We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Clivey57
London, United Kingdom

Rammed

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jul 2019via mobile
Firstly they have put the prices up maybe because of Wimbledon fortnight. We came here with a group of friends to listen to the live band( modern apes)the marquee in the car park was where they were playing and also used for a bar. £12.50 for a pint and a glass of procceco in plastic glasses,the place was so rammed you could hardly move, big queues for toilets and uncomfortable, never again.
Date of stay: July 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this review
Responded 10 Jul 2019
Hi Clivey57

We don't raise the prices during Wimbledon tennis fortnight or any other time.
a glass of prosecco is £7.10 and a pint of beer/lager range from £4.70-£6.05 I am presuming it was a pint of Heineken which is £5.40 these prices were the same before the tennis and will be the same after the tennis.
In regards to the prosecco being served in a plastic glass this is a requirement to adhere to local health and safety laws because of the large amount of customers we get during the two weeks of the tennis. We serve all drinks in proper glasses during the day but are unable to once the crowds from the tennis arrive. The Rose & Crown is only a ten minute walk to the courts so we do get extremely busy during Wimbledon fortnight and we are certainly not the place to be during this time if customers expect to have a quiet drink but we do have a great party atmosphere during this time.
We hope you will visit us again perhaps at a less busy time.
Kind regards
Lee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior View
Booking.com
£140
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Skyscanner.com
    £92
  • Hotels.com
    £126
6.5 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
£112
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Vio.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
    £90
6.3 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge
£75
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
8.4 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£263
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £263
  • Skyscanner.com
    £218
  • Hotels.com
    £263
7.2 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Travelodge
£55
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
8.8 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Travelodge
£81
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
7.5 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
Booking.com
£170
  • Expedia.com
    £170
  • Hotels.com
    £170
  • Vio.com
    £170
8.7 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Royal National Room Standard Plus Double
Booking.com
£139
  • Expedia.com
    £169
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • travelup.com
    £155
7.9 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£107
  • Priceline
    £91
  • Vio.com
    £83
  • Expedia.com
    £91
8.0 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Free Wifi
Vio.com
£73
  • Priceline
    £67
  • Agoda.com
    £58
  • Travelodge
    £60
8.8 miles from Rose & Crown (Hotel)
Restaurant
View more hotels in London
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
159
71
16
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
71
16
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2019

Check-in and check-out efficiently done - very warm welcome.
Room good, the only downside is that there is no bar fridge. Other than that enjoyed our stay, breakfast good.
Staff helpful and friendly, would recommend

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank silvertreeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Hi
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with and hope you will visit us again sometime.
In regards to the fridge, because of the energy saving measure (needed a key card in the slot in your room) if this was removed the fridge would turn itself off. Customers are very welcome to leave any items in our kitchen fridge which will be label for them to pick up whenever they want.
Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019 via mobile

We live locally and frequent several of the Pubs in Wimbledon for dinners and lunches. The Rose and Crown is one of several Youngs hotels in the Village. The menu and food is basic, albeit a little expensive for pub food. As with the other Youngs pubs, the aspire to Gastro Pub status but fall short on choice, quality and value for money. The R&C does however distinguish itself with excellent service.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank peteraV9224RA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Hi Peter
Thank you for your review and comments.
We hope you will continue to visit us.
Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019

My husband and I spent 5 days here over the Easter period to be in the area when our daughter gave birth to her first baby. I had spoken to the lady on reception on several occasions prior to our visit, and it was so nice that the first thing she asked when we checked in was whether there was any news on the baby. Such thoughtfulness.
As always when we stay, the rooms, food and service were excellent.
Other family members joined us for 2 nights and were made equally welcome. Our other daughter was travelling with her toddler daughter and had brought Easter eggs with her. The duty manager very kindly allowed us to do a small egg hunt in the reception/bar area after breakfast. It was so kind. We have some lovely photos of her first egg hunt, which will be treasured for a long time.
On our last day, we were welcomed by the lady who serves breakfast as friends, and seemed genuinely pleased to meet our family for the first time. She is a credit to the hotel.
I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. The free car park and accessibility to public transport are a bonus. Can’t wait for our next visit.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Hi Talegend
Many thanks for your lovely review of us, Jane would be the lady at reception and Jetta would have been your breakfast server. It was myself who was the duty manager on the day your daughter did the Easter egg hunt and you were very welcome. We do hope you will continue to visit us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.
Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2019

Stayed at the Rose and Crown this week for a couple of nights.

I love staying here when i come to London.

Nicky, Freddie and the Team are great hosts.

Rooms are great. Clean and modern.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Food here is very good.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadauk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Many thanks for your review.
Nicky, Freddy & the team will look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Needed a place to stay with parking so as to attend an 80th birthday lunch nearby. The room was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet for a busy pub and the staff were very friendly. Good breakfast and food in the restaurant. A bit expensive for a pub stay but the location was excellent.

Thank johnthetyke2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee M, Manager at Rose & Crown (Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Thank you for spending some time to write us a review.
We hope you will visit us again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews