We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more a rip-off than any other London hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #307 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No more a rip-off than any other London hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Friendly reception. My disappointment at being told our room was in the basement was dispelled when I saw there was a small patio. Room clean with large comfortable bed and adequate bathroom. Surprised there were no coffee/tea making facilities in room-a definite minus point. Only had continental breakfast but this was good with acceptable variety of ham,cheese,breads,cereal etc.This hotel is equidistant from Earl's Court and Gloucester Road tube stations. There is a Sainsbury's one minute walk away in Earl's Court Road and the prestige Cromwell Hospital across the road

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoolsGlasgowUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for pointing out that some of our basement rooms have garden patios. They are very popular during summer.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    215
    73
    38
    18
See reviews for
69
216
116
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cascais
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Me and my wife spent a week at The Rockwell.
Boutique hotel, very cosy and clean.
The staff is great.
It's a "come back".

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for your overwhelmingly positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Nice hotel design, with a home feeling. Clean.

But :
You sometime wonder who is the client and wonder if the rockwell has all its review based on good PR or genuine client satisfactions.

Some team members are simply adorable and make you want to come back, that's how it worked out with me... and some others are simply irritating by their lack of customer service and simply limit your experience.

So my advise would be : make sure the staff is consistent and genuine when they deal with clients.

Other advise would be to spot which team is in charge of which shift and plan your interaction with them accordingly to still benefit from the place. Wd be so nice if it was homogeneous.

Room Tip: Rooms a quiet in general, not to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurent776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments about the design and cleanliness of the hotel.
It is unfortunate that you did not like the customer service. We will conduct a review into the staff and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.
The Rockwell has no PR company.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Very cosy hotel with contemporary furnishing and friendly staff. Unlike most big chains I found Rockwell very cosy with a small seating area/lobby, very friendly staff...Wireless worked perfect. Walking distance to the tube. I highly recommend this hotel for especially business travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banugun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words. The Rockwell is very business-traveller friendly and we have always aimed to provide a more personalized option to chain hotels. We are very pleased that you have recognised our efforts in this area.

Your feedback means a lot to us.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed over the night with my wife and we had a lovely time. The rooms are so beautifull, helped by the fact that the sun was shining. We had a deluxe double- which was clean and good looking with a 'king-size' bed.
One thing that stands out was the garden, which is a great place to relax and have glass of wine in the evening. All in all it was a special way to celebrate our anniversary and we would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jujuranks R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you very much for such a positive review. It is a great pleasure to hear that two guests have enjoyed the experience so much.
In addtion, thank you for mentioning the garden. It is a great asset to the hotel, particularly in the summer months.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Clean and tidy but nothing special. For slightly more you can stay in some great Boutique hotels in London which would be my preference.

Sort of feels a bit like a luxury Premier Inn/Travelodge/airport hoel with ultra modern decor, though its all a bit cheap/mass hotel in execution. Plastic room flowers, wifi router plugged in on the table, low power aircon, rubbish cheap LED TV, shower only rooms throughout and tiny bathrooms.

Double bed was two singles pushed together at different heights - so you cant stretch out. Pillows etc comfy though.

Service is more miss than hit. I love international staff but when English gets in the way of ordering the most simple things is spoils the experience. Ask for anything slightly off the beaten track (a bowl of nuts for example) and someone higher up the chain needs to be found and asked if this is possible.

On the plus is the quiet courtyard garden - not busy and a haven from the heat of London. Room storage is very good and the 12.00 check out useful for me. If you are couple exploring London you could do a lot worse I suppose, so as a backup keep this hotel in mind

This would be good for tourist who need a base and are off exploring most of the time.

Room Tip: Mine was an OK size at £185.00 for two people - just
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_need_a_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Public Relations Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly be taking your criticism on board, particularly with regards to the TV's.
It is true that we only have showers in the rooms. Interestingly, it is not a common cause for complaint amongst our guests, as they are often too busy to take baths.

English is very well spoken in the hotel, although I can see that some words that are 'off the beaten track ' might cause a problem. In common with all hotels and businesses in central London we employ a mix of nationalities and that may result in a small degree of miscommunication. We ask for patience in this matter.

Regards, Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here for several reasons. The first is the staff really seemed to enjoy working there and are friendly and efficient. Secondly, it is very clean. Thirdly, it is good looking and has plenty of charm and my room was of a decent size - and the food is excellent.

The location is also very handy. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

We were there for one night and it more than met our needs.

Room Tip: Ty the restaurant food - I was suprised by how good it was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for saying that the staff seemed to enjoy working at The Rockwell. Many of the staff are very loyal and have worked at the hotel for a long time (some have remained since its opening in 2006).
Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#285 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#251 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#441 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Property: The Rockwell
Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing