We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£145
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Expedia.com
£145
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£145
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Canadauk2012
Toronto, Canada

Love staying here

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 May 2019
Stayed at the Rose and Crown this week for a couple of nights.

I love staying here when i come to London.

Nicky, Freddie and the Team are great hosts.

Rooms are great. Clean and modern.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Food here is very good.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this review
Responded 10 Jul 2019
Many thanks for your review.
Nicky, Freddy & the team will look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Lee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior View
6.5 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
8.4 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
6.3 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
8.0 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Exterior
8.8 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
Royal National Room Standard Plus Double
7.9 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
7.5 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
8.7 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in London
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
159
71
16
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
71
16
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Needed a place to stay with parking so as to attend an 80th birthday lunch nearby. The room was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet for a busy pub and the staff were very friendly. Good breakfast and food in the restaurant. A bit expensive for a pub stay but the location was excellent.

Thank johnthetyke2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Thank you for spending some time to write us a review.
We hope you will visit us again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

Have been coming here for years. Have generally found things ok , but today really did let you down. How may pubs are basically profiteering by serving burgers at £14.00 accompanied by cold frozen french fries and then being told any replacement would go in queue! And that’s it. Your footer about your produce at the bottom of the menu are clearly not being observed. Come on Rose &Crown serve your food decently and honestly. Can we rid ourselves of £14 burger and chips probably worth, at best half of that with a decent margin.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zarirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Hi Zarirv

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your burger and you shouldn't have been told any replacement french fries would be placed in a queue we always try to replace any items customers are unhappy with asap without exceptions.
The price for the burger has one of Youngs core menu items is set inline with other Youngs pubs.
We hope you will continue to visit us in the future.
Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2019 via mobile

As honest as I can be, I only come here for the service. Food is fairly poor value for money and the drinks are just expensive for what they are.

That bring said it's still a good place to come with friends and family. As mentioned the staff are great and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Darrenrowbotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Good evening
Thank you for your comment about the staff, I will feed this back to them, and glad you enjoy your time with us.

I will take your comments about the food back to our Kitchen team.

Kindest regards Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2019

Re pub, Bad mannered staff as it was 4 years ago,, Management allowing people to take up seating for their dogs ie today man with 3 dogs taking a whole window seat not good enough, is there a manager here,,,,,

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Correctness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Good afternoon

Sorry we haven't given you our best customer service. I will talk to the team on duty on Sunday and review our down shortfall.

Once again I sincerely apologies

Regards Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2019 via mobile

Came for dinner with work friends,quickly seated but took a while to get attention. Not busy at 7.30pm on a Thursday.
I ordered belly pork which also took a while to come.
When it arrived,there was a decent sized slab of pork with a piece of crackling on top but separate.
The meat was overcooked,stringy and tasteless,the crackling had no 'crackle' was limp and tough as plastic. Inedible.
It came in a sort of yellow mash that was sweet and tasted ok.
The Rose and Crown is a great pub and I've been drinking there for decades,I really think they should vary the menu regularly ,have someone review quality before sending out a substandard meal like mine.
Steak is on the menu but at a ludicrous price.
A pity,I'll keep coming but eat elsewhere first or after,the management should realise,there is a lot of choice locally.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Darkmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, General Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2019

Dear Darkmuncher

Naturally, I am very disappointed to read of your recent experience with us.

We do pride ourselves in our customer service and food quality. I have fed back your comments to the kitchen team,

we do amend the menu frequently to keep the dishes seasonal and ingredients fresh.

Once again, sincere apologies and I hope you will return and enjoy the true level of hospitality that we are well known for.

Yours sincerely

Nichola
Landlady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews