We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a couple of minor issues but great room, we would certainly return”
Review of Brook Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brook Green Hotel
Ranked #306 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A good looking building with an excellent pub and good food. I took a trip, with my son, to the Great British Beer Festival at Olympia, we shared a twin room at the Brook Green hotel. We decided to drive and parked at the Westfield Shopping Centre, for a very reasonable £5 for up to 24 hours. The Westfield and Olympia are both within an easy 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.. We arrived at about 1.45, 15 mins early for check in, but were told to go on up to our room. Housekeeping were still in the room so we dropped off our bags and went downstairs for a drink and some lunch. The food was excellent and a reasonable price. After lunch nearly an hour later we were surprised to see that the maid was still cleaning the room. She left in a hurry but we noticed that there was no coffee left. We found her in the corridor and asked for coffee which she said she would sort after she had finished the rooms, unfortunately this never materialised but we made do with a cup of their very good tea in the morning.
I had a problem with the shower whereby I could not regulate the temperature and it was only very hot. My son also had a go but we couldn't sort it between us, so we had baths instead. I did mean to mention this when checking out but forgot. The breakfast was excellent and all staff were very friendly. The location is great and in a nice setting opposite the park, the road is very busy and can be noisy so just book elsewhere if you want peace and quiet. If you don't mind a bit of traffic noise don't hesitate to book into this hotel, we will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach L, Manager at Brook Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, we will speak to our plumbers about having a look at the shower. We hope to see you next time you are in London. Kind Regards Sinead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Brook Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a great looking building, both external and internal. Very quaint looking on the outside and the bar/food area ... and the bedrooms are furnished to a good, modern standard.
The full English breakfast was superb, the evening meal fish'n'chips was more like whale'n'chips, it was huge!!
There is free wifi available in the rooms, just requires a simple login procedure.
Sky TV is also available in the rooms - there is also a mini-bar (the tea, coffee and biscuits are free - for everything else, wine, beer, etc there is a charge). There is a safe hidden away in one of the cupboards.
On check-in there was a small issue with my reservation, but this was more to do with my travel agent. The guys at the hotel sorted it all out for me.
Other reviewers have mentioned cleanliness and I guess if one was being really picky, then yes, this could be an issue .... the shower room floor could have been cleaner .... but this was minor.
At check-in there was no soap available in the room, but when I asked for some it appeared shortly afterwards.
The room I was in overlooked the park - which was across the busy Shepherds Bush Road. Unfortunately, during the night, there were quite a number of emergency service vehicles driving past with sirens sounding, maybe a room to the rear of the hotel would have been quieter in this instance, but obviously this sort of sound cannot be controlled by the hotel !
All in all, a great place - they just need to tighten up (slightly) on cleaning

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferguwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have just recommended this hotel - with a major disclaimer - to a friend who is looking for a very cheap stay in London. The truth is, this place COULD be amazing - IF the managers ever bothered to check the cleanliness standard in the rooms.

The pluses first. The neighborhood is lovely, wth the estimable fish&chips joint Kerbisher & Malt just a minute from here. Feels like a nice part of Brooklyn, without the hipster attitude. The building is lovely and the pub/bar has oodles of atmosphere - big old couches and armchairs, beautiful tall windows, good beer and pleasant service... and excellent desserts. Breakfast is huge and delicious. Subway (ok tube) connection convenient. No attitude.

The room was actually ok looking, with furniture cheap but somewhat stylish and not yet too badly beat up. Sheets clean and pleasant, mattress comfortable.

Here's where the pluses end.

There were spots on the walls, TONS of dust everywhere (on the wardrobe shelf and pretty much any horizontal surface), huge dust bunnies in the bathroom behind the door... GROSS! Toilet - well i didn't check too closely, at least it didn't smell, but I'm not the kind of person who checks "under the rim" like another reviewer has : )))

Having worked at a well-run hotel in the past, I was shocked that ANY hotel manager's professional self-respect would allow their property to be undermined by such blatant neglect. That any housekeeper would get away with such shoddy work is hard to believe - if this happened at the place I worked, the housekeeping manager would get fired, not to mention the actual housekeeper! It seems like everyone at this place is one happy family but their heart is in running a pub, not a hotel.

If they shape up, I'd be happy to stay again, but even for a cheap place the poor housekeeping was unacceptable. By the way I have no connection to any other TripAdvisor commenter so the other negative comments are not from my spouse.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirGawain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The place is a very nice pub overlooking Brook Green, a small lovely park in west London. The area is great, and becoming ever more popular with more restaurant opening up. Close to transportation, easy access to Heathrow and Westfield shopping. Safe area very good for families.

The problem is that the place is managed by clueless people who don't understand that in 2013 you actually should keep a place clean. I honestly avoided eating here. My room was filty. It has not been vacuumed for months, dust accumulated on carpet was ridiculous. Bathroom was filty, with marks and spills from people who stayed there before. No toilet paper either! Walls are all ditty with questionable traces on them.

Furniture a in rooms is damaged. Bed were badly made - like somebody has tried to make a joke and tied sheet half way. Lights and electric plugs not working properly. Mattresses are comfortable. Windows are old Victorian windows and do not insulate well from street noise and shepherd bush road is traffic prone. Hating / air con system was not working.

They are doing work in refurbishing albeit place was redone recently. Noise and dust as a consequence. But problem is maintenance. If management does not change drastically refurbishment will be good for a forthnight.

Restaurant floor is dirty, not vacuumed or washed in ages. Reception desk messy and filty. You should see the computer keyboard! A bacteriologist could earn a PHD analysing it, sure he would find unknown species thriving there.

Sad . Because could have lot of potential. I surely would know how to turn it into a proper place.

Authority though in UK should not allow places to go unchecked like this!

Complained but with no results whatsoever.

Room Tip: Avoid it until management changes
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabeL73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach L, General Manager at Brook Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

I am very sorry to hear of your recent stay with us. We pride our self on our lovely atmosphere and service however to get these right the fundamentals have to be adhered to.

We are exceptionally concerned by the comments that you have brought to our attention. We have an internal housekeeping team that look after both the rooms and the public areas and we have raised your concerns with the team. I can assure you that we have the highest cleanliness standards and we endeavor to keep the Brook Green Hotel as clean as possible.

Our current refurbishment is to enhance our guests experience and we apologize that these works have impacted your stay. We are liaising directly with the contractors to keep disruption down to a minimum and let the relevant departments know of your experience.

Thank you for your feedback, and we can assure you that this will not happen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Good position, central. Staff very welcoming.
Comfortable bed
No lift, very steep stairs
No spare toilet rolls, only a few sheets of paper left on the one on the holder.
Toilet VERY dirty under the rim.
Paintwork and wall paper peeling in room and on stairs.
Carpet grubby
general decor OK in main rooms.
Nice ambiance in bar
Good food and coffee

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

this is a pub with a very pleasent hotel added. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The staff are very helpful and want to help in any way. The included breakfast was great, a good choice with some unusual classic on offer.
one word of caution if you are no good at flights of staires ask for alow room when booking if you are at the to there are a number of staires to negotiate, the staff did tell us that guests should be aware of this if they are not good at climbing and request that lower roon.

Room Tip: get one on the lower floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redken47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stopped off for a quick couple of pints of ale here and ended up staying for a few hours. The beer selection is local and very good and the bar is light and welcoming with huge windows and comfortable seating, unlike many a "local".

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spbutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St Paul's Hotel
#65 of 1,072 in London
520 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Star Hotel B&B
#99 of 1,072 in London
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
LUMA Concept Hotel Hammersmith London
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#259 of 1,072 in London
723 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Best Western Plus Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Green Hotel

Address: 170 Shepherds Bush Road | Hammersmith, London W6 7PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £108 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At heart we're a friendly local pub, boasting fantastic cask ales and the best in British food. Upstairs are 17 stylish Boutique bedrooms. Above all, we offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Brook Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing