We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ants in the kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chelsea Cloisters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Cloisters
Ranked #480 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ants in the kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here late last year. The studio apartment was small but ok. We found ants in the kitchen and reported it before we left. The staff on the front desk didnt really say anything regarding this issue and we left not very happy. :/

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye1NorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    161
    157
    102
    155
See reviews for
159
211
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greenville, sc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is not your average hostelry in London; rather, it's quirky, with a history. You get a choice of apartment types. I chose a larger unit, with living room, bedroom and small kitchen. Price, for 10 days, was cheaper than a hotel. But the building is old, and shows it; the paint in the bathroom was peeling. But everything worked just fine, was clean, with maid service. It's close to King's Road, there's a pub round the corner with the best fish and chips in town. A bus passes by the door, and the Underground is a 10 minute walk away. There is a mini-market next door. Security is very good. Sit in the lobby of an evening and watch the beautifully dresses ladies whisk out for high class encounters. As a base for trips, it's a good choice, not fancy, but a great location for forays into all things in London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valley2valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Staying in Flat 141 .. Definitely not as impressive as website pix would suggest. I think some rooms/flats have been refurbished, this is obviously not one of them. It is a little rundown. One notable positive is plenty of storage for clothes etc... People in nearby flat either beside us or above us are v noisy .. I know London well so I like the location ...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms are not at all as they look like on the hotel's website. Very old and in need of refurbishment! Tap, etc. in the bathroom nearly broken. Massive smell of smoke in the room (although we didn't ask for a smokers room). Service not reliable and very arrogant. Rooms run down - although we got an apparent upgrade...very curious how the other room would have been like! We don't reccomend the hotel at all!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I do not normally do hotel review but I feel strongly about my experience at Chelsea cloisters hence this review.

I stayed about a month in a studio during relocation for work. Relatively small in comparison to a double hotel room.

I have stayed in budget hotels and the standards of service and room sizes were much better at these hotels at a much lower rate.

If you don't need a kitchen to cook, not recommended. A hotel is a better option.

Clip holding shower was broken so I could not stand under the shower.

Light build took 3 days to chance despite several reminders. Bulb dead a week later. Took 2 days to change despite repeated requests.

Ceiling wall paper was torn. It was later sealed.

Major plus is excellent location. Close to South Kensington underground station and tourist places.

Poor and cold customer services.

Thin floors and walls. Woken up daily by neighbour walking up and down between 5 and 6am.

I was offered another studio but they rooms I inspected were not significantly better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I booked a studio apartment the day before I was due to go into London when I saw on the website that there was money off some apartments, and it looked very reasonable for the area.
I was very worried indeed when I read some of the reviews on tripadvisor which mentioned stained sheets, toilets which didn't flush, rude staff etc. I needn't have worried. I was upgraded to a 2 bedroomed apartment on arrival, just for myself, which was fantastic value for what I paid. The sheets were snowy white, the pillows plump and soft. Everything was very clean, and I loved the little kitchenette. Toilettries and towels were provided, as was washing up liquid and a scourer.
I felt very safe staying here. there is a chain on the inside of the door and I didn't spot any undesirable elements! (Admittedly I only stayed one night!)
Location- wise it couldn't have been better. A lovely area, and a very short walk to South Kensington tube, lots of eateries, museums etc.
The staff weren't effusive but were perfectly polite and helpful.
The reason I am giving 4 instead of 5 as a rating is because there was light coming into the bedroom from the street, and traffic noise, and the bathroom was a bit draughty. These things didn't bother me, but other people might not like it, so take ear-plugs and an eye-cover.
Overall I enjoyed staying here very much, and based on this experience, would definitely stay at Chelsea cloisters again.

Room Tip: If light and traffic noise bother you ask for a room the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg50_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Recently stayed for a 2-nite break. The location is excellent, 5-minute wall from South Kensington station, we walked to Buckingham Palace & all of the museums. The staff were friendly, however the room we stayed in needed updating and as they advertised the bed as Queen Sized, I was expecting a bit bigger than a standard double, unfortunately they are just standard doubles, although this wouldn't put me of staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipstykb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#448 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#228 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#174 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#733 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Chelsea
The Apartments
The Apartments
#95 of 837 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Cloisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Cloisters

Property: Chelsea Cloisters
Address: Sloane Avenue, London SW3 3DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Cloisters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within two acres of central London's prime location in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, our serviced apartments are perfectly designed to accommodate the needs of today's traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Cloisters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Cloisters London
Chelsea Cloisters Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing