We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can - And dont ignore the other reviews like we did!”
Review of City Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Inn Express
Ranked #933 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can - And dont ignore the other reviews like we did!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed here recently, we travelled up to London to see a show so wanted somewhere cheap and basic to stay the night. The hotel was clean, however the noise levels were unacceptable. We knew there would be some noise due to the hotel being directly next to a petrol station but the main issues were with the room itself. The shower was more like a leaking tap, very weak but warm. The extractor fan in the bathroom turned off and on every 2 minutes and was extremely loud, to the point we could hear the fan in the room opposite ours, There was no switch / plug to turn this off. The room was very hot, the windows offered little relief. Whenever a car went by the curtain pole shook and woke us up. I would avoid if you can, unless your a VERY heavy sleeper. After a night of no sleep we left at 7am and skipped breakfast, So unable to comment on the food. A rubbish end to what was a fantastic evening

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlalouise1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as it could have been . Your points have been noted and will be addressed.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    49
    42
    18
    58
See reviews for
32
33
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clapham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Although difficult to find, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the City Inn Express. It is excellent value for money. The room was clean and the marble staircase so spotless you could eat your dinner off it. The staff were great, and went out of their way to lend me a mobile phone charger as I had forgotten mine.

We had the £4 breakfast, which was egg, toast, jam and tea. It did the job and filled us up - no complaints here.

My only comment would be that the raidator valve was broken so we couldn't turn the radiator off, but other than that, the room was excellent.

I would stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityinnexp, Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I traveled to and stayed in London for about 4 weeks in Aug 13, I stayed in this hotel in a double bed room during my visit. Staff are friendly, nice and welcoming. Staff guided me on traveling the city, provided me umbrella when it was raining outside. Rooms were clean and well heated. Bathroom/shower was clean. Clean towels and some toiletries were provided every day. Garbage bags were replaced everyday.

Satellite TV and PC-Internet in common area. Free WIFI reached my room on the second floor.

Location/Neighborhood may not be a tourist place in London but I did not have to walk long distances to bus stops and Bethnal Green train station is near from this place.

Being a vegetarian I did not really eat the breakfast they provided, but there are a plenty of restaurants in nearby area and if you are a vegetarian or vegan there is Gallery Cafe run by St Margarets House Settlement on Old Ford Road which is near by.

Only thing that bothered me was the noise of some pump in the night..

All in all it is a clean and good budget hotel. I would recommend this place if you are looking for hotel at reasonable price in East London.

Room Tip: probably rooms on 2nd floor. or ground floor if you have prob. with stairs as there's no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrasadM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityinnexp, General Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Me and my sister stayed two nights at this hotel back in the summer for a festival. Slightly hard to find, if you follow the sat nav on your phone you will get lost! We has to ask a couple of people to find the place. it is very hidden and tucked away. worth looking up the route first before you set off. once we got there and checked in the receptionist was helpful and friendly. our room was very small and had a double bed in. as we weren't spending much time in the room and was only sleeping in there we didn't mind. bathroom/shower is tiny, but it does the job. make sure you remember to take soap. we had clean towels both days which was great. there was a TV and a fan which was also handy. overall this hotel is ideal for a weekend away, don't expect too much though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityinnexp, Front Office Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I really did. He accosted me twice as I walked up and down the street outside looking at the half-broken sign hanging on the side of a derelict-looking building.
The room was fine given my low expectations.
Sleep was difficult to come by die to constant yelling on the forecourt of the petrol station in front of the hotel - I think it was the same tramp but was not willing to risk my skin to find out.
I didn't hang around in the morning. Booked a taxi and legged it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n4139279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityinnexp, Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are sorry you found it difficult in locating the hotel, as we are located in a conservation area we are restricted in the signs we can display. however on our website we have a detailed note in regards to location and entrance. As in regards to fuel station i would disagree with your comments in regards to shouting this is very unlikely as the forcourt does not allow any loitering on its forecourt. Its good to hear your expections of rooms were met.

many thanks

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel was pleasant, neat and clean. Although down a dark alley way in central London, it was ok. Not much fuss, we found this hotel on late rooms. Don't expect much from previous London experiences, but this hotel was clean and for the price the room wasn't so bad. Not too small, like the ones in Hong Kong and not too large like the Hiltons (Not that I stayed in one with my money)
The staff are pretty nice and bring you free cups of teas in the communal areas.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms on top if they are empty
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityinnexp, Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A friend and I stayed at the weekend and we're pleasantly surprised. Ok so the room was fairly small and the double bed was actually a 3/4 but it was clean and tidy. It's really close to the bus stop and there's a shop near by. The staff were really friendly, and there was minimal judgement when we arrived after our checkout time having stayed out all night. We even checked out an hour later than we should have with no extra charge. It's not fancy but if you're after a cheap room for the night it's ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkflower03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

As you may be aware there is a discount for returning guests, you can take advantage of this by booking on www.cityinnexpresshotel.com and entering promo code.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#586 of 1,067 in London
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CityStay Hotel
#944 of 1,067 in London
240 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#302 of 1,067 in London
202 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#722 of 1,067 in London
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Express

Property: City Inn Express
Address: 144-A Mare Street | Hackney, London E8 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #933 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Express London Fields is a budget hotel located in East London near Hackney, Bethnal Green, Old Street, and Shoreditch. If you’re looking for cheap hotels in London, with affordable quality accomodation in a unique section of London, this hotel is the right choice for you. The rooms are neutrally decorated with a feel of calm and are designed to meet your demands in order to allow you a peaceful night sleep.For the business traveler, City Inn Express is with in easy access to Financial and Business districts such as The City of London, London Liverpool Street, Canary Wharf, London Bridge, Fleet Street, Old Street and the Excel London. City inn Express is less than 5 minutes walk from London Fields station, a 15 minutes walk from Bethnal Green tube. With a bus stop directly outside the hotel, it offers easy access to all London's business districts.For the London explorer , London’s main areas of interest lie to the East of the City, and the City Inn Express Hotel is at the center of it all, with something for everyone. From trendy bars, restaurants and some of the world’s best known clubs in nearby Old Street, to the shopping districts of the West End, Oxford Street, Old Spitafields, Brick Lane and Borough Markets all a short hop away, makes this hotel a great starting point in order to explore London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Express Hotel London
City Hotel Express
City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing