We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well placed for the O2 Brixton Academy!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Guest House
Ranked #310 of 1,090 Hotels in London
York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well placed for the O2 Brixton Academy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we were going to see a gig at the O2 Academy in nearby Brixton.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, giving us directions to get to Brixton and offering to arrange a taxi should we need one late at night. The buses on the Wandsworth road are regular, with the 87 and 77 taking you to Vauxhall station and the 196 taking you to straight outside the O2 Brixton Academy!
The room was plain, functional and clean. It was on the small side but perfectly fine for our short stay! The room had a TV and wardrobes etc. with towels provided. The one downside was there wasn't a full length mirror but it didn't bother us too much just for one night!
It was easy to get into the building at any time (you are given a key) and there was always someone friendly on reception (24hrs) if we needed anything!
Overall a really great place to stay for the price, well connected to Brixton and further afield! When I next go to the O2 Academy Brixton, I will definitely stay at Chelsea Guest House again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear ClaraJoanna,

Thank you very much for your 5* and descriptive review of our guest house. We always appreciate feedback such as yours.

As you mention, we are ideally located for the likes of Brixton O2, as well as Clapham Common which also regularly features some great events and festivals.

As you may have noticed during your visit, we are currently undergoing some renovations, and included in this are full length mirrors in all our rooms, tea and coffee facilities and more. This is all thanks to the feedback we receive from our guests and are able to listen and react to what our guests require when they are staying away from home. These refurbishments are happening room by room, so I hope on your next visit we will be able to offer you one of these rooms so you can see the difference we are making.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Many Thanks,

Danielle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    408
    167
    59
    23
See reviews for
150
264
127
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We chose Chelsea Guest House as it was relatively cheap & on the map looked easy to get to from the West End. Was not as easy as we had hoped but we got there! We checked in very late & staff were very welcoming. We were given keys for a different building where our room was. The room was right next to a very heavy very loud front door. Shower was hot but dirty & the toilet was a horrible colour in the basin! It felt dirty & dusty in the room. The pillows were wafer thin & only one each. We were woken at 5am by the hotel door opening & closing several times. It was so loud it made me jump! This continued as guests left at 6.30, then 7. You could hear peoples conversations in the hall even though they were only talking. Traffic noise also very bad! Check out was pleasant and staff helpfull but we won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Sian b,

I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations on your visit to London.

As you can see in previous reviews, we are well connected to the center of London, and especially for the West End as we have several buses that stop close by to the hotel which can take you directly to the West End, I am sorry you did not receive this information when you checked in. All our guests are given as much information as they wish to take away with them from the check in process, and my team are always told to ask if there is any specific directions or help our guests may need to help assist with your visit.

After receiving your review, our Head Housekeeper went directly to the room and instructed our maintenance team to carry out a full refurbishment on the room. This has now been completed, and I am sorry that the room was not up to our usual standards, and I can assure you this will not be repeated.

I would love for you to reconsider and to come and visit us once again, and see our improvements and perhaps see one of our premium rooms, which may suit your needs more than our standard rooms.

Many Thanks,

Danielle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We arrive at the chelsea guest house this morning. .. me and my 2 children around 10.45 am ..the receptionist was lovely
. I ask if we could leave our luggage while we waited next door in McDonald's ..on the plus side ,the kids was happy .. our room is lovely ..prefect base away from central london and it's sites

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Chloe B,

Thank you for writing your 5* review of our guest house.

We always try to accommodate early arrivals if possible, and I am pleased we were able to manage this for you, especially after traveling with your children. We know that our guests often would like to be able to have time for a short rest in their rooms before going out to explore the city.

I am pleased you found our location a perfect base in which to visit the sites and sounds that this magically city has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to London.

Many Thanks,

Danielle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South shields
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked this for my girlfriends birthday. Had the premium room and it's outstanding value for London. It's location makes it very easy to get around and I had read reviews which went from excellent to poor. If you want a location with the best surroundings, go pay silly money. If however you want a decent room with excellent service and a travel friendly location, book up! I will recommend to friends and family and I will definitely stay again. The manageress was first class, very friendly and knowledgable. Can't praise the place enough.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chunkypunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Chunkypunk,

We hope you and your girlfriend had a brilliant time in London, and judging by your review, we helped with that by offering outstanding value, excellent service and travel friendly location.

We always love to see returning guests, so we do hope we will see you again on your next visit to London.

I am very fond of getting to know our guests, to be able to match and understand guests needs and requirements all to help improve our services, so I like to take the time to talk, interact and treat our guests like a long lost friend, of course while remaining professional and as informative as I can be for them.

Warm Regards,

Danielle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

From start to finish I have been very impressed with the customer service, standard of the rooms and value for money... I will happily recommend and use this hotel again. All facilities are clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Spgoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Spgoody,

Firstly, thank you from everyone at the Chelsea Guest House for choosing to stay with us and for following your stay with a wonderful review.

We work extremely hard, every single day to ensure our guests leave with the feelings you have described in your review, and it is an honor for all of the team to see that our guests appreciate this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the guest house on your next visit to London.

Warmest Regards,

Danielle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely refurbished rooms, friendly staff easy location to get it town. However road is busy but that doesn't come as a shock as it's on a road. For the price couldn't fault it, bus right outside, parking on the front and a great restaurant 10 mins walk.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSingleMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear TravellingSingleMum,

I am so pleased to see you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and appreciated our teams friendliness and welcoming approach to all our guests.

The road outside the guest house can be busy during peak times, however we try to minimize the noise by having double glazing in our rooms, and soundproofing is part of our new refurbishment plans to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable nights sleep.

We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to London.

Warm Regards,

Danielle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel recently renovated, the room and the bathroom were clean but very small. There's a bus stop very close that permits to reach Trafalgar Square or Westminster in 15/20 minutes.
The staff members were always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TaNGleDd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear TaNGleDd,

Thank you for your review.

As you mention, we are located ideally for the centre of the city with a 24 hour bus route that you can pick up just down the road from the Guest House.

We pride ourselves on cleanliness, location, value for money and our excellent service, so to read review such as yours that points this out, makes us beam with pride.

Thank you once again, and we would love for you to come and stay with us again on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,

Danielle Mort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Church Street Hotel
#457 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#231 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Property: Chelsea Guest House
Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing