We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible value - stay elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belgrave House Hotel London Victoria
Ranked #806 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible value - stay elsewhere!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Lots of problems with this hotel:
- Demanded £20 deposit for a key. They also charge £5 if you want to use the tv in the room. They also wanted to make a photocopy of my credit card. Refused to say why because "it's policy"?
- Wallpaper was peeling in the bedroom and walls were dirty and damp.
- Bedding had burn-holes and spare bedding was mouldy.
- Bathroom had missing tiles, holes in the wall, no toilet paper and lights that flickered on and off.
- Power points in room covered in black dirt.
- Room hard to get around because bed only just fit.
- Disused shower (taped shut) in one corner of the room.
- Dirty and holey carpet on stairs. Automatic lights that sometimes didn't work.
- Staff were rude and unhelpful.

Good points?
-Good location. Very close to Victoria bus/train stations.
-Free Wifi.
-Warm. I was staying in December and at least it was warm in my room!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    141
    183
    93
    226
See reviews for
122
208
133
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The first issue is the rude reception staff. They go to no effort to greet you or make you feel welcome and we spent a long time waiting to check in. However, the reception has obviously been recently refurbished - not the case as you venture up the stairs.
As you reach the toilets the smell is horrendous, my boyfriend compared the smell to that of portaloos at a festival. Not only that, the shared bathroom is falling to bits.
The room got ridiculously hot due to the heating being on full at 3am - it really wasn't that cold. We went to reception to ask them if they could turn the heating off and we were told to 'open a window', which would have been fine except the window frame was extremely loose and made a loud banging noise whenever the wind blew.
In terms of cleanliness the room is clean and has all the basics and the location is really good for the price paid, right next to the Victoria tube link. I do think that a class in customer service may be needed, and we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have been in much better hotels but there is not much you can get for that price in central London. We stayed there for 3 nights (December 2013). The room (502) was big, clean and quiet. On the other hand it was on the 5th floor without lift and the water pressure was very low so it was bit of a challenge to take a shower. The breakfast costed 2,5 pounds and for about 4 to 5 pounds you can get much better outside.
The staff was friendly but could be better! Next time I will go to London I will try to have more money to spend in a better hotel. I might stay there if I travel on my own, maybe if my wife is with me but for sure I will not go with the children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manos339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Basic rooms and possibly several floors of stairs (even a couple down to the bathroom if you are up top). Some people commented on sensor lights going off in the bathroom when you are in there (my girlfriend didn't like this), which is a bit of an issue. All in all, fairly basic once you get past the respectable-looking reception. However, it was not bad in my experience and opinion. Probably one of the cheapest places to stay in London, depending on what price you get it at, and extremely convenient for Victoria Train Station, as well as other parts and transport in the Victoria area (even much of central London if you are happy to walk a bit). They even stored our luggage after check-out, so I was able to walk less than five minutes from Victoria Train Station to collect our luggage at the end of the day and back again for our train home from London. I understand that some people expect a lot more than this (please realise that London is very expensive, so accommodation is on another price level compared to other places in the U.K.). However, if you are really looking for convenient, cheap accommodation in London, this hotel is well worth considering.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This establishment leaves a lot to be desired. It is described as a budget hotel but sadly this place lacks the basics in budget hotels. On arrival the desk asked for confirmation re the card used to book. This was not possible. As we had been on holiday and had not taken our bank cards. I offered our passports and the guy stated this would not do. He asked for another card or another payment in cash plus an additional£4.50 charge. I refused to pay so he called the boss who advised passports would be ok. At one point a taxi driver intervened and asked him to show me some respect. Was given the key to room 208. Was met with a rancid smell, filthy carpets, filthy flooring and a room with damp on ths ceiling, peeling paint and flooring which had been filled in with cement. The guy at the desk agreed the smell was ' very bad ' and proceeded to get a can if air freshner and sprayed the room. I asked where the toilet was, 2 floors up and what a performance to get there. Lights were on a timer and went on n off at random moments. The toilet was disgraceful, filthy, walks falling down, hunger surrounding the shower, filthy toilet , basin cracked n glued in 4 different places. The result was I left in tears and had to rent another room somewhere else as the place was absolutely filthy. Photographs have been attached for confirmation. Please do not use this place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks lovely from the outside & in the reception area, but the rooms are really something else! They aren't the cleanest, & the electric points aren't really in convenient places. However, we paid £50 for a room for 2 of us, it was a quick walk from Victoria station & the theatre we were visiting. I would stay here again just for the convenience, but couldn't stay any longer than 2 nights I don't think!
The receptionist when we arrived could have maybe cracked a smile?

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As per previous reviews what do you expect for £65 a night in central London. Well, not the strong smell of raw sewage emanating from a padlocked cupboard in the room (looked like an ex en-suite), a workman on scaffolding 3 feet from your bedroom window hammering away at 8am, and a shared bathroom with a badly cracked wall, a floor like a skidpan and a broken sink. The guy on duty witnessed the state of the room (208) but couldn't really care less. The final kick came when I discovered that I paid £65 through LastMinute but on the hotel website the price was £60 for the equivalent room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#723 of 1,069 in London
1,159 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#189 of 1,069 in London
1,370 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#576 of 1,069 in London
437 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#315 of 1,069 in London
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrave House Hotel London Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave House Hotel London Victoria

Property: Belgrave House Hotel London Victoria
Address: 28-32 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #806 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belgrave House Hotel London Victoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belgrave House Hotel London Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrave Hotel London
Belgrave House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing