We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsecure and basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Guest House
Ranked #333 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our room was very basic! We stopped for one night, and to be honest really wouldn't have wanted to stop any longer. The room was fairly clean but under the bed was very dusty and there was scum in the shower tray. We stopped in a ground floor room which would have been fine, however the large window had no locks and the bars over the windows were hinged and easy to get into from the outside. Basically put, if somebody wanted to get in they could, although this could have been for fire safety there wasn't even any latches on the window themselves, we didn't feel very safe and had to take any valuables with us. Having stopped in hotels before I feel that things like a hair drier and tea or coffee making facilities are the basics neither of these were present. I understand that (for London) the price of the room was cheap (£65 a night) but we were just disappointed. It felt more like a hostal than a hotel, if we had wanted to stop in a hostal we would have paid hostel prices!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saddestsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Saddestsmile,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our guest house, we appreciate all feedback from our guests as this helps us to improve our services we offer.

I am sorry that you did not feel secure in your room. Security and Safety for us is of paramount importance when it comes to our guests, hence our lock system on the front doors to allow only guests access to our hotels, as well as full CCTV and 24 hour reception.
The bars on the windows, as you mentioned are there for security, however as you mentioned also, they are not able to be locked due to fire regulations. However, we can assure you we have never had a problem or issue with this, and all windows are lockable from the inside.

I do hope you will return to stay with us once more,

Warm Regards,

Danielle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we were going to see a gig at the O2 Academy in nearby Brixton.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, giving us directions to get to Brixton and offering to arrange a taxi should we need one late at night. The buses on the Wandsworth road are regular, with the 87 and 77 taking you to Vauxhall station and the 196 taking you to straight outside the O2 Brixton Academy!
The room was plain, functional and clean. It was on the small side but perfectly fine for our short stay! The room had a TV and wardrobes etc. with towels provided. The one downside was there wasn't a full length mirror but it didn't bother us too much just for one night!
It was easy to get into the building at any time (you are given a key) and there was always someone friendly on reception (24hrs) if we needed anything!
Overall a really great place to stay for the price, well connected to Brixton and further afield! When I next go to the O2 Academy Brixton, I will definitely stay at Chelsea Guest House again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ClaraJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear ClaraJoanna,

Thank you very much for your 5* and descriptive review of our guest house. We always appreciate feedback such as yours.

As you mention, we are ideally located for the likes of Brixton O2, as well as Clapham Common which also regularly features some great events and festivals.

As you may have noticed during your visit, we are currently undergoing some renovations, and included in this are full length mirrors in all our rooms, tea and coffee facilities and more. This is all thanks to the feedback we receive from our guests and are able to listen and react to what our guests require when they are staying away from home. These refurbishments are happening room by room, so I hope on your next visit we will be able to offer you one of these rooms so you can see the difference we are making.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Many Thanks,

Danielle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We chose Chelsea Guest House as it was relatively cheap & on the map looked easy to get to from the West End. Was not as easy as we had hoped but we got there! We checked in very late & staff were very welcoming. We were given keys for a different building where our room was. The room was right next to a very heavy very loud front door. Shower was hot but dirty & the toilet was a horrible colour in the basin! It felt dirty & dusty in the room. The pillows were wafer thin & only one each. We were woken at 5am by the hotel door opening & closing several times. It was so loud it made me jump! This continued as guests left at 6.30, then 7. You could hear peoples conversations in the hall even though they were only talking. Traffic noise also very bad! Check out was pleasant and staff helpfull but we won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsTMrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Sian b,

I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations on your visit to London.

As you can see in previous reviews, we are well connected to the center of London, and especially for the West End as we have several buses that stop close by to the hotel which can take you directly to the West End, I am sorry you did not receive this information when you checked in. All our guests are given as much information as they wish to take away with them from the check in process, and my team are always told to ask if there is any specific directions or help our guests may need to help assist with your visit.

After receiving your review, our Head Housekeeper went directly to the room and instructed our maintenance team to carry out a full refurbishment on the room. This has now been completed, and I am sorry that the room was not up to our usual standards, and I can assure you this will not be repeated.

I would love for you to reconsider and to come and visit us once again, and see our improvements and perhaps see one of our premium rooms, which may suit your needs more than our standard rooms.

Many Thanks,

Danielle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We arrive at the chelsea guest house this morning. .. me and my 2 children around 10.45 am ..the receptionist was lovely
. I ask if we could leave our luggage while we waited next door in McDonald's ..on the plus side ,the kids was happy .. our room is lovely ..prefect base away from central london and it's sites

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Chloe B,

Thank you for writing your 5* review of our guest house.

We always try to accommodate early arrivals if possible, and I am pleased we were able to manage this for you, especially after traveling with your children. We know that our guests often would like to be able to have time for a short rest in their rooms before going out to explore the city.

I am pleased you found our location a perfect base in which to visit the sites and sounds that this magically city has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to London.

Many Thanks,

Danielle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked this for my girlfriends birthday. Had the premium room and it's outstanding value for London. It's location makes it very easy to get around and I had read reviews which went from excellent to poor. If you want a location with the best surroundings, go pay silly money. If however you want a decent room with excellent service and a travel friendly location, book up! I will recommend to friends and family and I will definitely stay again. The manageress was first class, very friendly and knowledgable. Can't praise the place enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chunkypunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Chunkypunk,

We hope you and your girlfriend had a brilliant time in London, and judging by your review, we helped with that by offering outstanding value, excellent service and travel friendly location.

We always love to see returning guests, so we do hope we will see you again on your next visit to London.

I am very fond of getting to know our guests, to be able to match and understand guests needs and requirements all to help improve our services, so I like to take the time to talk, interact and treat our guests like a long lost friend, of course while remaining professional and as informative as I can be for them.

Warm Regards,

Danielle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

From start to finish I have been very impressed with the customer service, standard of the rooms and value for money... I will happily recommend and use this hotel again. All facilities are clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Spgoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Spgoody,

Firstly, thank you from everyone at the Chelsea Guest House for choosing to stay with us and for following your stay with a wonderful review.

We work extremely hard, every single day to ensure our guests leave with the feelings you have described in your review, and it is an honor for all of the team to see that our guests appreciate this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the guest house on your next visit to London.

Warmest Regards,

Danielle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely refurbished rooms, friendly staff easy location to get it town. However road is busy but that doesn't come as a shock as it's on a road. For the price couldn't fault it, bus right outside, parking on the front and a great restaurant 10 mins walk.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank TravellingSingleMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear TravellingSingleMum,

I am so pleased to see you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and appreciated our teams friendliness and welcoming approach to all our guests.

The road outside the guest house can be busy during peak times, however we try to minimize the noise by having double glazing in our rooms, and soundproofing is part of our new refurbishment plans to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable nights sleep.

We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to London.

Warm Regards,

Danielle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#597 of 1,077 in London
176 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#534 of 1,077 in London
437 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#424 of 1,077 in London
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#268 of 1,077 in London
729 reviews
Caring Hotel
#555 of 1,077 in London
798 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#486 of 1,077 in London
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#70 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: £50 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing