling as a single woman it was definitely a safe and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: The basement rooms tend to be noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear RACH G,
You have been so nice to write such a lovely review about us and your stay at the Chelsea Guest House. We really do appreciate this.
We look forward to welcome you again and next time, you can have more space in your luggage to carry back all your souvenirs from the city, as there is no need to bring your hair dryer or iron, just ask at the reception. We do provide our guests with them on request and free of charge of course.
I am sorry to read you didn’t’ t like the Italian restaurant, we would love for you to email us directly and let us know which restaurant it was so we can avoid to recommend to other guests. We can count on several tried & trusted good restaurants nearby, catering for everyone’s needs and budget. McDonald’s can be convenient because it is just beside us, but sometimes you may fancy something different! Our reception team is keen on addressing our guests to find the right place for every taste.
As you said, it is always possible to upgrade to one of our premium rooms, provided with more luxurious surroundings, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletries and Hypnos beds (which are Royally approved).
Safety is something we take very seriously, we do care about our customers and we are glad you felt this.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon, for your next visit please contact us directly, as a returning customer we would love to be able to show you one of our premium rooms, so you can see the improvements we are making within the guest house.

Kind Regards
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Church Street Hotel
#513 of 1,071 in London
429 reviews
Caring Hotel
#538 of 1,071 in London
786 reviews
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#590 of 1,071 in London
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#255 of 1,071 in London
723 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#268 of 1,071 in London
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#56 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: £52 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing