We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£145
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Expedia.com
£145
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£145
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TSB

Cracking local pub

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2019
The Rose and Crown is the pick of the pubs in Wimbledon Village. It successfully manages to be both a place to pop to for a pint (in the older, main part of the pub) and also for a meal (in the newer restaurant at the back). The pub itself is very attractive with flag stone flooring, an attractive bar and comfortable seating by a couple of fires. We popped in for a Sunday roast and had an excellent meal with friendly and efficient service. The beef was delicious, the sides were all good and it was washed down with a pint of Youngs and a nice glass of Malbec. We will be back!
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior View
Booking.com
£140
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Skyscanner.com
    £92
  • Hotels.com
    £126
6.5 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
£112
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Vio.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
    £90
6.3 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge
£75
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
8.4 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£263
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £263
  • Vio.com
    £219
  • Hotels.com
    £263
7.2 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Travelodge
£55
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
8.8 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Travelodge
£81
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
7.5 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
Booking.com
£170
  • Expedia.com
    £170
  • Hotels.com
    £170
  • Canopy by Hilton
    £170
8.7 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Royal National Room Standard Plus Double
Booking.com
£139
  • travelup.com
    £155
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • Expedia.com
    £169
7.9 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£107
  • Priceline
    £91
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Expedia.com
    £91
8.0 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Priceline
£67
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    £58
  • Travelodge
    £60
  • Trip.com
    £73
8.8 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
View more hotels in London
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
159
71
16
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
71
16
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2018

After a flight from USA I arrived alone with 5 very large suitcases, which I couldn’t carry. This was no problem I felt really cared for by the attentive staff.
There is a real buzz in the bar great atmosphere and the food was excellent .
This is not my first stay and will not be my last a very well run pub with excellent accommodation

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank warwkscruiseholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2018

Hi Warwkcruisehoilic

Thank you for your review and comments.
We are always very happy to help guests with cases.
I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

Just retuned home after a two night weekend stay. This is our fifth or sixth stay here, and as usual it ticked all the boxes. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom and an excellent supply of tea, coffee etc.
We were able to park our car on arrival prior to going to visit family. It was nice that the gentleman checking us in acknowledged that we were returning guests. We returned to the hotel on both evenings and had a couple of drinks in the bar, which has a nice atmosphere, although Sunday was a little more relaxing than Saturday.
Breakfast on both days was up to the usual excellent standard. It was especially nice to receive such a lovely welcome from the lady serving on Monday morning. We were greeted like old friends. Check out was efficient and friendly. I am sure that, whilst our family continue to live in the area, we will continue to us the hotel as our base.

Room tip: Have always had a good room.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2018

Hi Talegend

Many thanks for your review and comments, we are always happy to greet returning guests and we hope you will carry on visiting us.

Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here about two years ago which I did review but happy to give a Update after our Friday night stay as were attending the Wimbledon Book Festival. On arrival you need a code for car park entry, so one of us had to go into the pub, as there was no one o the reception desk I got the code from member of the bar staff. I might add that sometimes it is difficult to find a receptionist for the hotel.
Anyway on this stay we had a higher grade of room and it was significantly better than my previous stay, it was roomy, the standalone bath was in the main room, ga good sized bed with lots of pillows and was comfortable. It had a tv on the wall, though it was lost a bit in the room. There was water bottles provided and tea making facilities. The window looked over the high street and you could hear the traffic outside. The bathroom had a good size walk in shower with a rainfall shower which was good. To be honest we did not spend much time in the room but it was nice.
In th the morning we had breakfast, I had the kippers which were tasty and some toast and jam. The menu was reasonable, full English and various styles of eggs and cereal, teas and coffee. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Huggles2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
I am guessing you booked your room via Booking.com as on our usual confirmations it states the car park code on the confirmation email.
Sorry but we only have a full time person on the reception Mon-Fri 8am-4pm outside of this time the reception will be manned by the duty manager, I hope they didn't take too long to get to you for your check in.
Happy you enjoyed your free upgrade to our feature room and hope you will visit us again at some future Bookfest event.

Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Rather tatty pub with a good location on the High Street about 15 minutes walk from the station.Rooms were comfortable, good beds and shower, good TV system could benefit from an elevator. Ventilation in room poor, window only opened a crack and air conditioning blew directly on the bed, not very satisfactory.

Breakfast (included) was adequate and quickly served, coffee poor. Wine by the glass in the pub, very expensive and poor quality.

Room tip: try and get a back or side room, the High Street is quite noisy
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NigelDCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear NigelDCapeTown

Many thanks for your review and comments which will be looked at.

Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Had our usual weekly pint sitting outside and were interested to see staff drinking, multiple pints, before going onto their 7pm shift. No sure this should be the case but apparently, with insider knowledge, this is very acceptable and not uncommon?
We really enjoy the Rose and Crown, bit scruffy, prefer the Hand in Hand and the Crooked Billet but sometimes need a short dog walk so pop in here!!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sfk1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Hi sfk1958

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I am naturally concerned to read your review.

All our staff are made well aware that to consume alcohol prior to or during a working shift is a cause for instant dismissal.
I would ask you to be kind enough to contact me directly at your earliest opportunity to investigate your observations further (roseandcrown@youngs.co.uk)

I am pleased to say that it has been announced that we will be having some money spent on soft furnishings to put some extra sparkle to the Rose & Crown early next year.

Kind regards
Nichola Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews