We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay in the Hotel”
Review of City Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Inn Express
Ranked #965 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“My Stay in the Hotel”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

first the location was good, i had no problems in finding this hotel on map. The hotel has its own free parking. I arrived to the hotel around midnight, staff was very friendly and warmly welcoming. The guy on the reception helped me to park my car free of charge. the process of signing inn was very easy and receptionist guided me to the room. Around 3 am in the morning i came downstairs because i needed some information for central London, Receptionist was very helpful, he printed some stuff for me free of charge.
The room was very neat and clean, freshly painted, tea and coffee was available, toilets are also clean , fresh towels are available. there was a lot of space available in the room to put my and girlfriends stuff. only thing i did not liked was room was bit hot , there was no air Conn, or fan but when i opened the window it was ok. I will suggest to stay in this hotel, facilities for this price are good. Its affordable for this location!

Room Tip: Double rooms on the right hand side are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaheer U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    50
    43
    18
    62
See reviews for
35
34
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Chose this hotel because my boyfriend and I were attending Lovebox Festival in Victoria Park. Read some reviews on this website and booked the room with an open mind. It was pretty hard to find, however a taxi driver was very helpful. Pleasantly surprised at the inside of the hotel at reception; seemed modern and open. The day staff were very friendly, however beware when booking this hotel as they do not take the money until you get to the hotel, when you book online the payment taken is only to secure the room. Also, using card to pay means that you will have to pay 5% of the price per night which means we had to draw out cash to avoid this extra cost. There is a free cash point around the corner along with a garage and shop which was highly convenient. Also, the 24 hour reception was very convenient as we were staying out late, however the night staff were rude and didn't speak a lot of English which made the money situation hard to get across. Our room was small, bathroom cramped and the shower was poor. Bathroom was dirty, especially in the shower and around the sink. The TV was very good quality, but on the other hand the remote was covered in dirt. The curtains were closed on arrival, and that was understandable considering the appalling view of the council estate next to the hotel. The bed we stayed in was very comfortable and seemed clean enough, had a very nice night's sleep, however (even though it didn't bother us) there is a lot of surrounding noise from the flat next to the hotel and around the hotel. There was a lot of storage space with a bin in the bathroom and in the main room. Found other people's belongings under the bed for example a receipt. Finally, we asked for the room to be cleaned each morning, but when we came in to the room expecting the sheets to be changed, hoovered, clean bathroom etc, the bins had been changed and the clean towels had been placed whenever they wanted, making the room more unclean. Overall, this hotel was convenient for us and we had a good night's sleep, but on the other hand it's far too expensive for what the room's are actually worth, and i only recommend a one night stay here.

Room Tip: Don't choose top floor if you want Wifi as we had to go visit a friend on the second floor in or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryonaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is in perfect location for lovebox (festival at Victoria park). 24 hour reception was perfect. The hotel was very clean, however a few minor faults was not having a fridge and also that the hotel didn't sell food or drink. The staff were friendly, particularly the cleaner and the guy working the day shifts on our weekend stay. Overall it was a perfect budget east end hotel and I will happily return next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelehenthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to attend a nearby music event.
Very difficult to find as it is in a back alley.

Found toenail clippings on our floor, previous guests items in drawers, mould in the bathroom. The bed was clean and tidy. Shower was filthy.

This hotel has very bad noise problems from slamming fire doors. Bad soundproofing means you can hear the voices in lots of rooms around you.

At about £100 per night not great value. Left tired and irritated.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My plans changed last minute and needed a hotel close to Stratford for a early meeting the regular chains I stop at where fully booked or wanting £500 a night so I booked this hotel as I only needed a bed for one night .

It took a little bit to find it as it's hid on a little entrance and my sat nav took me down the right road but there is a fence cutting the road in 2 so had to try again.

Once I found the hotel I Was pleasantly surprised by the rooms and the staff where very helpful the hotel had free Wi Fi and parking and a light breakfast included would definitely stop here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This place looked really uninviting as we approached the hotel, but inside it's clean and secure. The shower didn't work very well, but the beds were large and comfortable. Perfect location for events in the Hackney area. Staff were very polite and helpful. Less than 5 minute walk from London Fields train station. If you stay here, walk to Broadway Market for food, drink etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandeston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Over the last few years I have used this hotel and always find the staff helpful and the rooms clean.
This is a budget hotel , so your expectations are not great.
It is always clean and the staff are helpful.
Free parking in London is a real bonus.
Highly recommended and never had a dirty room.
Hackney is now a very chic place with very good restaurants and good train links.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#593 of 1,069 in London
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#818 of 1,069 in London
671 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#729 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Express

Property: City Inn Express
Address: 144-A Mare Street | Hackney, London E8 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #965 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Express London Fields is a budget hotel located in East London near Hackney, Bethnal Green, Old Street, and Shoreditch. If you’re looking for cheap hotels in London, with affordable quality accomodation in a unique section of London, this hotel is the right choice for you. The rooms are neutrally decorated with a feel of calm and are designed to meet your demands in order to allow you a peaceful night sleep.For the business traveler, City Inn Express is with in easy access to Financial and Business districts such as The City of London, London Liverpool Street, Canary Wharf, London Bridge, Fleet Street, Old Street and the Excel London. City inn Express is less than 5 minutes walk from London Fields station, a 15 minutes walk from Bethnal Green tube. With a bus stop directly outside the hotel, it offers easy access to all London's business districts.For the London explorer , London’s main areas of interest lie to the East of the City, and the City Inn Express Hotel is at the center of it all, with something for everyone. From trendy bars, restaurants and some of the world’s best known clubs in nearby Old Street, to the shopping districts of the West End, Oxford Street, Old Spitafields, Brick Lane and Borough Markets all a short hop away, makes this hotel a great starting point in order to explore London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your City Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Express Hotel London
City Hotel Express
City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing